We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned - Awful apart from the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort
Ranked #93 of 115 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Awful stay, would not recommend. The staff were rude, unfriendly and very unhelpful. The food was very un-Thai and incredibly average. The hotel is ageing badly, my room was noisy, the shower only worked on cold and there was an old half drunken coke can in the fridge. I checked out after one night as could not bare to stay another, I said this at reception and wasn't even asked why. Then the concierge then tried to rip me off in a taxi to leave by trying to charge double what I had paid to come all the way from the airport.
Unfortunately I booked through agoda.com for four nights so I was unable to get a refund because I had not officially complained to the hotel.
The beach is beautiful and very isolated but the hotel and staff are terrible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMKiwi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

The ONLY thing this property has on its side is the location, however that in itself at the most expensive time of the year (Christmas/New Year) goes against the location - taxi's to and from are expensive!
No-one spoke any English, everything was falling apart in out room ie the shower fell off the wall, the sink was coming away at the wall, the windows wouldn't open, the cable TV and the tea and coffee making facilities as advertised was non-existent, we had a group of inebriated people trying to get into our room at 4.30am, the food was expensive and awful, we weren't able to put drinks at the bar on our bill, the list goes on!
Each time we were in Reception other guests were also making complaints. There doesn't seem to be any maintenance occurring - what we complained about in the beginning, another guest was complaining about 6 days later.

Sad because the location is nothing short of spectacular.

Room Tip: Unsure if there would be any room better than another!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The good thing upfront: The beach was stunningly beautiful and very quiet. So, if you are looking for a peaceful and quite vacation and you can live with the fact that the hotel doesn't offer much - you are at the right place.

However, that was pretty much about it.

We booked the hotel in agoda.com, 4 month before we went to Thailand. We were convinced that all the negative comments here wouldn't apply for us because we (Married couple + 18 Year old daughter) are looking for a peaceful beach vacation away from the typical tourism crowd.

We found the hotel quickly, even thought we have no experience in Thailand, we did have no problems organizing the transition and transportation to the hotel. But then problems started. We booked a extra bed (and paid for it in advance) for our daughter. But the receptionist did not wanted to know anything about this and said we would have to pay extra.

Refusing this, the receptionist promised a bed - which turned out to be a old mattress put on the floor. Enraged by the thought that our daughter would need to sleep on that "thing" for two weeks, we discussed with the receptionist again who finally provided us a real bed afterwards...a rusty old one - but a bed which we accepted.

The location is somewhat nice - if you like it peaceful (which we do). The hotel looks like it used to be nice, but no one seems to maintain it and it looks therefore aged. The hotel offers only little to buy and even things on the hotel restaurant's menu are often not available. Hence, we needed to go quite often to the next fishing village to stock up some of our things. Since there is no other way of transportation, we needed to pay every time 600 THB for the "taxi".

Overall, the service was nice but not very helping. Starting from the fact that the bills (when you bought something in the hotel restaurant, shop and bar) rarely matched the actual value bought. Over to the the lack of transportation and support in finding some.

In addition, every time we asked for help, they turned up with almost double of the prices we found outside (they seriously wanted 1.000 THB for transportation to the island peer which is about a 15 minute trip)

Fazit: Nice beach - but the hotel is not to recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We got scammed into this hotel by the small office where the ferry leave's. They said great hotel "best on koh chang" after they signed us up to the horror hotel they even want tips. No one in the hotel speaks English. Only saw drunk eastern Europeans running around yelling. Food was terrible and expensive. And your stuck away from everyone else on the island. The taxi to get away was 450 bhat... cause they didnt go up there. The service was poor and the rooms were full of insects. We left after one night after booking for 3 by the scam travel office at the ferry. We asked our money back but that didn't happen. We had the most expensive rooms 4500 bhat per night for a dirt hole. AVOID!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poetjeuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I do believe this was a luxury resort 10 years ago but with next to no maintenence it has sadly fallen apart. We actually didnt stay here but payed for a walk around the place wich took 40 minutes and didnt see anything open or any people staying here. Too scared to look inside the big ship they have as cabins.The pool was empty and the staff flead at the site of us.Its worth a look just to see how not to run a resort.

Room Tip: worth to have a look but dont stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Heath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I am still in shock after 3 weeks as to how miserable my experience at this hotel was. We booked it online, and had no idea we were booking an ALL-INCLUSIVE resort that's totally removed from the rest of the island, and extremely inconvenient to the other beaches. We arrived after a long day of travel and were told our room wasn't ready - before they even asked us our names!! The "ship" our room was in was totally disgusting, neglected and straight out of a horror film. I have no idea how this place is still open. They did have a humorous "Competency Certificate" hanging up in the lobby which my friend and I took photos of for comic relief. But nothing else was funny about the Grand Lagoona. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here! Period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank EmSok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Rooms are expensive, but very old. Our room was dirty and smelly, the airconditioning was old, moister and smelly, there was no sign of luxury at all. And we had the luxurious boat suite. An old rag.
People were very unfriendly, food was lousy, there was no service at all. The private beach was dirty, empty bottles everywhere.
We wanted to leave as soon as possible. It was a very nasty experience. Please, don't ever go there!
All other european people we spoke had the same experience and were hoping to leave there as fast as they could. Once, there even was a strike of unhappy hotelguests...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SVM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0 mi away
Kwaimaipar Orchid Resort Spa & Wellness
0 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
0 mi away
The Spa Resort Koh Chang
The Spa Resort Koh Chang
#1 of 3 in Ko Chang Tai
278 reviews
0 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort

Address: 58 Moo 1 | Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang 23120, Thailand (Formerly Koh Chang Grand Lagoona)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Hotel Class:3 star — Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing