We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
192
23
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
192
23
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laid back the main road beer soft drinks deck overlooking the river honesty fridge dry bags communal fridge free canoes minutes walk away covered deck nearby village tea and coffee enjoyable stay palm trees beautiful beach mam ian
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

First discovered this little piece of paradise via Ian's website and was delighted that Ian could accommodate me at the beginning of November for a few nights. From the outset he provided detailed information on how to get to Koh Chang from Bangkok and has an encyclopedic knowledge of Koh Chang and the neighbouring islands.

After a very long journey I arrived quite late on a Thursday night. Crossing the little winding "bridge" that leads to the property I fell in love! Nestled among some mangroves and directly on the river was the magical Baan Rim Nam.

The entire property sits on stilts and although the budget room does not overlook the river it was spotlessly clean, had a very comfortable bed and a quirky shower room! If you are looking to get away from it all, as I was, then this is the spot!

Ian offers free use to his guests of kayaks / sea canoes so it was easy to paddle across the river to a couple of restaurants or, if you are not up to it, as I wasn’t when I first arrived, he called one of the restaurants across the river and they came to collect me in their canoe and then, after dinner took me back across the river. There is a communal outside fridge stocked with water, soft drinks and beers which guests can help themselves to and upon leaving empties outside their room, can pay for on departure. Although not proclaiming to offer much in the way of breakfast – Ian makes a serious cup of coffee!

The beach is a short trip away by canoe or via a short walk and the village of Klong Proa, which has some lovely restaurants, a coffee shop and of course a 7-Eleven and a Tesco Express, is about a 20 minute walk.

If you are really looking for something a little bit special yet down to earth in a tranquil setting, I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this little gem.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandee91607
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Hi Sandee91607. I remember when you arrived, seemed like you had had a bit of a tough journey to get here. So good to know that you found our place the ideal place to relax.

I cant take much of the credit for the coffee, it will have been Pui, our maid, keeping you supplied with that in the morning. :-) For any coffee connoisseurs reading, it's Espresso roast Arabica beans from the north of Thailand that we get sent down to Koh Chang. Strong, but smooth and with a rather nice aroma.

Hope you make it to this part of Thailand in the future.

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

What can say....

This is one of those simple accommodations that you come across from time to time that makes all the bad experiences, when travelling, all worth while.

Owned by Ian (from the UK) and his partner Nam the accommodation consists of 5 rooms built in stilts over a river. The accommodation is built on a peninsula of land river on one side, beach on the other.

The rooms are basic but very clean, and are kept clean on a daily basis, there are lots of sitting out areas on the river, including a big sun deck, where you can watch the world go by.

Ian has kayaks/canoes for free use, paddling along the river or best of all around to the beach for breakfast and then then back, the only way to arrive for brekkie.

Baan Rim Nam serves a basic breakfast toast etc, but has great coffee, in comparison to most of the rest of Thailand!

It also has a 24 hour bar, well a fridge that you help yourself too!

There are a number of restaurants in walking distance and 2 across the river who will send a boat for you (and return you) in the evening great experience.

This place is fantastic nothing like your standard corporate hotel, where you go and you can be anywhere in the world, this is a laid back joy, but book early as it is very popular with return guests and only has 5 rooms.

Running ius great from here as the road is reasonably quite for 1k (then gets busy) but you can run along the beach in an evening as the sunsets!

Room tip: If you are going to Koh Chang, book this place :-)
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_is_homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Thanks Ian. We have even had a few people walk in, see the '24 Hour Bar' sign and ask where it was . . . . they never know what to say when I point to the adjacent fridge. :-)

As you rightly say, our place is nothing like a corporate hotel, which for many people who stay who either travel on business a lot or just want to get away from a generic concrete block, is part of the attraction of staying here.

And just want to say a big thanks to yourself and everyone who has reviewed Baan Rim Nam here in the past year on Tripadvisor as this has earned us a spot in the Top 25 B&B's in Thailand. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This place is run by a thai lady Mam, and an english guy Ian. The website that Ian runs is a great resource for anyone needing info on Koh Chang. The guest accommodation is great with aircon and 4 of the rooms have river views. They keep some Kayaks for free use by the guests to go up stream to see stuff or downstream to the beaches or perhaps just across the river to one of the restaurants. You can rent a scooter there which gives you easy access to the main road (20 minutes walk) where the restaurants, ATMs and bars are located away from the beach.
the decor in the rooms at Baan Rim Nam has flair and the rooms are clean and comfortable.
They offer some breakfast items so you dont need to go straight out in the morning - these include orange juice, tea, coffee (real coffee!), toast and jam amongst others.
There is a fridge with water soft drinks and beer too that you PAYG.
Great friendly location with a couple of amazing decks on stilts out over the water fror watching the world go by. Excellent - Thanks Ian and Mam.

Room tip: The cheapest room is at the back and is a great room but has no river view. The family room opens out onto a deck over the river but is obviously more expensive. the other 3 rooms are river fronted too but cost more than the back room and less than the family room.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review our guesthouse and also good that you enjoyed ( and reviewed on TA ) your experiences at Kati Culinary and Baan Kwan Chang elephant camps which I always recommend to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We fell in love with Koh Chang. The people are really friendly, it's a beautiful island (do discover it by motorbike) Baan Rim Nam is absolutely fabulous and their recommendation of the Tiger Hut Restaurant on the beach capped off a wonderful 5 days. Ian is the perfect host. He was full of advice/help from the day we made our booking 8 months out, and it was inspiring/entertaining talking with him. Baan Rim Nam is peaceful, beautiful, spotlessly clean and a must to return to.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann255118C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Manager at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Thanks Ann. I've never been called entertaining & inspiring before :-)

Good to hear you enjoyed your time here and you found my emails and guidance helpful when planning your trip and once you were here on the ground.

No doubt we will see you again on Koh Chang in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We had our 2nd visit to Baan Rim Nam & this time stayed for 5 nights in the family room.
Yet again they us feel very welcome. The family room is actually 2 aircon rooms with a shared bathroom, ideal for us as a family of 3. The rooms are spacious and clean & although there is no restaurant Ian will do coffee & toast in the mornings. There is also a help yourself fridge containing water, soft drings, beer & alcopops - just leave your empties outside your room & Ian will add them to your bill.
The location is superb; built over the river which is lovely to swim in at high tide. Lie in bed & listen to the clicking crabs scurrying around in the mangroves.
Plenty of restaurants either across the river or nearby on the beach (Tiger Huts do nice food) and in Klong Prao village. Since we last stayed most of the road to BRN has been paved - only a short section is dirt track and easy to navigate on scooters.
If you want a relaxing break in a superb location with friendly hosts then stay here.
We will definately be returning in a few years time.

Room tip: Allrooms look out towards the river except one.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shitokai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Hi Shitokai

Thanks for the review but more importantly thanks for coming back to stay with us again and dragging your daughter along too. We're getting more repeat visitors each year, so we must be doing something right.

Very nice river photos. Thanks for sharing your holiday snaps with everyone.

Re: your tip about the rooms - yep, just our cheapest room that doesn't have any real view. But it's fine for people who just need a cheap aircon ensuite room.

See you guys again in a couple of years or so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews