We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The hosts with the most" - relax with capital R” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barry's Eco-Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atauro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barry's Eco-Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nhulunbuy, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“"The hosts with the most" - relax with capital R”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is definately not a resort and thats what we loved about the place. The huts are spaced well apart and have their own chairs and one hammock (too fight over). The rooms are basic but bring back memories of what travelling in SE Asia use to be. These would be classified as upmarket. They have fans and a wardrobe and with mosquito nets down and all the windows open we slept well. The gardens are beautiful and add to the relaxing atmosphere of the place. The toilets were long drops but the most upmarket, nice smelling long drops Ive ever used. The mandi style shower for me is an highlight of SE asia, unique in itselfs and so refreshing and eco-friendly. Your hosts including the boys made our family extremely welcome. They always had time for a quick question, were for ever assisting everybody and generally being fantastic hosts. Barry was on the job always with a smile and the community work they have achieved and projects they help assist are inspiring. The buffet food was great and varied. They provided tea and coffee, snacks and water between meals. We loved the place and spent a wonderful few days relaxing. Definately return

Room Tip: the tents on the front under cover get prime view and great breezes and were popular with other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
18
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

It is difficult to give a star rating as Barry's is unique. Being on an island that is only accessible by almost two hours on a small boat and has no running water or central power, Barry's place is definitely an Eco-lodge. Don't expect anything fancy. The rooms are extremely basic (bed and mosquito net), the toilet is long drop and the "shower" is a hand dipper, the food is a simple buffet. Water is free, or there is beer or soft drink to buy. However, it is also a wonderfully restful place with friendly, easy going family and staff and definitely no stress. If you're going to Atauro Barry's is the only place to stay and we will definitely be back.
On the down-side, the huts were very hot and humid (a little fan just isn't enough in this weather and they don't open up enough for a breeze) and the pillow was a hard cushion so sleeping was difficult, and the bathroom is shared.

Room Tip: Go for the tents as they get a little breeze and a view of the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have never felt as good and welcomed as at Barry's! Barry will do everything he can tk make sure you enjoy you stay, whether you want to relax, explore, snorkell or just have a chat. The place is amazing, with the sea at our lodge door, the food is great and the staff soo nice! Be sure to book a trip to Akrema or Adara to get a taste of paradise (transparent blue watters, white sands and very people around).
I totally recomend this place where you will oddly feel at home and might end up never wanting to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InesCoimbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Had the most fabolous experience staying at barry's. Dolphins on the boatd ride each way was just the beginning. We really enjoyed the personal hospitality, especially given we were there with young kids, fresh off the plane from Sydney. What a perfect start for our timor leste adventure.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I loved staying here, I only stayed 2 nights but wish I has the time to stay longer. It's so relaxed and everyone we met here was so friendly. Barry is a legend, he is such a great guy and helps everyone with everything. The place runs off solar power and car batteries and it really blends in with the natural surroundings. If you are in East Timor, this place is a must for your itinerary.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WarmSand-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
279 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This place is totally appropriate! In harmony with the environment and it seemed with the locals. Barry employs a lot of people directly and indirectly. For example the boatmen are on hand to take you out for a snorkel almost at call; the food arrives fresh each day; on Saturday night, a pleasant group of local musicians do a few numbers - and so on. It is charming and laid back - there always seemed to be someone of interest to talk with in the restaurant and oh, did I say the food was great - simple, nutritious and local. As a change from the wonderful warm clear water, snorkelling and lazing about, we walked about 6km to Vila to visit local jewellery and sewing co-ops and caught a small bemo back - good fun meeting lots of locals along the way. Totally support and recommend this place - not cheap, but a fair price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We only spent 2 nights there in early October one night in the "tent" (US$30/night) and the other night in the gazebo (US$35/night). Absolutely spot on. The staff were friendly and engaging, Barry and his wife were very friendly and obliging, the food was simple but local and plenty of it, the resort was clean and tidy. The ablutions were quaint but totally appropriate and always clean. Note the "tent" is a tent with good mattresses on a wooden platform with thatched roof so not really "tenting" as you might think. We reckon this is the best accommodation.

5 star this isn't but in terms of the overall holiday experience it outshines most other 5 star resorts hands down. Air conditioning is - open your window or the tent fly! The snorkeling is fantastic (29 degree water temperature is hard to get out of!)plenty and varied fish and coral, very clear water. See the other reviewers photos of the sunrise - it is just like that. Wake up in the morning look straight out to sea from your bed, the water only meters away and even less at high tide!

We will return.

Room Tip: The gazebo or tent are the closest to the beach with uninterrupted sea views excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atauro
0.0 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 21 in Dili
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#2 of 21 in Dili
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
NOVO TURISMO Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Atauro Dive Resort
Atauro Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Atauro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barry's Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barry's Eco-Lodge

Property: Barry's Eco-Lodge
Address: Beloi, Atauro, East Timor
Region: East Timor > Dili District > Atauro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Atauro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing