We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant !!”
Review of Buddha View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buddha View
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

came here to the restaurant with my thai friends, beautiful spot and we got the clear table over the water, basically ur legs hang down over the water and the table is clear so u can see the sea, very good food & good service, great for pics too, will go back next time we are back in koh chang, recommend to anyone

Room Tip: has a hotel and a great restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romepere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. Room was nice and clean. We had breakfast and dinner here every night and it was very good. A little more expensive than in other places but the is food delicious and the surroundings are beautiful. There is a nice beach about 20 min. on foot from the guesthouse with some restaurants . At the corner with the main street just go to the right. At that crossing is also a place for motorbike rental. They have new bikes for 300 TB a day. We booked a private transfer with Siam Hotels from Pattaya. Transfer time door to door is 5 hours without traffic delays.We payed 6000 TB for a return. We booked everything with e mail.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubadave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Found this place accident when visiting Bang Bao pier and had a really good meal. It's got great ambience and it was really an oasis of calm away from the rest of the town. I didn't even realise it was a hotel until researching it on tripadvisor. It's not cheap, but don't let that put you off. It's lovely.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Captain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A couple of us stayed here in May 2013 - we each had our own room, with a fan and bathroom. The hotel is on a pier at the end of the island. Excellent value for money, and such a unique experience. Although the restaurant is apparently the area's best, I'm afraid we didn't find it to be. It's fun dangling over the river while eating, but the food really isn't that good, apart from their house specialty of lobster soup which was delicious. However, there are lots of great seafood restaurants a few doors down, and some very interesting little shops on the pier as well. I would definitely stay here again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evie_wahini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and the owners were very helpful. The rooms are fairly basic but large and clean. There is good wifi. The restaurant is pretty cool because you can hang your legs over the sea while you eat. Nice views also. We would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

great hotel with friendly staff.

rooms is nice and big bathroom, restaurant is very nice and you can sit and eat with your feet dangling over the water.. very nice to spend a evening to drink and dine here! owners from Holland or Belgium.

Bed was a little hard as always in Thailand, and ofcourse no Pool as this hotell is situated on a pier :)

i can easy recomend anyone to stay here!

Room Tip: all rooms is equally good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Located on the BangBao pier, at the South/SW corner of the island, which is a nearly 45 min taxi/tuktuk ride from the ferry (we paid 200baht per person for the drive down). Although there is a 7-11 where the tuk-tuks drop off, the feel of the area was authentic (returning from the beach, we passed a large warthog roaming near the pier).

At the pier's entrance, you walk ~150m past a variety of shops and restaurants, and Buddha View is on the right. The property is well-designed aesthetically, with a feel between a well-loved hostel and a boutique hotel. Waking up or winding down a day in the restaurant area was effortlessly relaxing... there are these table where the flooring has been removed so that your legs dangle freely above the sea. For me, the location was a perfect mix of isolated yet with ammenities: during the day, we walked 20 min down the road to the beach, wiled away the day swimming and sipping and eating, then returned to choose from a range of restaurants (sushi, thai seafood, western), including the Buddha View itself, where we ate twice. It is important to realize that the property is located within the bay, so the view is more akin to a lake, as you dont get that starting-to-infinity feel of the open ocean.

The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The rooms are directly next to the restaurant, and I liked the experience of waking up to see the blue water between the bedroom's floorboards. One negative was thin walls between rooms, but with the right mindset, it almost (almost) adds to the experience. Aircon, fan and hotwater all worked perfectly.

Were I to return to Koh Chang, I might opt for a beachside cottage, if available. But I dont regret staying here, and took away from it an experience that is certainly more than just another place to sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshuamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
4.4 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#33 of 73 in Ko Chang
107 reviews
7.1 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#20 of 73 in Ko Chang
183 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rock Inn Bailan
Rock Inn Bailan
#34 of 73 in Ko Chang
30 reviews
7.2 mi away
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
#26 of 73 in Ko Chang
91 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
#13 of 73 in Ko Chang
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha View

Address: 28 Moo 1 Bang Bao Pier, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range: £13 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely guesthouse with great in-house restaurant, beautifully set on the pier in the fisherman village of Bang Bao. Magnificent views and a unique atmosphere at an affordable price, luxury for all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Buddha View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing