We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating here at sunset is a must!”
Review of Buddha View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buddha View
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I didn't actually stay here but was reccomended to eat here by a friend. I wasn't let down! The food and view were equally amazing and needless to say every time I visit koh Chang I dine at buddha view.
Stunning!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luckycope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

A place with a lounge mode around it. Great, but a bit expensive. We got the barracuda and red curry, with was very tasty. The hole restaurant, was made out of teak tree and looked very cool and completed the very nice interior.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geo_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

A unique location and great refined
dining! A place to relax and enjoy great food and drinks.
Luxury at an affordable price...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janderycke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I've lived in Thailand for 6 years and The Buddha View is easily the best restaurant I have dined in. It's not really a place you'd stumble on. We only found it after the owner, Jan, saved our lives at sea!!! (but that has no bearing on the review...haha). It's located at the end of the pier in Bang Bao and offers stunning sunset views as the restaurant is open ended facing out to the bay.
The atmosphere is very relaxed. The chilled background music is at just the right volume where you can hear it clearly, but it wont drown out conversation. The staff were extremely friendly & attentive. The decor was eye catching and clean. There are the conventional tables & chairs, but we sat at the end of the pier where there are cushions on the floor, which is quite common in Thailand, but the floorboards have been removed to allow your legs to freely dangle above the water. It has a glass topped table, so you can looked down and see a variety of sea life swim by. Once the sun has set there are spotlights under the pier directed at ornate statues.
The menu has a good choice of western & Thai foods at reasonable prices. The staff spoke decent English and would try their best to accommodate any special requests. Our meals were brought out at the same time which is a VERY rare thing in Thailand! This is the first restaurant I've been in where I wasn't looking at my watch every minute waiting for the food. It's also the first restaurant where I didn't leave as soon as the bill was paid.
On our trip we'd planned to eat every meal in a different place, but after going to Buddha View we went back every night for the rest of the holiday :-D

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KennyKing7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janderycke, Owner at Buddha View, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So nice to hear, thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed at Buddha View for one night at the end of our stay in Thailand. It is a picturesque, charming place. The restaurant has a wonderful setting and the rooms are elegant with wood panelling and tiled bathroom. When we reached Bangkok ,I realised that I had left my mobile phone in the room. After an email, the phone was located and Jan arranged for it to be posted back to me in England at no cost to me (although the postage sosts nearly as much as one night's stay). What honesty and service! We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The food was very over-priced and we all found our meals tasteless and dull compared to all of the other restaurants we've eaten at on Ko Chang. Most of us didn't eat our meals; fish was very dry, pad thai was completely tasteless and cold, noodles were gloopy and the som tam tasted like it had no chilli in it whatsoever!! The spring rolls had a weird goo inside them which made them soggy as opposed to the usual crispy spring rolls the Thais make so well. It was such a disappointment as the location and decor are amazing. I defiitely won't be returning to this restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank vpat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This Bang Bao hotel is well-appointed, with good beds and elegant facilities. The cocktails are interesting, the food elegant if overpriced. All in all, great value for money if you're looking to relax. The hotel is right down the road from some great dive shops, making it ideal if you want to spend your Ko Chang time underwater.

However, make sure that you want to stay in Bang Bao, because each of the locations on Ko Chang are a bit of their own experience. In particular, Bang Bao is a bit isolated and taxi drivers will charge you more to get there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerryDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
4.4 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#33 of 73 in Ko Chang
107 reviews
7.1 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#23 of 73 in Ko Chang
190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rock Inn Bailan
Rock Inn Bailan
#32 of 73 in Ko Chang
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#3 of 73 in Ko Chang
332 reviews
7.2 mi away
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
#26 of 73 in Ko Chang
92 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kwaimaipar Orchid Resort Spa & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha View

Address: 28 Moo 1 Bang Bao Pier, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range: £16 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely guesthouse with great in-house restaurant, beautifully set on the pier in the fisherman village of Bang Bao. Magnificent views and a unique atmosphere at an affordable price, luxury for all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Buddha View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing