We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, quiet hotel with balconies outlook to gardens and mountains”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rishikesh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Narayana Kunj
Ranked #46 of 120 Rishikesh B&B and Inns
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good, quiet hotel with balconies outlook to gardens and mountains”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Every room has a balcony with a green outlook. There is a very good Ayurvedic Spa and first class yoga classes with excellent teachers scheduled throughout the day, either in the garden or the yoga halls upstairs.

I spent a month in my room, 401,which was entirely satisfactory though the walls of the bathroom could use a good clean. While I could have stayed in one of the many nearby guest houses for half them price I paid (400rps a night, long term price, no AC, off season, normally $550rps no AC) I stayed on here as I loved the calming view from my balcony. you should also note they charge an extra 80rps for WiFi in your room. This was then first time I was charged extra in 6
weeks prior travel in India. Using Wifi or Internet in the lobby is 20rps hourly.

Getting here from Haridwar is not straightforward. You take a taxi or Tuk Tuk to Ram Jhula bridge and from there you must walk across the bridge and uphill for about 20 minutes. It is
possible to ask the hotel organize a porter for you if would find this difficult or you have a disability. It is possible to get a taxi to take you quite close to the hotel, about a 5 min level walk, however you would have to check with the hotel how to arrange this. Its a much longer, hair raising windy mountain drive. I left this way and it was a welcome relief however you pay a much higher price for this service, 900rps.

The best cafes nearby are #1, the delightful Oasis, and 2nd, Moondance. The hotel serves reasonably priced food and you can get it delivered to your room.

Oh yes, it is 'relatively' quiet compared to others in India. There is nearby building noise, morning chanting, etc. Indian life starts at 5-6am and you may woken up early. I didnt mind. It was a relief to hear nom traffic noise.

Staff is friendly and always helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nitboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
4
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bombay, New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The best place ever i stayed.Near Ram jhuola and walk in distance from main attraction.Parmarth Ashram where ganga aarti is performed every evening.Narayana Kunj is famous due to their yogshala sanskriti yogpeeth which offer Certificate course by their studio and many international companies work closely with them hiring their place for group yoga retreat or teacher Programs.this place is really heavenly and all rooms are mountain facing toward a famous temple.its garden is used by yogis for meditation and evening yoga perform.would love to back at stay at this cheap & the best ashram.Rooms are clean.Food is Supurb without much of spice and oil..Friendly staffs.The best cook - Chamoli is very nice boy.it is such an awesome place to join for yoga course offered by sanskriti yogpeeth or spritual stay.
Thank to owner and other staffs for their friendly guesture.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bobby_1682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany - borken
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Anups Yoga Class !

Thank you very very much for your warm and wonderful yoga lessons. You are teaching with a open heart and mind. My wife and I can feel that you love yoga and teaching yoga.
Your yoga class ist very exact, traditional and the most parts J are not to hart, so that also beginners can feel secure in your class. The traditional Shivanada Yoga Stil mixed with other parts is that kind of yoga we love. It´s good for all people to every time. The right kind to making Asana, Pranayama, Meditation and not forget the very important part of Yoga, the right relaxation, we have found in your class. Seldom we have meet such a authentic and genuin yoga teacher like you.
We feel in very good hands with you - so we hope to see us again next year !

Narayana Kunj is a lovley hotel on a great place.

Shivaram Uwe Strauß
Yogateacher and Meditation /Germany

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uwe123_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I stayed at Narayana Kunj in the heart of the world's yoga capital for 3 weeks in December 2010. As I was spending so long in the town I looked at a lot of accomodation on that side of the river, Ram Joula. I picked what I thought looked like the best, which also had other guests staying there (as it was low season and many places were empty). I was offered a scooter pick up to help me bring my things from the other Ram Joula guesthouse I was staying at, which I thought was a really nice gesture. I was shown a few different rooms and was impressed by the gorgeous view from the balcony, looking at moutains and fields. The room I had was very good value. The beds were very firm and comfortable. The showers were the best I've every experienced in India. But besides the comfort and cleanliness of the hotel what made this such a memorable place for me was definitely the staff. Nicky, Raveen, Vicky (the yoga teacher - there is a yoga studio on the top floor of the hotel), and all the other guys were super friendly, fun and a pleasure to hang out with, accomodating, professional and are now my friends.

I would highly recommend this new hotel, set in quiet surroundings in an area of Ram Joula off the main street. You'll pass cows in the alley ways, children playing cricket and local families to get to the hotel. There is a restaurant at the hotel, but due to it being low season it was not open when I was there. The hotel has 4 internet enabled computers, with good speeds and facilities - such as scanner and printer. The hotel is cleaned everyday and towels are provided. Bicycles are available to rent and the guys at the hotel will go out of their way to help you with whatever you need during your stay.

I will stay here each time I return to Rishikesh and will keep my fond memories of my stay, the hotel and its staff.

Thanks Narayana Kunj! I miss you!!

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor. Rooms are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ruthwsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

wonderfull......Excellent Service....and good staff.....i am Manuella Hayden from Germany i was in hotel narayana kunj with my group ( 20 person ) for 25 days and me and my group friends are like that place very much because it was a quiet place for yoga and meditation i love to come again here.......thank you narayana kunj and staff

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mannGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yog Vashishth
Hotel Yog Vashishth
#6 of 50 in Rishikesh
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green View by One Hotels
Green View by One Hotels
#27 of 50 in Rishikesh
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ganesha Inn
Hotel Ganesha Inn
#15 of 50 in Rishikesh
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vashishth Guest House
Vashishth Guest House
#10 of 120 in Rishikesh
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nirvana Palace
Hotel Nirvana Palace
#8 of 120 in Rishikesh
205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tapovan Vatika Resort
Tapovan Vatika Resort
#63 of 120 in Rishikesh
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Narayana Kunj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Narayana Kunj

Property: Hotel Narayana Kunj
Address: Village Jonk Swargashram | Village Jonk, Rishikesh 249304, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Rishikesh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 minutes walking distance from Ramjhulla bridge. 22 km from Jolly Grant airport. 25-28 km from Haridwar train/bus station. Hotel located in village, quiet, in nature, with views of Himalayas and local farming fields with Indian culture. Near Ganga 1/2 km distance, 10 minutes walk. Homely atmosphere, friendly welcoming staff. For yoga groups, 2 yoga shalas, meals in garden restaurant, room, end of course ceremony, after party. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing