We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting experience, decent if overpriced restaurant”
Review of Buddha View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buddha View
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Interesting experience, decent if overpriced restaurant”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This Bang Bao hotel is well-appointed, with good beds and elegant facilities. The cocktails are interesting, the food elegant if overpriced. All in all, great value for money if you're looking to relax. The hotel is right down the road from some great dive shops, making it ideal if you want to spend your Ko Chang time underwater.

However, make sure that you want to stay in Bang Bao, because each of the locations on Ko Chang are a bit of their own experience. In particular, Bang Bao is a bit isolated and taxi drivers will charge you more to get there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerryDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    44
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
77
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2010

This should be the best stay on Koh Chang..! We stayed here for a week and it felt like we had been there for a month, because we were so relaxed afterwards. During the week we ate at other restaurants on Koh Chang as well, but we preferred Buddha View's restaurant at the end. Unless it's a cosy atmosphere at Buddha View, it's possible to do whatever you like, without bothering other people or other people bothering you. The restaurant is delicious, everyone who works there is extremely friendly and fun, rooms are clean and spacious, what else do you need?
We recommend Buddha View to everyone, you should have been there once (and we are already thinking about when we can go back there again..)!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

The rooms and restaurant are located towards the end of the bang bao pier. It has a cool restaurant looking out to sea with sun lounge style seats and low table/cushions along with standard style seating. The low style seats have holes for your legs to dangle down - sounds random but was fun! The food is very good, staff attentive and charming. We only stayed one night merely because of its location and it was noisy early in the morning. Well worth a visit but not the most comfortable stay we had on the island.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bennoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

The Buddha View is located in Bang Bao fishing village. The atmosphere was so relaxed I could have stayed there forever! Had to settle for six nights though. There are eight rooms in total, four with bathroom and shower. The rooms are basic but very nice - dark with wooden walls and floors, AC and fan. Breakfast is not included.

The restaurant is lovely, soft music, good food and a wonderful sea view.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The only minus was the noise coming from the kitchen in the mornings.

Since there is no beach close by I recommend renting a motorbike to get around. But having stayed at White Sands and Lonely Beach prior to Bang Bao I have to say that that Bang Bao was the better choice!

  • Liked — The atmospere, quiet
  • Disliked — Noisy in the mornings
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.3 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#7 of 73 in Ko Chang
290 reviews
7.1 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#22 of 73 in Ko Chang
175 reviews
5.4 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
6.0 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
5.1 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha View

Property: Buddha View
Address: 28 Moo 1 Bang Bao Pier, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely guesthouse with great in-house restaurant, beautifully set on the pier in the fisherman village of Bang Bao. Magnificent views and a unique atmosphere at an affordable price, luxury for all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Buddha View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing