We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks”
Review of Barry's Eco-Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atauro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barry's Eco-Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Had the most fabolous experience staying at barry's. Dolphins on the boatd ride each way was just the beginning. We really enjoyed the personal hospitality, especially given we were there with young kids, fresh off the plane from Sydney. What a perfect start for our timor leste adventure.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
19
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I loved staying here, I only stayed 2 nights but wish I has the time to stay longer. It's so relaxed and everyone we met here was so friendly. Barry is a legend, he is such a great guy and helps everyone with everything. The place runs off solar power and car batteries and it really blends in with the natural surroundings. If you are in East Timor, this place is a must for your itinerary.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WarmSand-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
286 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This place is totally appropriate! In harmony with the environment and it seemed with the locals. Barry employs a lot of people directly and indirectly. For example the boatmen are on hand to take you out for a snorkel almost at call; the food arrives fresh each day; on Saturday night, a pleasant group of local musicians do a few numbers - and so on. It is charming and laid back - there always seemed to be someone of interest to talk with in the restaurant and oh, did I say the food was great - simple, nutritious and local. As a change from the wonderful warm clear water, snorkelling and lazing about, we walked about 6km to Vila to visit local jewellery and sewing co-ops and caught a small bemo back - good fun meeting lots of locals along the way. Totally support and recommend this place - not cheap, but a fair price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We only spent 2 nights there in early October one night in the "tent" (US$30/night) and the other night in the gazebo (US$35/night). Absolutely spot on. The staff were friendly and engaging, Barry and his wife were very friendly and obliging, the food was simple but local and plenty of it, the resort was clean and tidy. The ablutions were quaint but totally appropriate and always clean. Note the "tent" is a tent with good mattresses on a wooden platform with thatched roof so not really "tenting" as you might think. We reckon this is the best accommodation.

5 star this isn't but in terms of the overall holiday experience it outshines most other 5 star resorts hands down. Air conditioning is - open your window or the tent fly! The snorkeling is fantastic (29 degree water temperature is hard to get out of!)plenty and varied fish and coral, very clear water. See the other reviewers photos of the sunrise - it is just like that. Wake up in the morning look straight out to sea from your bed, the water only meters away and even less at high tide!

We will return.

Room Tip: The gazebo or tent are the closest to the beach with uninterrupted sea views excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dili
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was our third trip to Barry's on Atauro. Working as volunteers in Timor-Leste it is a welcome break from the madness of Dili. Things are simple here but well thought out. Barry & his team are continually improving and upgrading the facilities & surrounding ernvironment. Everything on the island has to be brought over by boat which makes what Barry has achieved even more remarkable. What's to do here - not a lot! People come to simply do nothing & enjoy each others company - it is an environment where everyone has interesting stories & you can sit around most of the day achieving absolutely nothing. For these seeking activity; Snorkelling, Diving, Hiking & 4WD tours can be organised. There are two styles of accommodation; Huts & tents. The tents are under a canopy made in island style & all very close to the beach. The huts are made by local builders using natural materials, and incorporating a few extras such as fans & lights controlled by solar power and a hamock. The island itself has no power & water supply is difficult. Barry's team prepare 3 meals a day for guests - the menu varies depending on what is available on the island. Thanks Barry, Lina, Mario & the team we will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JafaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Amazing location, great service, tasty food.
Stayed in a gazebo about 5 meters from the sea. 30$ per night including 3 buffet meals. One of the best places I've been in my visits in 42 countries.
Book in advance as it is usually fully booked.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A trip Barry's Place on Atauru Island is a must do. The place instantly makes you relaxed. Barry's friendly and laid-back hospitality helps you unwind and enjoy the simplier things in life. The snorkling off the island is fantastic. Barry has snorkling gear for hire ($3 per person) and a outrigger boat takes you to the best spots (a few minutes journey) for another $3 per person. The accommodation is great - nothing fancy but clean and comfortable with a hammock to while away the hours. The food is nice (especially if someone catches a big fish that day) and the staff friendly. Take your own entertainment (eg books and games) as apart from snorkling or diving there isn't much to do. A trip to the Bonecas de Atauro (the Doll factory) by bumpy tuk tuk probably isn't worth it for most people - but we enjoyed the purchases we made there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyOf4OnHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atauro
23.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 21 in Dili
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#2 of 21 in Dili
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
23.7 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atauro Dive Resort
Atauro Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Atauro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
22.9 mi away
NOVO TURISMO Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barry's Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barry's Eco-Lodge

Property: Barry's Eco-Lodge
Address: Beloi, Atauro, East Timor
Region: East Timor > Dili District > Atauro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Atauro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing