We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa, attentive staff but noisy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanskriti Vedic Retreat
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Rishikesh
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We spent 5 days at Sanskriti and really enjoyed the massages,professionalism and attentiveness of the staff. We got the package which included 2 massages per day, 1 yoga class and ayurvedic consultations, food, and lodging. We got very good value for money. The food was good, very well presented and of course, very healthy. Each staff was so nice, considerate and attentive. The place is perfect if it was not for the narrow street running in front of it with motorcycle drivers using their horns non-stop all day. Although we loved the massages and all the attentions, we were not able to relax. We had to stay in our room (with windows, balcony door shut and the AC still not installed) as the beautiful terrace (which has a great view of the Ganga) was just to noisy. Management has told us that they will soon install a terrace in the garden at the back of the building. This will be an improvement, for sure. I don't understand why the owners chose this location... really!

Another disappointment was that we only got 3 days of yoga and not 5 as promised. A teacher came for the first 3 days, then had to go out of town but was not replaced. No compensation was offered. Also, on our last day, we were told that the treatment and lunch was not included! This really surprised us since we had paid for 5 full days and not 4 and a half. This was not the initial agreement. We had to argue the point before we finally got what we paid for. This was a sour ending.

Overall we were very satisfied with the quality for value but unfortunately wouldn't go back just because of the location.

Thank you staff of the Sanskriti for you kindness and professionalism.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Awesome experience ganga view from the balcony nd delecious simple lovely food evrythng hygenic clean service and presentation evrythng jst superb looking forward to come again everyone must see the place once nd lovely massage nd spa center it is what one wants on the banks of river ganga peace relax nice massage nd delicious food...:)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apesyapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I just came for meals as I had an appartment not far from here, but it was very good regarding the personnel, the service, the freshness of the food and the cleanliness.
With naturally a magnificent view of the Ganga and the ghats from the restaurant's terrace.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gerard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The best part of the hotel for me was the location. Located very close to Ram Jhula it is ideal for a morning walk near the Ganges as well as fantastic view from the cafe. Unfortunately, the view from the room is obstructed by the temple in front of it. There are just 8 rooms in the hotel and are named after the holy cities. There are no A/cs at present so that's a thumbs down. I had trouble sleeping because it was too hot and the fan in my room was too noisy!

If you are looking for a wellness holiday in Rishikesh, this hotel is perfect. Since it is now managed by the Kairali Ayurveda group, it offers a complete Ayurvedic experience. The food served simple, non spicy and healthy. There are yoga and meditation sessions available and so are the Ayurvedic massage treatments.

Room Tip: My room called Allahbad had a noisy fan so check if the issue is resolved else choose another room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purvabhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,


Its very nice to hear from you as each and every guest has experienced a lot at Sanskriti which enables us to know our strength and weaknesses and ultimately give us an opportunity to improve and deliver better products and services.

We are under development stage and assure you that your suggestions will be followed and we will look forward for your stay with us.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed there two nights. though the AC wasn't yet installed but that was least of our worries as we were blessed with pretty great weather. the views from the hotel terrace is unmatched for. the staff was great. However am holding back one star as the check in is not 24 hours and they close it and the terrace at 10 which to me is a tad uptight, but then their hotel, their rules.

Room Tip: it just has about 6 rooms, so book it in advance if you are specifically looking to stay in this hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sidney_jec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Sir,

We are more than happy to see your review on our Tripadvisor page.
We are thankful that you enjoyed your stay at Sanskriti and this also gives us an immense pleasure to know our guests found our services according to their expectations. We will be continuously improving our services and delighting our guests.
I empathize your experience about AC's and closing of lounge area after 10PM, i personally try to find alternatives to make you and other guests satisfied in this regard.

We would love to have you here again to give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Warm regards
Krishn Vaish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Very sad to see the hotel has burned down. Very sad. I spent a week at Sanskriti in May 2011. Very happy time. The view from the restaurant balcony was superb. Great organic fresh juices. Good food. So sad it's gone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hello Catherine,

I really appreciate your concerns for Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, Rishikesh.

We are open again after a lot of hard work and ready to welcome people like you who enjoyed and miss the stay with us. We are finalizing the finishing touches and ready to serve you. Very soon we are posting pictures of Sanskriti .

Looking forward to welcome you

with warm regards

Krishn Vaish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Consumed by fire in July of 2012. Sanskriti is sadly no more. I was there in November 2010 and we would eat there most days. We are very sad that it is no more. There is a restaurant/cafe called Health Cafe run by ex Sanskriti staff. Over the Ram Jhula bridge and up passed the large covered restaurants and up still, then turn right. It is on the right.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwardbmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi,


I really appreciate your concerns for Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, Rishikesh.

We are open again after a lot of hard work and ready to welcome people like you who enjoyed and miss the stay with us. We are finalizing the finishing touches and ready to serve you. Very soon we are posting pictures of Sanskriti .

Looking forward to welcome you

with warm regards

Krishn Vaish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
1.1 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
2.0 mi away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#5 of 57 in Rishikesh
406 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dewa Retreat - A Himalayan Boutique Hotel
6.5 mi away
Aranyam River Retreat
Aranyam River Retreat
#4 of 57 in Rishikesh
236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ishan
Hotel Ishan
#6 of 57 in Rishikesh
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanskriti Vedic Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanskriti Vedic Retreat

Address: Ramjhulla Near Shivanand Hospital | Opp. Shivanand Ashram, Rishikesh 249203, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Rishikesh
Price Range: £32 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanskriti Vedic Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanskriti vedic retreat located in the himalayan foothills-rishikesh.the spiritual and mythological land where the celestial ganges descended on the earth. The sanskriti vedic retreat will take you to the ultimate bliss in this land of divine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sanskriti Vedic Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing