We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant innkeepers who keep a clean, inviting space”
Review of Garden and Sea Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden and Sea Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 New Church B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2010

For our purposes, the room was great, especially because they accept dogs and kids (we have very well-behaved ones, but not many hotels/b&bs accept both). I wish I had known about the tub/shower being a little difficult to get into and not having a shower curtain/door. I didn't have a difficult time getting in and out of the tub, but it would be tough for someone with a physical issue, and that was never disclosed. The breakfast was good - not necessarily what I expected, but not bad. We ate dinner there, and the crab cake was great - one of the best I've had. But the steak and the spaghetti w/ tomato sauce were below average. They did a very good job of serving us overall and keeping a very clean establishment, and we would certainly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnut14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2010

This charming-restored Victorian B&B is a 20 minute drive from Chincoteague and Assateague. Located on a large property it features shade trees, porches, hammock, swing, garden with fountain, walking path and a nice swimming pool. It is also dog friendly - the owners even provide beach towels for your dog and directions to beaches that allow dogs. They give tips on nearby restaurants and go out of their way to make visitors comfortable. We really appreciated having a kitchen and dining room, complete with dishes and utensils, for the evening when we brought our carry-out seafood dinner back with us. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Everything was excellent. We felt very comfortable. The room was large and having a coffee maker in the room was great for us. The food was excellent. We really enjoyed our stay at the Garden and the Sea B&B. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

This inn was perfect for us as we were looking for a place to end a somewhat stressful long road trip with 2 children and 2 dogs. It is difficult to find places that accept dogs, let alone welcome them with open arms. We had a studio with a separate entrance and a fenced yard (with doggie door) for the dogs. The kids enjoyed an afternoon at the pool as well. Breakfast was ample and quite tasty and the whole place, garden included, is beautiful, yet tranquil and relaxed. The inn owners are friendly and fun. I have no hesitation recommending this inn for families or couples...you must at least tolerate dogs, I suppose.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chezelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We loved our stay at the Garden and the Sea Inn. The innkeepers Dorothee and Thomas Renn were incredibly attentive and wonderfully hospitable - we felt at home from the moment we arrived, and so did our dog. The location was perfect for us, as we wanted to stay away from holiday weekend crowds, but still be close enough to Chincoteague to wander in and around as we felt like it. Food was incredible and room was great. Highly recommended to folks that like to bring their furry babies with them when they travel!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMurphy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

17 family members( and 2 small dogs) stayed 3 nights at the Inn. The Innkeepers are friendly, fabulous and very accomodating. We rented every room they have. Rooms are nice, location is great, breakfast was very good and included healthy options. Pool and gardens were lovely. Enjoyed the experience from top to bottom. We had a wonderful time. Thank you Thomas and Dorothee.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
Thank Susan57955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

My husband and I never stay in a hotel..we always stay in B&B's. The Garden and Sea Inn is the only one we have visited twice! Although it is pet friendly, it is so clean you cannot tell that any pets have ever been present. The inn keepers, Doro and Thomas, are warm and friendly and offer excellent food. Snacks and drinks are always available in a kitchen/living room area, the pool is cool and inviting, the gardens are lovely. There is a lot to do in the surrounding area. We highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveymyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Church
8.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
793 reviews
9.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,276 reviews
10.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,347 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pocomoke City
10.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden and Sea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden and Sea Inn

Address: 4188 Nelson Rd, New Church, VA 23415-3151
Region: United States > Virginia > New Church
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Church
Price Range: £83 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden and Sea Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian near Chincoteague Island! Escape to the Garden and Sea Inn for an elegant, yet casual respite. Enjoy our spacious rooms with large private bathrooms, mostly with jacuzzi. Visit the Eastern Shore's charming, quaint towns and marinas - we are ideally located for those who plan to visit not only Chincoteague Island, but also the rest of the Eastern Shore. Relax on one of our porches or at the outdoor pool. Pets welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garden and Sea Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing