We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hideout in this busy world”

Green Valley Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rishikesh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Valley Cottage
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We decided to visit Rishikesh not for a pilgrimage but to be close to nature that’s what exactly this great place offers you. It’s a perfect nine room guest house with perfect cleanliness and most helpful staff I have ever seen. It’s located a little inside on the highway but it’s a noble relief from the Jams on the main road. They have just opened a new restaurant “NIRVANA” & I must say again it’s a delight to your palate. I stayed for three nights but after looking at the cleanliness of the show kitchen, I could not dare to eat anywhere else as it was at par with any five star hotels and being an hotelier I truly understand the importance of the cleanliness. The Owner is a very humble young guy Pankaj who is always ready to go that extra mile to turn your moments into memories. They have a wonderful terrace to spend your evenings on & it’s a walking distance from the both Ram Jhula & Lakshman Jhula. They have a quick laundry service as well as a added bonus .
To summarize its pros & Cons.
Pros:
• Location – In middle of Mango Groves & nature
• Cleanliness – Very Clean rooms with perfect white linen
• Cost – Five star Service at half the price
• Food – Awesome , outstanding , too Good – I do not have words to describe – They have Indian , Chinese , Tibetan , Greek , Continental , Israeli & anything else you need .
• Staff: very personalized, humble & passionate.
Cons:
• Sorry Guys I could find none.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pooja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

Amazing place to be, you'll get the best hospitality here...

I believe most of the point have been covered by "OM Taracandra" below

in case you missed it "Green Valley Cottage A quiet place of peace On the edge of Rishikesh, away from traffic and roads, surrounded by forest, rests the Green Valley Cottage. Frequented by long staying travelers and yogis, many of whom have returned from past good experiences, the cottage is a family run place with a strong spiritual tradition. The rooms are well maintained and very clean, and of various sizes and budgets. From frugal young backpacker’s ‘monk cell’, to large family rooms with kitchen, all is well thought out. Full electrical backup, for those embarrasing moments that tell you India is still developing, is there, and for those hotter days of May onward, the Summer season, air conditioning is in most rooms... excluding of course the ‘monks cells’, where suffering is preferred in the heat of tapas - just joking. Also Wifi is free... bring your gear. The Cottage has just opened a new restaurant in the back, amongst a grove of mango trees. There are restaurants also nearby that cater to the western pallete, and also there are small shops for personal needs. After more than six years of staying at the cottage on and off, my home in India, I can heartedly recommend it to you, and please do enjoy your stay in Rishikesh. OM Taracandra"

Room Tip: excellent clean rooms, best hospitality, A/C rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gejo_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Green Valley Cottage

A quiet place of peace

On the edge of Rishikesh, away from traffic and roads, surrounded by forest, rests the Green Valley Cottage.

Frequented by long staying travelers and yogis, many of whom have returned from past good experiences, the cottage is a family run place with a strong spiritual tradition.

The rooms are well maintained and very clean, and of various sizes and budgets. From frugal young backpacker’s ‘monk cell’, to large family rooms with kitchen, all is well thought out.

Full electrical backup, for those embarrasing moments that tell you India is still developing, is there, and for those hotter days of May onward, the Summer season, air conditioning is in most rooms... excluding of course the ‘monks cells’, where suffering is preferred in the heat of tapas - just joking.

Also Wifi is free... bring your gear.

The Cottage has just opened a new restaurant in the back, amongst a grove of mango trees. There are restaurants also nearby that cater to the western pallete, and also there are small shops for personal needs.

After more than six years of staying at the cottage on and off, my home in India, I can heartedly recommend it to you, and please do enjoy your stay in Rishikesh.

OM Taracandra

Room Tip: In summer heat look to the north facing rooms, with a view of the green mountains. In winter look f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taracandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This friendly family guesthouse is my favourite place to stay in Rishikesh (Tapovan)
Situated remote in the Swiss cottage oasis, this place remains peaceful and quiet.
All rooms are well maintained and good value. Three upper rooms and the one on the top have a huge sunny terrace in front. From there view to the green hills including the one with Kunjapuri temple to where u can hike up and down in one day passing through tiny villages
in beautiful hill area.

Easy Access to Green Valley from Rishikesh town via shared Riksha for 7Rs (March 2013).
Get off at the left-hand turn just before the round white Kriya Yoga Ashram-building and follow the turn up around 200m. There is also a shortcut starting from the Riksha parking area.

The Family is laid back, the service perfect. People stay there often longterm.

A new restaurant, run by the family and situated at the backside of the building,
is about to open soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Mammas cottage is adding new rooms so our stay at green valley was marred by the construction noise and dust. In addition anew restaurant is being built behind so its a construction site this end of high bank.

However, the room (202) is very clean, basic, plenty of balcony space and wonderful friendly family. Free WiFi. Monkeys came which was kind of funny. Plenty of beautiful birds and mostly surrounded with trees, nice view of Tapovan from the terrace.
I feel safe here. In future the new restaurant will make this place great. Basically a good value small and friendly place to stay.
Just terrible timing with all the construction.
Rooms currently 500-600 rupees per night, all very clean. Could be cheaper given the circumstance.

Mammas cottage we were offered the worst room I have ever seen. Not sure why it is so popular but perhaps again, just bad timing.

High bank is ever more popular but still shanti compared to the rest of main rishikesh.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

A quite oasis with view of Ganga, mountains, and the big night sky. Spacious, clean rooms and a big roof perfect for nightly meditation. Also close to bunch of garden restaurants and just 5-10 minute walk from Laxman/Ram Jhula and various ashrams.

The host are gracious and warm which creates a family like setting. Great place to chill/read/meditate while meeting fellow travelers.

WIFI is good but I would prefer a base station per floor for stronger signal. This was the only bugaboo as I was writing a book. The room attendant is a nice/helpful fella but seems to be distracted with constant calling from his wife/girlfriend.

Overall a great find.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank travlwrtyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

In the backpacker area, a quiet hostel with a few rooms, family ambiance and very good service.
I was happy to be able to retreat in this calm place for a few days, the service was good and the room was very clean and large. The top - roof has a great view of the ganga river.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyWorldOurPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
0.6 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
0.3 mi away
OYO 4475 Hotel Akash Continental
3.1 mi away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#6 of 64 in Rishikesh
437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rishikesh Valley
Rishikesh Valley
#5 of 221 in Rishikesh
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rishikesh Sadan
Rishikesh Sadan
#50 of 64 in Rishikesh
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Valley Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Valley Cottage

Address: O P Green Valley Cottage Badarinath Road, Rishikesh 249201, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 221 Speciality Lodging in Rishikesh
Price Range: £158 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing