We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful hotel in a beautiful town!”
Review of Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a wonderful hotel in a beautiful town!”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This hotel is quite new, and will look far more inviting as the trees grow, but in the mean time it is still very pretty. Our room was gorgeous! The staff are both friendly and helpful. The restaurant was also quite lovely for dinner. We had been committed to traditional food throughout our holiday, but we appreciated the break and having an evening dining with an English menu and quality western food, in a relaxing environment. The chef even came out to make sure we were happy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LISA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    62
    36
    10
    2
See reviews for
14
91
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin with the exception of one glaring problem. The accommodations consist of beautiful wooden bungalows in groups of two. They are spacious and quite luxurious by local standards. The only problem was the enormous but poorly designed bathrooms in which many of the surfaces are made of raw white stone with no sealant on it. Consequently the floors are very dirty with ground in filth. Bring a new pair of plastic sandals with you! The toilet is partially enclosed by a swinging hinged door that looks like it belongs in an old western saloon (the ok corral!) very strange...Also, the expensive modern glass shower enclosure was beginning to fall off the wall due to a faulty hinge. It is a shame that this otherwise lovely hotel has such a glaring deficit. The staff were helpful and pleasant and the breakfast just ok.

Room Tip: Closer to the main reception and restaurant is me convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting this hotel in the lovely ex-British hill station, Maymyo. I very much liked the hotel and I would have loved to give it an "excellent" rating as the staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were large and generally comfortable. However I have two reservations: it was very cold and there was no heating. Also the bathroom floor tiling was ingrained with dirt.
If the hotel would put these to right, it would indeed be a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suegrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow UK
Level Contributor
367 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Whilst it may not suit people who only ever want 'the best' (don't come to Myanmar) it is a brilliant hotel in a has-been town. Staff is lovely, the buildings and layout pleasant, good beds and bathrooms and a/c. The pool is icy, and has nowhere to sit around it really in the sun. The restaurant is a disappointment and pretentious, paying over $20 pp for one course plus glass of wine. Salmon dry, chicken greasy, seafood so-so. All cold including mashed potato and the chips - perhaps the Asian food is better. At least the manager listened to criticism, gave a discount, and promised to improve in the future. Obliged with provoding early breakfast for 7AM departures.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosolygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The rooms are a series of semi-detached bungalows in the grounds. The entrance is also a verandah with chairs. The rooms are well-arranged: a door from the bedroom leads to a combination of storage space and bathroom with bath and shower. The bedroom has a fireplace and desk and lots of space. There are efficient mosquito nets over the opening windows. The curtains are good at keeping out light.
The planted areas include lots of strawberry plants. The staff urged us to help ourselves but sadly none were ripe.
There is a small swimming pool - others reported that it was cold.
The service was friendly and good.

Room Tip: I suspect the only difference is distance from the main block and whoever is staying in the other ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

It's been our 4th visit to May Myo in as many years. After trying all other establishments in the area, we decided to give this hotel a chance. Must say we were not prepared for such a treat. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. For any request they immediately reacted quickly and efficiently, which was very admirable.
The rooms are very well appointed, beautifully decorated and well maintained. Two caveats still need attending to, as they are in the way of making this hotel the real gem it should be.
The first one being the bathroom tiling, which is a real mess. The floor tiling is made of some unfinished and unsealed marble, that has long gone given way to its past splendors, and is now stained and impossible to stand on, lest you put on slippers. Real shame.
The second problem is the cold. We were in May Myo in February, when the nights are cool. The room is big, and hard to heat. The air-con is only on cool, and had its warming mode disabled. The fireplace is beautiful, but not functional.
In short: change the bathroom floor tiles, and put some heat into this room, and you have the most efficiently-running, charming and well appointed hotel, not only in May Myo, but in all of the Mandalay region. and then will receive the 5th star it so deserves.
We love this hotel, and will be back in 2014 for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal in quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonatan_Glaubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The hotel looked a mix between entering Disneyland and a 1980' s resort. Was a bit confused with the decor. The staff were pleasant and consistent. It is quite far out of mandalay but the area was picturesque. We went to the restaurant (6 of us) . I don't think they were used to such volumes of customers at one time as the food took a while to come out. After that we opted to eat out. Overall ok stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo) hotels
1.5 mi away
Orchid Hotel Nan Myaning
Orchid Hotel Nan Myaning
#2 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Jasmine Hotel
Royal Jasmine Hotel
#1 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aureum Resort at Governor's House
Aureum Resort at Governor's Hous...
#4 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
#6 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maymyo
Hotel Maymyo
#5 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spring
Hotel Spring
#9 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin

Property: Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin
Address: 9 Nandar Rd. | Near Botanical Garden, Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo) 08, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the beautiful botanical garden on the side of hill with individual private teak bungalows each with its own veranda. Heated swimming pool, pool room, cosy lounge with a bar and a great restaurant makes for a very relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing