We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewere else or watch the monkey's”
Review of Bai Lan Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bai Lan Bay Resort
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed 5 May 2013

After reading tripadvisor we expected a nice bungalow. We were very wrong. We were shown to our room down what can only be described as long, dark dangerous steps to our lodge which had rotten wooden stairs which were infested by large red ants.

After our long trip we went to the restaurant for refreshments & food to be told we had to hurry as they shut at 9pm, therefore mid meal we were shown our bill & told to pay! No apologies, simply told this was how it was before they disappeared. It is too far to walk to any local bars as the roads are unlit, dark & very steep, so when we asked if they knew a taxi number, they said no & we either walk or go back to our room.

The a/c was working quite well, but the room was not well maintained nor decorated. While the restaurant offered real good affordable food, we considered the staff quite rude. We had to pay the bill while we just started the main course. The other day they forgot to serve us breakfast. Also, when we needed a taxi to catch our voat trip back to the mainland, they did not offered any help and we missed the boat.

As the hotel is located 1km south off the town, you have to walk a steep dark road. Some peope would like tomtake a taxi for this journey.

Our friends were attacked by monkeys at this resort. They were very affraid and were resqued by another guest. The staff did not help nor took the attack serious. When they desised to change hotel, the did not receive a refund: very rude.

We would not recommend this hotel, they lack manners, location is poor for any other restaurants & the beach is not a stones throw away, the only access is an area full of rocks where you cannot swim unless you manage to wade out to much deeper waters at your own peril. Only the food is ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were attacked by a pack of pack of macaque moneys while walking to our hut. Totally unprovoked, the monkeys cornered us on an elevated walk way with no fear at all. We ran but I fell and scrapped both arms and one leg and required 6 days of hospital attention. The staff offered sling shots for protection but we left and moved to another resort within a mile south and saw no monkeys there.
The resort would not refund our 4 remaining nights and said it was the monkeys fault. I would suggest anyone considering staying here to read the diseases these monkeys carry and the risks associated with a bite which is a real possibility at this resort.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Harpswellboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

After arriving at 7pm, we were shown to our room down what can only be described as long, dark dangerous steps to our lodge which had rotten wooden stairs which were infested by large red ants. The room was old, damp & had stained sheets and a bathroom full of critters including a scorpion lurking near the bed.... Our A/C wasn't working properly so we asked for help to only be laughed at & the girl simply walked away, leaving us to work it out for ourselves.

After our long trip we went to the restaurant for refreshments & food to be told we had to hurry as they shut at 9pm, therefore mid meal we were shown our bill & told to pay! No apologies, simply told this was how it was before they disappeared. It is too far to walk to any local bars as the roads are unlit, dark & very steep, so when we asked if they knew a taxi number, they said no & we either walk or go back to our room.

Day 2 we decided to go for a stroll, to find a large monkey at the bottom of the stairs which was spotted at the last minute, therefore pounced towards us & continued to snarl & show its large teeth. After half an hour, upon thinking it had safely gone elsewhere, I walked down the steps to then find it leapt out of the bushes and proceeded to chase my partner up the stairs, viciously screeching & cornered her on the balcony whilst snarling its large fangs at her.

I ran for help to find a fellow holidaymaker who came with a knife to help scare the monkey away, staff merely sloped down & said he probably just wanted a banana.....This monkey was NOT after food, it was angry & only disappeared after more people arrived. Staff seemed to be unconcerned & laughed about this incident when asked if it happened often, we have since found out it is common, but the staff don't seem to care.

We decided to check out for our own safety, and asked them to refund our additional night booked, after long discussions we agreed half way just to get out of the place! Upon leaving, we saw another fellow worker throwing out waste to lure more monkeys to the hotel.....Utter madness after how dangerous these WILD animals are after what had happened merely an hour ago!

I would seriously not recommend this hotel, they lack manners, location is poor for any other restaurants & the beach is not a stones throw away, the only access is an area full of rocks where you cannot swim unless you manage to wade out to much deeper waters at your own peril.

Bad management, scruffy rooms & nature is well and truly the boss here! Do not go if you want a carefree holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CharlotteT385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our first 2 nights in Ko Chang and absolutely loved it. The location is idyllic, surrounded by jungle and with a quiet beach nearby. The resort is around 1km away from Lonely Beach which is more lively and great for a night out. We spent alot of our time here, and getting there and back wasn't a problem. The food was great, staff helpful and the view from the restaurant was beautiful. The huts are very basic, but perfectly liveable. I would recommend this resort to anybody who wants to escape from reality for a few days, in a scenic location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

no happy owner, no homemade coffee, just a list of incredibly impolite encounters with a manager who did her best to be unbelievably impolite to my wife son and I. Ants everywhere. Foam bed. Gaps in the walls and doors. No customer service, actually anti-service. No excuses for the service we were not given and no reason for it either. We were mainly in our room, on the beach, or elsewhere, but lo and behold if we dared to ask for anything, like towels, or homemade coffee, or if our son touched her dog!! Oh yeah and their tour prices are 25% higher than Lonely Beach just 10 minutes away. Very wierdly we were given free rice on our final night as we were leaving before breakfast - too little too late however.
AVOID!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ozkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Oh my, this is a find!

There's not much to say wrong about this place although I'll add some constructive points in a moment. So much is fabulous. The location is idyllic, out of Lonely Beach resort. We took a jungle treehouse which still had gorgeous sea views. The restaurant was great value and the staff were generally just wonderful.

I came here to finish writing my book and would have happily stayed longer but it felt a bit selfish of me for my gf. It's quite isolated and quiet. It's very much couples too (straight and gay). The sea is wondrous although you do have to step on some stones to get out to the swim but everyone we saw did this and so I can't understand the reviewer who said you can't swim here: wtf!! Right next to the huts, like 20 metres, is a long sandy beach. There's no problem using that beach at all - we did it all the time. And we even spoke nicely to some staff further down and wangled free kayaking. We took one out to an island for best part of a day. Don't expect this to continue after this review ;)

OK so what could be improved? Well I guess wi-fi though it's sort of cute they don't have it. It's coming any day now (was due when we were there). The menu is very very long and mainly Thai. They could possibly trim it and bung a few more western dishes in just to break it up, but see below for where to go. The restaurant is really good and superb value. The sweet and sour fried rice at 60baht is a steal. OK if I was being really picky proper coffee would be a nice touch. That's about it really. Nothing else except enjoy it. It's such a gorgeous place, a real find, and the charm is the fact it's so unspoilt with such genuinely lovely people running it.

If you want a break from the cheap superb food Magic Garden in Lonely Beach does good food, although their wifi is worse than neighbouring cafes (it's intermittent). Check out their Hawaian burger (120baht with fries), coconut shake (gorgeous) and superb banana and chicken curry (80baht though bizarrely rice is an extra 30baht). Best food in Lonely Beach and a lovely relaxing vibe.

Finally watch out for the tour operator at "7 Days" just down from Magic Garden. The man's a nasty piece of work. Took money from us for return to Bangkok then reneged on it, and when we asked what was going on he proceeded to follow us on his moped shouting 'f you'. The most unpleasant man and experience in Thailand. Avoid.

Let's not end on a bad note though. Bai Lan Bay Resort is the most wonderful place - delightful setting and people. It's a gem of a place. Sigh. In some ways I wish I was still there ... maybe I will go back to put the finishing touches to my book :)

Room Tip: Air Con might be worth considering. The fan works but this is tropical heat. Don't just rush fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RicardoHos1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

After moving from White sands beach and a hotel with more mod cons but lacking in smiles, we were perfectly happy to do without the fridge or tv in exchange for the lovely ladies here, who cooked the most delicious food at street prices. The place has character and my boys loved watching monkeys play on the telephone wires opposite and finding a very large hermit crab crawling along the balcony one night. It really felt as if we were holidaying in the jungle although civilization is just 10 minutes down the road in the hippy resort of Lonely Beach and if you want to watch a film, why not go to The Kitchen, 3 films a night while you enjoy their cuisine.
They were quite happy for us to sleep 3 to a room and even discounted the price due to their internet not working. 6 or 7 different choices for breakfast -rice soup will fill you for the day!
I'd definitely return here if I were to visit Koh Chang again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tattoodaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.0 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#33 of 73 in Ko Chang
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#20 of 73 in Ko Chang
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
#27 of 73 in Ko Chang
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buddha View
Buddha View
#17 of 73 in Ko Chang
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
#26 of 73 in Ko Chang
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Top Resort
Top Resort
#23 of 73 in Ko Chang
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bai Lan Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bai Lan Bay Resort

Address: Ko Chang, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Bai Lan Bay Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing