We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view,food,service and ambience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel The Hermitage
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Rishikesh
Bangalore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best view,food,service and ambience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I went to Rishikesh this summer with my friends and visited in Hotel Hermitage for two days. Roof top restaurant is the most attractive part of this hotel, we enjoyed dinner in the lap of mountains. Calm breeze took my heart away and clock ticked 1 am without my notice. Service is also awesome. Around 8 am they have a Yoga class in the Buddha Hall in hotel itself, with is a worthy experience. A local chef cooks very good food indeed. It would certainly rate it 9/10.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harshit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    14
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
7
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

As I was traveling alone, I was a little concerned about the accommodation. A friend of mine referred me to Hotel Hermitage and I can't thank him enough. The location of the hotel is the best you can ask for in Rishikesh. It is surrounded by the best ashrams and Ganga is at walking distance.
The best parts of the hotel: the internet, hot water, extremely professional YOGA sessions,the roof top restaurant and the HOSPITALITY (staff was very helpful and available all the time).
I recommend HOTEL HERMITAGE to all...Its one of its kind :-)

Room Tip: "Every room have a very spacious balcony with a beautiful view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alyusra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Outstanding service and a very comfortable environment. Warm, reliable and extremely helpful staff. Everytime I go to India, I always visit Rishikesh and I have stayed at The Hermitage 5 times and this is my favourite hotel in Rishikesh, close to the everything. The rooms are spacious, the bedding and soft furnishings new, the beds are huge and there is no mould in the showers like many other hotels have. Balconies to every room.

All in all, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tarun-kumar-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I have visited Hotel Hermitage in month of April 2013 with my friends. The rooms are very luxurious, clean and well maintained. Hotel staff was good in service and manner. The prices are also good in this category.

Devendra Singh

Room Tip: Good hill views from IInd floor rooms
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Nakul503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

I stayed at the Hermitage hotel for one week and it was one of the most confusing and frustrating experiences of my entire India trip. The hotel itself is very nice, with the best hot water shower I had in India (not that you need it in Rishikesh) and pretty rooms. The staff, however, is their downfall. At any given time, there are three to four men lolling about in the hotel lobby, usually watching cricket. Any time I asked for something, for example a bedsheet or a towel, which don't come standard to the room, they looked at me like I was a complete bother. Any food I ordered, I had to follow up on multiple times. My room didn't get cleaned for the first three days of my stay, so when I asked for housekeeping, the man stopped by my room as I was changing. I asked him to come back in 20 minute and he agreed. When I came back to the hotel a few hours later, I saw that the room still hadn't been cleaned. When I inquired, I was curtly informed that the cleaner had left for the day (it was 2:00pm) and that perhaps my room would be cleaned the next day. In addition, they boast wifi internet, but it is only turned on if you request it. I am a writer and keep a travel blog, so wifi internet was one of the reasons I chose to stay at the Hermitage. They would turn the Wifi off in the middle of my using it, and would roll their eyes whenever I asked for it to be turned on.

The true icing on the cake, however, was being alerted by a fellow traveler staying across the road that my bathroom window allowed a full view of me nude while showering, and that this view was being enjoyed by lurking Indian men at night. When I asked the hotel staff if I could have a curtain over the window, they told me "It is not possible" and made me feel like I was crazy, that the man was probably just cleaning the terrace and not looking at me. When I insisted, the manager told me that I shouldn't worry, that he would "keep an eye out" for me. Apparently privacy while bathing is just too much to ask for.

Staying at the Hermitage was a complete contrast to every other place I have stayed in India, even those that cost 100 rupees! I was completely shocked and disappointed by the lazy and rude staff.

Room Tip: Choose room 101 if you want to give a free nude show to the local men outside your bathroom window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank runningblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Nice location and cost effective for group stay as they have spacious dormitory and roof top restaurant for hangout and buffet. Thanks for all personalized services and free internet. Better go for atleast a week so you can enjoy yoga, rafting and other alternative healing.

Helpful?
3 Thank mimizo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Along with team, I went to Rishikesh for a shooting of documentary. This hotel made us to give the best as it has got a such a tranquil aura and friendly staff are very cooperative. I would love to visit again. I must appreciate their tariff. They are the best.

Room Tip: Room facing Ganga
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank webzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akash Continental
Hotel Akash Continental
#24 of 44 in Rishikesh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Devoy Inn
Hotel Devoy Inn
#21 of 44 in Rishikesh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
60's Green Hills
60's Green Hills
#8 of 44 in Rishikesh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leisure Palace
Hotel Leisure Palace
#26 of 44 in Rishikesh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kunwar Residency
Kunwar Residency
#6 of 44 in Rishikesh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green View by One Hotels
Green View by One Hotels
#31 of 44 in Rishikesh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Hermitage

Property: Hotel The Hermitage
Address: Tapovan, Laxman Jhula, | Laxman Jhula, Badrinath Marg, Rishikesh 249192, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Rishikesh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Hermitage 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO A WAY OF LIFE THAT REJUVENATES THE BODY AND HEALS THE SOUL! With a backdrop of Shivalik Hills covered with green velvet, the hotel is situated at the finest location of Rishikesh, Tapovan. It is just 0.5 km from the iconic Laxman Jhoola one of the prime attractions of the region. A combination of value for money pricing, tasteful decor with a mix of aesthetics, utility and impeccable personalized services make Hermitage Hotel a your-kind-of-Place. It is the place to unwind with all the space to relax, to refresh, and to be pampered. Rooms have huge welcoming balconies and are carefully designed to offer you the synergy of simplicity and ultimate comfort. There's also a facility of dormitory with 8 beds with ample of individual space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel The Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing