We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely leisurely wander”
Review of Lakshman Jhula

Lakshman Jhula
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Haridwar and Rishikesh Day from Delhi
Ranked #3 of 54 things to do in Rishikesh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A lovely leisurely wander”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

During our short time in Rishikesh, we wandered over this bridge and it's surrounding areas a good few times. I would say it's quite relaxing and leisurely, but only once you get over the constant crowds and beeping of motorbikes and all the people staring at you.

Wander over the either side of the bridge to enjoy the beautiful views of the Ganges river - especially at sunset. It needs to be South of the river, otherwise you can't really see the sun setting. There aren't really many crowds around either in these areas and it's really lovely.

In the surrounding areas, it was nice to see the local shops and to get a fresh taste of coconut water, or buy some sparkly bangles, or see the various statues of the Hindu Gods. We were there when the World Peace Festival was on and it was great to see all the people gathering together and being a part of that experience.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank swctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    450
    204
    39
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“Rishikesh: Is this heaven, may be it is....”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

What a lovely day it was. Specially the time we spent in Rishikesh near the Laxman Jhula.
While you approach the entry of this iron suspension bridge, you come across various kinds of Shops. All the amenities are available here. Once you are on this Bridge, just one word came out of My mouth, WOW.... This bridge was actually swinging in the Fast blowing wind. Once you are in the Middle you feel as if there you go in the turbulent GANGA, but don't worry nothing is going to happen to you. Though the concrete ramps forming the base of this bridge need some repair, everything else seems awesome. You can arrange hand carts for your elder one if they can't walk for so long.
Do visit some Government recognized gem shops on the other side of the bridge.
you can even cross the the river on boats, and do try those Rs.5/- flour ball, which can be fed to the fishes inside, its quite amazing to see them come up and take it away.
The water of the river is so clear and cold, whatever be it, Just LOVED ALL.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank emanurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating corner of India”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

The bridge itself is fascinating: a suspension bridge traversed by a chaotic mix of village women in colorful saris, holy men, obnoxious honking teens on motor scooters and aggressive monkeys. In other words, an authentic slice of India! Check out the action from the balcony of the German Bakery.

The neighborhood is cool too. Lots of shops, sadhus smoking ganja, blond-haired blue-eyed Hare Krishnas, Israeli tourists (not sure why) and myriad Vedic treatments on offer. Don't forget to stop off at the Little Buddha Cafe for a great overlook of the Ganges.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Expatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“great shopping and people watching”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

You can experience all of India in one place. The shopping is fantastic as well. You see everything in Laxman Jhula, from the snake charmer, cows ands dogs,sadhus, the Ganga, pilgrims, colourful saris to everything that saturates your senses.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank TrishyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Evergreen attraction!”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I have been visiting Laxman Jhula every time we visit Rishikesh and this time also we made it a point to see the place. It seems that the shops and markets around the place keep on increasing with time and we saw several new places. The bridge itself is nice as ever and it feels great to stand in the center and feel the nice breeze of the Ganga anytime. The slightly difficult part was to negotiate the scooters/motorcycles and the crowd which kept milling around us.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DBagchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakshman Jhula also viewed

Rishikesh, Dehradun District
Rishikesh, Dehradun District
 
Rishikesh, Dehradun District
Rishikesh, Dehradun District
 

Been to Lakshman Jhula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing