We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The weirdest place on Koh Chang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort
Ranked #88 of 106 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The weirdest place on Koh Chang”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

First, let me clearly state that I did not stay there. I just paid an entrance fee and then toured the grounds on my scooter, paid a visit to the lobby, and snooped around as much as I could without being rude.
Apparantly a fleet of some kind was anchored in this large natural lagoon. There are old wooden hulks from several small ships scattered around...I'm guessing an abandoned fishing boat of some kind.
Someone got the bright idea of turning this amazing little natural jewel into a resort, and incorporating the old wrecks into a theme. This was done by building new structures over the old ships, and additionaly by building fake ships from the bottom up. Thus guests get a unique experience and plenty of space from each other. So far so good.
But then, a hideous 'cruise ship' hotel facility was built on the grounds as well. It will never float away unfortunately, and the metal skin is mouldering, skylights yellowing, and it looks generally in a state of decay.
What was actually a pretty cool idea is foundering for lack of vision, maintainence, funding perhaps, and, well, just a cohesive plan.
When I was there it felt like a ghost resort as the place seemed empty. From other reviews it is apparant that it's either packed with groups, or abandoned.
It's at the very end of the road, and has a one of the best beaches on Koh Chang all to itself. I can truly say I have never seen anything like it. I'd love to stay there just to have that perfect beach to myself and maybe figure out where all those old shipwrecks came from, but I don't think I could convince my family to stay there.

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank dacky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    4
    10
    16
See reviews for
10
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Service is inexistant, there is no maintenance of the property (old rooms,broken chairs, etc), people not helpful and you have to chase to get your room cleaned.
This is pitu because the beach is beautiful but the whole experience was a nightmare.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Chang hotels

Phnom Penh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I am an expat living and working in Cambodia and I travel with my family to beach resorts for holiday 2 times per year. this is our second time to Koh Chang and we thought we would try a different place and location on the island. Most places we choose live up to their billing mostly, therefore i have never given a review as what i have to say is already said. But this time it is different.

I will begin with the fact that the private beach is very good especially for families even with the fact that they have very little beach chairs and have a towel nazi at the bar. For a place that promotes itself as an upper level resort it is woeful in service, food, amenities, and furnishings. I am still here for the New Year as other locations are booked but would move in a heart beat.

We are staying in the Seaside Villas. You would expect a villa to be top notch but that is not the case. The worst situation is that the beds are rock hard. These are the types of mattresses you buy for $40 in Southeast asia. The television has only Thai language stations and one English language station that is an Russian news propaganda operation (RT). Cable is cheap in SE Asia and having a variety of stations is not difficult or expensive especially for a resort of this billing and price. The living room has cheap SE asian wicker furniture. The second level deck chairs are nice as are the bathroom fixtures.

The food (especially breakfast) and menu are terrible. Because it is on the south end of the island it is quite isolated so you have to work hard to get better food. The cleaning crew do very little cleaning as the counters and cabinets are dust covered even after we have been here for 3 days. The aircons are old but functional. If you request assistance from the front desk or housekeeping most of the time they will not show.

What keeps the Grand Lagoona from getting a terrible rating from me is the great beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latvia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Hotel where you feel as in movie!

All hotel buildings are separately from each other and buildings are like big boats.
Hotel territory is very green as park. Non-hotel quests could come to this park with extra fee.

I bet hotel service soon will be very good as hotel have change manager (and he is very good)

+ hotel room are wide space
+ very beautiful nature, private beach, palms
+ all hotel quest drive with bicycle around territory - to room, to breakfast, to beach and it`s really cool.

- I would prefer a bit more richer breakfast

This hotel I would recommend for client who would like to enjoy calmness, cause hotel are located a bit far away from all activities. But if you like calmness, then it`s prefect place!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindawelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Nice hotel next to nice beach and good swimming (not to many rocks like other places in Ko Chang). The boat rooms were quite a novelty. The hotel also provide complimentary canoes which were nice but few in number for the hotel size and some were in poor condition.

The downside is that the hotekl is not served by Songthaws and it cost about 700 Baht in taxi fare to go out to a local village for an evening

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_C_Exmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The overall look of this resort is really lovely: a wide stretch of beach, some accommodation on boats in the lagoon (but the majority in a huge 7 storey cruise ship not shown on the pictures). We enjoyed our first 4 hrs here. And then the music started ... both the bar (11 am to whenever they feel like it) and the restaurant (6 pm until 12 pm) pump out Russian pop music at high volume, so high that it can be heard all over the resort. It actualy prompted us to find another hotel (the wonderful 'Amber Sands', on the other side of the island). Our other problem was the breakfast which was buffet style and adapted to the largely Russian clientele. I really don't need uninspiring slided meat floating in brine when I come to Thailand.

Room Tip: As far away from the bar and restaurant as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankaplanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francescas, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

This resort is really nice with a lot of vegetation.

At our arrival we were offered a welcome drink and they upgraded our room to a bungalow by the canals.
The bungalows are very nice.
I guess they did this because the Thais (from Bangkok) enjoy more being on the boats; that are cheaper.

This resort is cut out from the rest of the island and you will need a scooter to join BangBao by the road (3kms).

The service is really nice. The room was made every day and the sheets changed once every two days.
The clients are mostly Thais and they often arrive in big groups for 2 or 3days, during the week end.

The restaurant can be excellent (when there is no group and the restaurant is not overcrowded) and is located on the private beach.

During the week we were almost alone in this huge resort and had the restaurant and the singers for ourselves: it seems that Europeans don't go there so much, and it is a pity because it is really worth it.

The beach is nice and most of the time desert. It is cleaned everyday.

The management and organistation was not always great , but people are so nice that you forget about it.


We initially planned to stay 3 days and eventually we spent there almost two weeks.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank judvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.3 mi away
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
3.2 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#33 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Chang Boat Chalet
Koh Chang Boat Chalet
#79 of 114 in Ko Chang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bangbao Beach Resort
Bangbao Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Chang Tai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Klong Kloi Cottage
Klong Kloi Cottage
#12 of 114 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
#24 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort

Property: Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort
Address: 58 Moo 1 | Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang 23120, Thailand (Formerly Koh Chang Grand Lagoona)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Sawasdee, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing