We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming experience”
Review of Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin
Reviewed 15 March 2013

It's been our 4th visit to May Myo in as many years. After trying all other establishments in the area, we decided to give this hotel a chance. Must say we were not prepared for such a treat. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. For any request they immediately reacted quickly and efficiently, which was very admirable.
The rooms are very well appointed, beautifully decorated and well maintained. Two caveats still need attending to, as they are in the way of making this hotel the real gem it should be.
The first one being the bathroom tiling, which is a real mess. The floor tiling is made of some unfinished and unsealed marble, that has long gone given way to its past splendors, and is now stained and impossible to stand on, lest you put on slippers. Real shame.
The second problem is the cold. We were in May Myo in February, when the nights are cool. The room is big, and hard to heat. The air-con is only on cool, and had its warming mode disabled. The fireplace is beautiful, but not functional.
In short: change the bathroom floor tiles, and put some heat into this room, and you have the most efficiently-running, charming and well appointed hotel, not only in May Myo, but in all of the Mandalay region. and then will receive the 5th star it so deserves.
We love this hotel, and will be back in 2014 for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal in quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yonatan_Glaubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

The hotel looked a mix between entering Disneyland and a 1980' s resort. Was a bit confused with the decor. The staff were pleasant and consistent. It is quite far out of mandalay but the area was picturesque. We went to the restaurant (6 of us) . I don't think they were used to such volumes of customers at one time as the food took a while to come out. After that we opted to eat out. Overall ok stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Very friendly we had two nights here in an attractive bungalow with good facilities close to the town and the amazing botanic gardens, however downside ran out of white wine one night and no tonics, plus laundry ruined a pair of trousers, however for Myanmar very good and it will get better, has indoor pool and reasonable food at good prices

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank markettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Two years old and mostly still looking very new in an old world British style. The cabana type rooms are very swish and the cleanest we experienced in any hotel in Myanmar. The bathrooms suffer from being floored in marble that wasn't sealed, so has ended up badly stained and dirty looking which is a pity. The chef and kitchen are outstanding. The best food anywhere in Myanmar on our travels and frankly, as good as any top hotel. The food areas are spotlessly clean. We also found the reception staff very helpful when one of our team fell ill. Swimming pool was cold (it is a Hill Station town and therefore cooler climate).

Room Tip: ask to be away from the main buildings where there is a little building work happening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I enjoyed my stay - the room was huge and the bed was very nice. I was not too crazy about marble floors that did not look clean because the stone absorbed dirt from long time ago....and our fireplace did not work (we smoked up the whole room and had to freeze afterwards for a bit as we opened the windows to not choke). But the service was very nice and attentive and I understand this is the best hotel in town. The breakfast was Ok - I wish there was more fruit given how "fruity" the hotel town is!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Interesting having just read earlier reviews about the fireplace.. we DID get a fire in our room with no problem! Called the front desk and within five minutes, there were two men there to build and light the fire. I suspected a fire had never been lit in the fireplace before given how the paint on the inside of the fireplace began to bubble, but no matter.. it was nice just the same.

I couldn't get over the sterile, charmless feel of the grounds.. it felt like a nouveau riche golf club in some third tier Chinese city. There were flashing colored lights on all the outdoor trees, for instance. The rooms were fine, with speedy Internet, but my heart sank a bit when I saw the colonial-era Kandawgyi Hill Resort next door.. this is the kind of place I was expecting.

Staff was helpful to a point. I think it's just early days in Myanmar. Breakfast buffet was completely empty when we showed up, for instance, but they went out of their way to bring us food personally as soon as it was ready. They also took us into town in the vintage Mercedes in the parking lot (for a price). High marks for effort.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank hongbao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We had 2 rooms side by side in a bungalow. Very big setting, very big rooms.

The whole place is beautiful, so are the rooms. It was very cold at night, and the heating element seems not to work. The staff can with a small portable heating fan that was not adequate to cool even one quarter of the room. However, the blanket and comforter was very efficient in keeping us warm at night.

The bathroom is spacious, but cold. The walk in wardrobe is also within the big bathroom, and it makes it inconvenient if you are sharing with friends. As a couple staying together, it will be a nice feature.

Thee is a fire place in each room, but we are not sure if its ornamental or otherwise.

Was told that there is a heated pool that is open 24 hours. However, while there, the pool was icy cold, and we found out that the heater was not working. I suspect it was not turned on to save on electricity.

There is a pool table in the lobby area, and we had a good time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrangeWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo) hotels
1.4 mi away
Aureum Resort at Governor's House
Aureum Resort at Governor's Hous...
#6 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shwe Nann Htike
Hotel Shwe Nann Htike
#3 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
#7 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Orchid Hotel Nan Myaning
Orchid Hotel Nan Myaning
#1 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Jasmine Hotel
Royal Jasmine Hotel
#2 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
50 reviews
1.5 mi away
Maymyo Sa Khan Tha Hotel
Maymyo Sa Khan Tha Hotel
#8 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin

Address: 9 Nandar Rd. | Near Botanical Garden, Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo) 08, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Price Range: £68 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the beautiful botanical garden on the side of hill with individual private teak bungalows each with its own veranda. Heated swimming pool, pool room, cosy lounge with a bar and a great restaurant makes for a very relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing