We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baan Rim Nam
Nearby Hotels
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang(Ko Chang)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AWA Resort(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
174
22
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
22
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiger hutguest houseon stiltsshort paddleshort walklaid backthe main roaddeck areafree kayaksriverside settingcanoe ridehonesty fridgehis partnerprivate transferrooms are basiccost bahtenjoy your stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was advised by a friend to stay here and boy am I glad we did. Four of us went and all four went " wow " the owner , Ian, picked us up from the ferry port and drove us to his charming guest house on this lovely island. Ian is a really cool laid back guy, staying at his guest house you understand why, what a perfect place to hang out, not flash, but oh so relaxing. Beautiful place, sitting on the deck, or your very comfortable room and watching the tidal river drift by puts one into chilled out mood very quickly. The restaurants on the other side of the river come over in their boat and take you to their restaurant, nice way to start a very nice evening meal. This guest house is so peaceful and really relaxing that one could be selfish and not tell anyone about it, but , sharing the good news is part of a travelers responsibility . This guest house with its river facing deck and rooms is one of the best places we have discovered, so glad we did, thanks Ian , know this review is a little late in writing , but, am still in chilled out mood from our wonderful holiday, thank you. Brian.

Room Tip: If a few of you go take all the front rooms, it becomes your very own resort. So cool.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Foodie4sureVientiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thanks Brian - better late than never. :-)

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on our guesthouse with the world. Hope you make it back here someday - when you feel the need to swap the Mekhong river for the ocean. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed in October 13 but the pleasant memories are still fresh as ever. This maybe off the beaten track but I like that and all other seekers of something a bit special won't be disappointed. Ian meet us at the ferry terminal which does save in getting from the main road with luggage. We had booked the entire 3 rooms ( there is an adjacent 2 rooms ) for the 4 of us. The restaurant across the estuary sent a boat across to pick us up for dinner it could not of been a better start to a great stay. .

Room Tip: I would get a group together and book the whole place. No difference in the rooms quiet so quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wazza1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thanks 'Wazza' - for coming down and staying with us. Very nice to meet you and your friends and good to hear you enjoyed your stay. I'm sure we'll meet again either on Koh Chang or one day I'll try to call into your place.

All the best, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just enjoyed 4 nights at Baan Rim Nam. It was exactly what we were hoping for. It provided a peaceful environment overlooking the river estuary. It was relaxing and tranquil but, at the same time, it was close to good food and a wide range of activities were easily accessible. The family suite was air-conditioned, clean, spacious and comfortable. The expansive outside deck areas, overlooking the river, were fantastic. We enjoyed breakfast there a couple of mornings and particularly loved having a beer there after an active day. The beach was just a few minutes walk and the village no more than 20 minutes walk. This village provided a range of restaurants and shops. We enjoyed having dinner at the restaurants across the river and the boat pick ups that Ian organised. Ian recommended and organised activities making everything so simple. We loved paddling on the kayaks and catching some little waves at the river mouth. The walk to the waterfall is also recommended. Overall, a great spot - thank you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank R_J_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi 'R_J_11' Thanks for taking the time to review our guesthouse. good to hear you enjoyed your stay at Baan Rim Nam and on Koh Chang in general. Hope you make it back here one day.

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

If you are looking for the real Thai experience and loathe Ibiza style holidays - this is the place for you. A tranquil jungle retreat on a beautiful river that is clean enough to bathe in further upstream. The beach is just around the corner, too. An elephant farm and a gigantic waterfall (in which you can swim) are also walking distance from Baan Rim Naam. The owner's attention to detail makes your stay easy and pleasant - e. g. free kayaks (most hotels charge THB 150 an hour!), a communal fridge, a library and free WIFI. And I believe that Ian serves the best coffee on Ko Chang: local 100% Arabica espresso - sipping it in the morning on the deck overlooking the river and mountains is total bliss.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liilaowadii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks Liiloawadii.

It's a good time of year to swim in the river & waterfall - not always possible for people visiting in High Season.

I don't want to get anyone's expectations up about the coffee. Don't expect a mocha orange frappuchino or anything like that.
Just a mug of good, strong coffee. Enough to wake you up in the morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you're looking for a quite place thats a little off the beaten path, Baan Rim Nam is it. A nice river view right outside your room with free kayaks to go to the nearby restaurants or catch the sunset at the end of the river. The restaurants across the river also happen to be delicious!

Booking with Ian was simple and straight forward. Although he wasn't there during our stay, Mam was, and she was super helpful and friendly!

I would suggest renting a motorbike because it is a little bit of a walk from the main road. It's well worth the little drive in!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi Eva. Sorry I was away when you stayed. But good to hear that Mam took care of you well and you enjoyed your stay at Baan Rim Nam.

Best regards

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews