We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, sweet service”
Review of Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I enjoyed my stay - the room was huge and the bed was very nice. I was not too crazy about marble floors that did not look clean because the stone absorbed dirt from long time ago....and our fireplace did not work (we smoked up the whole room and had to freeze afterwards for a bit as we opened the windows to not choke). But the service was very nice and attentive and I understand this is the best hotel in town. The breakfast was Ok - I wish there was more fruit given how "fruity" the hotel town is!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

Interesting having just read earlier reviews about the fireplace.. we DID get a fire in our room with no problem! Called the front desk and within five minutes, there were two men there to build and light the fire. I suspected a fire had never been lit in the fireplace before given how the paint on the inside of the fireplace began to bubble, but no matter.. it was nice just the same.

I couldn't get over the sterile, charmless feel of the grounds.. it felt like a nouveau riche golf club in some third tier Chinese city. There were flashing colored lights on all the outdoor trees, for instance. The rooms were fine, with speedy Internet, but my heart sank a bit when I saw the colonial-era Kandawgyi Hill Resort next door.. this is the kind of place I was expecting.

Staff was helpful to a point. I think it's just early days in Myanmar. Breakfast buffet was completely empty when we showed up, for instance, but they went out of their way to bring us food personally as soon as it was ready. They also took us into town in the vintage Mercedes in the parking lot (for a price). High marks for effort.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank hongbao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We had 2 rooms side by side in a bungalow. Very big setting, very big rooms.

The whole place is beautiful, so are the rooms. It was very cold at night, and the heating element seems not to work. The staff can with a small portable heating fan that was not adequate to cool even one quarter of the room. However, the blanket and comforter was very efficient in keeping us warm at night.

The bathroom is spacious, but cold. The walk in wardrobe is also within the big bathroom, and it makes it inconvenient if you are sharing with friends. As a couple staying together, it will be a nice feature.

Thee is a fire place in each room, but we are not sure if its ornamental or otherwise.

Was told that there is a heated pool that is open 24 hours. However, while there, the pool was icy cold, and we found out that the heater was not working. I suspect it was not turned on to save on electricity.

There is a pool table in the lobby area, and we had a good time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrangeWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This hotel looks great, good setting, and the rooms are to a high tandard. But the whole experience was spoilt by the attitude of the staff and the refulsal to light the fires or warm anywhere as advertised.
The reception staff either had no English (depsite there mostly being Englsih speakers there) or were unhelpful - surprising for Myanmar where everwhere else we went everyone was so pleasant and helpful. There was a farcical mix-up over rooms and noise when we arrived which was badly handled, and our shower didn't work and I had to get cross before anything was done about it. The staff were scruffy and had no uniforms (except the waiters/waitressess, who were great). You couldn't tell who was a member of the hotel staff and who had walked in off the street to talk to their mates. The biggest beef was about the cold at night - air con wouldn't reverse for heating, fireplaces were "for decoration", heated pool wasn't, dining room was cold in evening, and breakfast was held outside where it was so cold you had to sit in 2 jumpers, a coat and hat - it was unpleasant. This hotel has great potential, but it is not being realised. Don't go until it has all improved.

Room Tip: Lower rooms on left side border a building site, noisy day and night. They are all cold at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This new hotel lies in a beautifull garden, with splendid flowers. The staff is friendly and helpfull.
The rooms are spacious and the technical installations are functionning. The marble floor in the bathroom was dirty. This is probably due to the fact that the tourists keep there shoes on in the bathroom, where all the people from Myammar use the provided slippers, quite a cultural difference and a problem for the good working cleaning staff.
Be prepared for the cold nights . We experienced a 5 degree celsius in january. No heating available.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Rxcellent accomodation just out of town, very new spacious bungalows with large fireplace, built in wardrobe and bath.
Fast Internet connection also.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Beautiful facilities with pool table, swimming pool and reclining lounge area

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NataliePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I booked this hotel expecting heating from its many fireplaces shown on the internetsite photos. They even mention its "cosy fireplace" in the agora description. And arriving in the cold month of January in our nice booked bungalow we found a 5 meter high chimney with a 1 meter wide fire place. After sunset the temperature dropped to 8 Celsius and we called the reception to light the wood which filled the fireplace. It turned out that this was all for decoration. Even in the lounche which would be the obvious place to light a fire as the hub for the guests heath was denied to the guests who fled early to there beds looking for warmth in the twin beds under the duvets. What a miss and what a disappointment.
When we left we asked if a fire could be lightened the next time when we would return which was 3 days later. Staff assured us there would be a fire but on return it was the same cold song.
Food is very mediocre, duvets are good, helpful staf and nice bungalows but a freezing experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter de Jager D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htoo, Owner at Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Dear Sir,

We deeply apologize for the unpleasant experience you had had at our hotel. As our hotel is still new, there are still some facilities that we cannot fully provide to our hotel guests.

Currently we do not allowed anyone to use any fireplaces yet, because there are some safety equipments needed to be installed before it would be safe for our guests to use our fireplaces.

Now we have already started to use our fireplaces in our Bungalows with the best views, and within the few months after we have installed more safety protections, all our bungalows will be able to use our cozy fire places.

We appreciate and thanks for your review about our hotel as we are always willing to improve our service and facilities to provide the best for your honoured guests.

Regards,
Htoo Paing Soe
Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin
Myanmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo) hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Shwe Nann Htike
Hotel Shwe Nann Htike
#1 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
52 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aureum Resort at Governor's House
Aureum Resort at Governor's Hous...
#6 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
#7 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Orchid Hotel Nan Myaning
Orchid Hotel Nan Myaning
#3 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
98 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Maymyo
Hotel Maymyo
#2 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
38 reviews
1.5 mi away
Maymyo Sa Khan Tha Hotel
Maymyo Sa Khan Tha Hotel
#8 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin

Address: 9 Nandar Rd. | Near Botanical Garden, Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo) 08, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Price Range: £69 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the beautiful botanical garden on the side of hill with individual private teak bungalows each with its own veranda. Heated swimming pool, pool room, cosy lounge with a bar and a great restaurant makes for a very relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing