We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined family vacation, with family from overseas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kooncharaburi Resort Spa & Sailing Club
Ranked #73 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We arrived with our 3 children and visting family from overseas for a 6 day vacation by the beach. After a gruelling 5 hour drive from Bangkok we were anxious to get into full vacation mode.
Once we were given our rooms, we proceeded to the restaurant for our first "real" meal of the day.
We were given an extensive menu and made our choices.
When the waitress returned to take our orders, we were advised that EVERYTHING we had choosen was "not available today". We were told that the chef could only make about five or six thing on the menu. Not even basics like Pad Thai, Satay, or Massaman curry and No western food at all!!!
We ordered drinks from the bar and we were told the only things available,was beer and some really bad wine, all of the other bottles were empty and only there for decoration.
We had to get back into our car with three very tiered children and drive 6km to another resort where the kitchen was open, to get some dinner.

Our night was interrupted by a noisy AC and broken toilet !!

The breaking point happened during our return visit to the restaurant the next morning, there was a buffet style presentation, ALL of the food in the 'warming trays' were COLD.
When we asked for cold milk for our daughter's breakfast, we were told it was not available, maybe tomorrow, " Give her cream !"

Our sons came back from the pool complaining that the water and tiles were "slimy".
A walk along the" beach" revealed it to be littered with garbage, plastic bags, glass etc.

At that point we joined a group of other guests already at the reception desk to demand a cancellation and refund.
We litterally had to argue and INSIST that the paperwork be completed before our departure.

They have ruined our much needed family vacation : ((

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kikilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

Do not waste your precious vacation time or money on this terrible place.
* 6 page menu at the restaurant, not 6 items available.
* *The beach is littered with garbage, glass and other revolting things.
* The pool water is green & slimy.
* Not even milk for the children, breakfast buffet is served cold, even pre-fried eggs are cold.
* Doors do not lock properly.
* No water pressure in the shower .
* Sailing club ?? - NO BOATS !!

Room Tip: Select any other hotel in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boppy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at this resort over Christmas and should have been here for 11 days but very quickly changed our booking to only 4 days! The hotel is lovely and the staff couldnt be any nicer but unfortunately its just too quiet!! There's nothing like getting away from it all but this is in a leauge of its own!!!! For the first two days we were the only guests in the entire hotel. The selection of food and drink available was extremely limited, there were about 5 cans of soft drinks in the fridge in the bar area and other than water or beer that was pretty much all...apart from several empty bottles on the shelf at the bar. The 'gym' consisted of an exercise bike and a weights bench. The beach area was usually quite windy and was very small also the water was so shallow that you were still only knee deep after going a long way from the shore; not sure what qualifies the 'sailing' part in the resorts title but there was not a boat or any other sailing vessel in sight....other than the kayaks that were free to use. Breakfast was a guessing game on a daily basis of see whether there was anything set up at the buffet area or if they just presented you with a plate of (usually freezing cold) food....and speaking of the food it was quite expensive in comparrison to anywhere else on the island and the portions were very small. Only one of the three computers available were actually working and on the tv in the room it was only chinese channels available. The entire hotel is far too remote,quiet and for what you get for your money way too overpriced!!!! If you are going to stay here do yourselves a favour and hire biikes or a car for the day so that you can escape the ghost hotel and go and find people!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The resort is a bit isolated however the surrounding nature is very beautiful.
The downside is the hotel management. They have no ambition and are not capable to provide a decent basic service at all!
The breakfast is dog food.
We negotiated a price of 3000 bath per room per night but this was not good value for money (high season). It is a big resort but there were only 10 guests in total and everybody was determined to leave because the lack of service.
It is a shame because the resort has a great potential. Let's wait for a new owner.
The current management was working for 10 days but already failed taking responsibility

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goose1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

hello
i want to say thank you every mucht
some time the resort sofar way from area but every good to stay here
restaurant excellent good view pravite beach evry nice and pool every nice some if you want to get more relaxe quite and sleep will great when you waint to go snkorkeling elephant trecking some where you waint to go around island all staff can have you

Room Tip: rooms every nice and all way sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberson33203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The location is beautiful, but you should consider renting a bike or car. Beach is not perfect for swimming. Roos arevery nice, spacious and clean, big bathroom with tub and shower. Great swimmng pool. Restaurant is a bit expensive an nothing special. Internet is available but not free of charge

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fedupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

- hotel not finished
- food is very expensive, not good quantity neither quality
- breakfast is made of old white bread sometimes roasted sometimes not
- the first day we just had green mango as fruits, the other days, pinapple and watermelon, not very fresh
- eggs are ok but never hot and probably re-served one day to another
- thai food is the rest of the previous day
For 250 Bths it is just a shame...
The rooms are ok, wide and clear but there is no safety box and the white curtains are not appropriate with the sun rising at 6.30
The towels are change evryday but not the bed sheets
The bathroom fleeds
There is very few places to hang wet clothes or towels
The room are not well cleaned even if the ladies are very respectfull and very nice they dont have the proper tools to clean
Today it rained and the entrance hall hasn't been cleaned
We had what is called a "sea view" room, we only saw a bunch of trees and on the right corner the sea
We were located just behind the kitchen which are very noisy especially in the morning and in the evening...one should just avoid this location
What was supposed to be a free wifi turned to be a paying two computers in a room (25BTs for 15min!!)
And the best was as an extra bed, we had a mastress on the floor
Talking about the matress, they are only a couples of beach seats which are moudly
To sum up, the price does not worth the service...dont go unless you are aware of the conditions and you negociate at least a pricegiving of 50%

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.6 mi away
Na Tara Resort
Na Tara Resort
#29 of 73 in Ko Chang
42 reviews
4.7 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#33 of 73 in Ko Chang
107 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
#24 of 73 in Ko Chang
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
#27 of 73 in Ko Chang
91 reviews
6.2 mi away
Aana Resort & Spa
Aana Resort & Spa
#21 of 73 in Ko Chang
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kooncharaburi Resort Spa & Sailing Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooncharaburi Resort Spa & Sailing Club

Address: Kong Kang Bay, 1 Moo 4, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: £46 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kooncharaburi Resort Spa & Sailing Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kooncharaburi Resort Spa & Sailing Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooncharaburi Resort Spa & Sailing Club Hotel Koh Chang
Kooncharaburi Resort Spa And Sailing Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing