We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mediocre Experience at Wildex”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rishikesh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camp Wildex Rishikesh
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We reached Rishikesh on 2nd May 2014. It took efforts to reach Wildex as they don't have clear signboards on various turnings of the road. The camp is situated on the backdrop of a valley where a Tributary flows and joins the main river . the location of the place is wonderful and it definitely gives you a Camp like feel. The very steep and narrow path towards the camp from the main road is dangerous and the camp people can improve upon the safety of this path.
The Tents are neat and clean , the food service is good and offer tasty food to the customers , charging facility available near tents. They have 3 dogs which are the friendliest of creatures and they will stay with you if you are going on a hike nearby to explore and will leave no chance to drive away the Monkeys and other animals that might come in your way. The staff i would say definitely needs improvement especially the caretaker. There is a lot of mismanagement on his part . We were mislead by him on several occasions due to which we wasted a lot of time and energy. He is also the DJ in the night and sticks to only Honey Singh. The Camp staff need to be more transparent in terms of the service they provide at the camp. There is mismanagement from the staff in the Rafting packages and they will try to minimise your experience due to some constraints these people have.Also , there was no camping activities like Night hiking , Rappeling , river crossing etc as mentioned in our package. Please ensure you ask them in advance about the rafting and camping package and have official written communication about your package that will greatly help your cause. Overall ,a decent experience and their staff needs improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ujjwal_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

we visited rishikesh onr 29th and 30th march, 2014. We contact person named abhishek and he informed us that we will be getting luxury tent. But quality of tent was horrible. They were not cleaned properly. Initially Abhishek told us that there will be electricity in tent but when we reached camp, electricity is in open area. You have to sit there for charging laptop and mobile.
The way down to camp is very risky with no safety put up by Wildex like ropes, baricades or any supporting rodes.
They told they we will have nonveg snacks in evening but even after paying extra they were reluctant to offer nonveg.

Worst experience was with rafting.. After Checkout they simple say you to go up but when you reach up on the road, there is no one to guide and help you. You stand there like a fool with no clue what to do next. They were supposed to send us to shivpuri from where we were to do 16km of rafting till Ram jhulla in rishikesh, but just because of Wildex mismanagement and no planning we were stranded in shivpuri on road side for 2 hours and were just made to wait and wait after we called them up. I felt as we were not on a trip but were stranded as we have not paid them, the biggest proof of no proper planning from Wildex and how casually they treat tripers as they have already paid full amount.
Finally when we warned them of posting all our bad experience on Trip advisor they contacted some other tour planner in shivpuri and adjusted us on a raft.

I suggest a strict no for camp wildex untill unless you want to spoil your tour.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kaushalmaurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were a group of cousins travelling to Wildex’ Rishikesh camp on the 12th-13th weekend ... and like I mentioned above – we had the time of our lives here. The occasion was that of a bachelorette party of one of our cousins, and Wildex made it a memorable experience.

The camp is situated in a valley next to a tributary of Ganga, for those of you who are aware of the area; know that it is a little walk away from the main river. We chose it for three reasons:
1. The beach camps situated next to Ganga generally don’t have toilets with flowing water which make them really unhygienic – especially for girls
2. The location of Wildex camp is just opposite to a shallow tributary which is easily accessible – even for small kids since the water flow is not very strong, so it is safe
3. The view of Rajaji national park just opposite the camp is absolutely stunning and a welcome change over the regular beach camps

Now the rafting ... frequent rafters know the situation in Rishikesh – there are just a few rafting companies and several camps with many people staying. This creates a demand supply imbalance and there is monopoly of rafting companies – where they act as per their convenience.

But still for anyone, SAFETY should be the key priority and Wildex focuses on that. Normally I have seen camps arranging any agency with a raft just to keep the customer happy – be it licensed or unlicensed. Please remember that at the end of the day – you should have all the safety measures in place. Wildex has tied up with a very good rafting agency in Rishikesh and they were very particular about safety. Wildex staff were uncompromising on the safety aspect – which I found an ethical thing and I respect that.

So guys, pls. remember that rafting activities are outsourced and are not undertaken by camp people in Rishikesh, but by rafting agencies which are very few, and hence have very high attitude and will not hesitate twice before compromising your security. We trusted Wildex for this and were happy with the rafting. We asked a lot of questions to the guide and he answered them all – which shows good experience!!

Overall stay at the camp was very good and pleasant. The people we met there were generally youngsters – which made it even more fun!! The staff went out of the way to help us ladies to carry the bags, serve food, etc. which I found really impressive. Although on the first day, we were late in reaching, but still the staff prepared and served us food. Overall, it felt like HOME!!
The atmosphere in the evening is of total party – good DJ, good crowd, and good food – what else you need to have a rocking time. The DJ was good and played songs as per the ‘mood’ of the crowd.

The camp has several activities to keep you engaged throughout the day ... cricket, volley, badminton – but our favourite pastime was sitting and chilling on the cool rocks of the tributary flowing near the camp. You can easily spend hours there – carry a good book or Ipod along 
It has been almost a week since I have been back and not a day passes when I don’t think back of the fun we had. I don’t know when I will be back, but whenever I am, I know I’ll stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the court/ground are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hiprerna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

So we were 3 married couples (friends) travelling together for this camping experience.... We drove down to Rishikesh from Delhi... A long and bumpy ride on the awful roads of Uttarakhand... Pls go in an absolutely comfortable car else the journey is weary. And we finally reach our destination, totally surprised and shocked to see that its not on the main river side... It is water facing but away from the main river, so here the water is quite shallow.... Nice to dip in and sit and relax but we were looking forward to something on white sand on the main river where you see the rafts and the rapids...

Anyways, so we moved down the hill to the camp... Quite a decent camp compared to the others I visited before this. Decent tents and good food... They have all the facilities for sports like badminton, volleyball, cricket, hammocks, a small activity area for rock climbing, rappelling, burma bridge etc, an even smaller similar set up for kids too.... Most disappointing are the washrooms and bathing cabins. I would have appreciated if they segregated the ones for women...

They claim that they have hot and cold water facility for bathing at the camp however the truth is that the hot water facility is a tiny small geyser outside the washrooms which gives one bucket of hot water in one hour and you have a queue for it!!!

The evenings are well planned at the camp wherein there is bonfire, good music, laser lights and snacks.... For non-vegetarians like us, having vegetarian snacks was a bit of pain but we carried our own snacks like sausages etc which the camp staff was courteous enough to heat for us...

Now the worst experience.... we booked our rafting expedition through Wildex...we kept enquiring the camp manager- Dev about the time slot for our rafting expedition the following day but were told it'll be known only in morning.... As informed, 12pm was the rafting time booked for us, hence we were to leave the camp by 11am. Till about 12pm we were at the camp itself as the rafting rep didnt reach. Finally he reached and took us to a mid point where the raft and their car was to drive us to Shivpuri. We waited for good 45 mins in the heat with no clue as to what is happening. There was no briefing! nothing, just the heat and us waiting. Eventually, our pick up service arrived while there were another 4-5 groups behind us from our camp waiting for their turn... The rafting expedition was absolutely fantastic and couldn't have been better. Had an experienced and a great guide... Midway maggi point serves you yummy maggi and refreshing hot tea... The guide asked us where to drop us and we were clueless as to what is he referring to. There is Ram Jhula and then the last drop point. We chose the latter as we were not informed by our camp manager where he is sending our car for pick up. We landed just to realise that our driver is kilometers away from us. We again had to wait for about an hour to have our driver pick us. We reached our camp around 4pm for lunch though they still served us hot lunch but was a very bad experience waiting unnecessarily and felt we have wasted the whole day and could have utilized it for other activities like flying fox, trekk to the waterfalls etc.

The service staff was good throughout untill the last night when they were literally pushing people to have dinner fast as they wanted to have dinner after us. We felt very uncomfortable with people clearing the food counters while we were still eating. That's rude!

All in all, the camp is still better off than other camps of equivalent stature but I truly believe they could do so much to improve their service, quality and attitude. For now, I am not sure if I'll ever return to Wildex but I'll for sure visit Rishikesh again for this spectacular rafting expedition....

Room Tip: The tents in front of the dining area are better located.... others are right behind the washrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurbani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

First of all, I would like to point out that this is an ADVENTURE camp and hence I have tried to review it accordingly. We visited the Rishikesh camp on the 13th-14th April and were quite happy with the experience. I have visited several beach/jungle camps before but none have excited me enough to write a detailed review. But I am writing one for Wildex as I think it is a hidden jewel in the beautiful valleys of Rishikesh.

1. Location: The location is excellent - for people seeking the lap of nature and an escape from the hectic city life for a few days, this is the place to be. Just stay here and forget all your worries - which includes constant phone calls from your boss :) The camp is located in a valley - so you will have to take the trouble of walking a little, but the camp staff are very helpful and they will support you with the baggage if you request for the same. There is a separate route which is less tedious - and is used by scooties/bikes which you can also use. The camp has a tributary flowing next to it - which gives it a beautiful scenic touch, unlike any other beach/jungle camp I have stayed in.

2. Activities: The camp is abound with several activities to keep you occupied (provided you have the 'go do it' attitude). You can also sit and relax on the hanging chairs sipping on chilled bear through the day if you feel like. Plethora of activities include cricket, football, badminton, rock climbing, burma bridge, etc. and the gear provided is in good condition. Make sure you trek to the waterfall near the Rishikesh camp - it is absolutely worth it.

3. Food: The food is pretty decent and the staff take care to personally inform you about it being served. The hall is pretty large and the variety of food is also good - including non-veg. The tea is served pretty much all through the day, which I really liked, and cold water is also available.

4. Rafting: THIS TAKES THE CAKE ... the camp owners have tied up with one of the most professional rafting agencies in Rishikesh. I have done rafting before - and normally they skip a few stretches to save on time ... but not this one. They started before the scheduled start of Shivpuri to avoid traffic, which gave us the extra miles. The instructor was pretty good and guided us well. Definitely one of the most fun and safest ways to raft in Rishikesh.

5. Staff: Staff is extremely helpful, especially considering the fact that we went on a long weekend in peak period. Their staff was very proactive in guiding us from the road to the rooms and back, informing us regarding the activities, telling us about the food.

6. The people: The people on the camp are a good mix of youngsters, students and young families - very nice mix of happening crowd there to have a nice time. We gelled well with many of them and also found some repeat/old time clients of the camp - who have been visiting them for the past 5-6 years, were quite happy with the service.

7. Toilets: Yes !! It is an important factor - especially for the ladies. But not a concern here as the toilets are well maintained with 24 X 7 running water. We had girls accompanying us and none complained. :)

8. Lastly - KANATAL - The second and newest camp of Wildex - nestled amongst the mountains - the overall experience here too was amazing. The climate was very good and the food especially was very good.

All in all I couldn't find anything to complain. Just a small feedback - the camp is much much better than several others I have stayed in, but needs to be marketed more. I came to know of it from some friends - and by that time I had had some really bad experiences some of the other camps :) Just wish I had experienced it earlier.

Room Tip: 1. Make use of the alternate route (for bikes) which is much easier to reach the camp. 2. Bring you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Puneet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The trip was to Shivpuri for rafting and expedition and it was wonderful but not because of Wildex but due to company of good friends.
1. We planned our trip for 29th and 30th march, 2014 via Wildex and soon as we reached there our negative experiences started. While booking they were agreeing to everything and entertained us properly but all that changed once payment is made and we reached there.
2. Due to the location all mobile networks failed there except IDEA and still there is no proper indications from Wildex of how to reach the camp, no proper signboards are setup. Wildex don't care about all that i think soo.
3. The way down to camp is very risky with no safety put up by Wildex like ropes, baricades or any supporting rodes.
4. Good thing was camp was spacious but tent was untidy and we have to run after the incharges there for getting it clean which was very irritating.
5. The camp is not on a main river bed and is little distance from river bed, soo not very enjoyable.
6. The various games (Badminton, Volleyball, Basketball, Cricket, Carrom, Darting) and activities(rock climbing) which are provided are the only relief there. The food is also not very good both veg and non-veg and again you have to push them too much for getting non-veg item which they don't provide there but they mentioned when we where negotiating before the trip, later on when you reach there there tones and behaviour gets changed and they start refering there brouchure for everything which is really bad as you talk something but follow something else.
7. The Bonfire in the late evening is really good with DJ and music with lot's of snacks both veg and non-veg, Something else to enjoy there.
8. The washrooms and toilets are OK as per camps standard.
9. Then came the day for rafting (30th march) and also to checkout, they are very particular for any extra eatable you might have used and charge you for it but when it comes for providing facility, guidance and support there is no one from Wildex.
10. After Checkout they simple say you to go up but when you reach up on the road, there is no one to guide and help you. You stand there like a fool with no clue what to do next. They were supposed to send us to shivpuri from where we were to do 16km of rafting till Ram jhulla in rishikesh, but just because of Wildex mismanagement and no planning we were stranded in shivpuri on road side for 2 hours and were just made to wait and wait after we called them up. I felt as we were not on a trip but were stranded as we have not paid them, the biggest proof of no proper planning from Wildex and how casually they treat tripers as they have already paid full amount.
11. Finally when we warned them of posting all our bad experience on Trip advisor they contacted some other tour planner in shivpuri and adjusted us on a raft.

Soo my experience from the trip, better to don't stay anyplace else but in shivpuri only, that too in a beach camp as it's not very different from other camps which they say as luxury camps.

Room Tip: Camps away from Badminton and Volleyball court will be peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaps013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Great value for money. Very nice and helpful staff assuring best of their services. The location is also very perfectly chosen as its just the river side giving you a good camping feel.
Great job guys.....keep up the spirits !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abhishek_jadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
3.3 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
5.2 mi away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#5 of 60 in Rishikesh
409 reviews
0 mi away
Camp Gold Coast
Camp Gold Coast
#95 of 213 in Rishikesh
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jungle Retreat Camp, Rishikesh
Jungle Retreat Camp, Rishikesh
#97 of 213 in Rishikesh
7 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rishikesh Valley
Rishikesh Valley
#4 of 213 in Rishikesh
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Rafters Camp
Rendezvous Rafters Camp
#101 of 213 in Rishikesh
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Wildex Rishikesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Wildex Rishikesh

Address: Phoolchatti, Rattapaani | Neelkanth Road, Rishikesh 249201, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 213 Speciality Lodging in Rishikesh
Price Range: £62 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Wildex, Rishikesh is a riverside jungle camp far from the highway and away from everyone else. The pleasant sound of the rapids on the river echoes in the valley and camping around such an amazing natural surroundings is a lifetime experience in itself. As the area has Rajaji National park on both sides, a good variety of rare himalayan birds can be seen. Evenings at campsite are romantic, fun-filled and exciting. The starlit sky, silhouette of the mountains, rippling sound of the river and shimmering of bon-fire, this is a great way to explore the outdoors. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing