We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good cuisine and we will come back”

Chantara Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 341 Restaurants in Ko Chang
Price range: £3 - £21
Description: Whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner, the panoramic sea vista and calming sea breezes makes your dining experience a glorious one. Located next to the water, the open-air restaurant features a covered area and a large outdoor patio – a favourite for candlelit dinners by the ocean. Buffet (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) and a la carte options are available.
Restaurant details
Description: Whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner, the panoramic sea vista and calming sea breezes makes your dining experience a glorious one. Located next to the water, the open-air restaurant features a covered area and a large outdoor patio – a favourite for candlelit dinners by the ocean. Buffet (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) and a la carte options are available.
Reviewed 17 December 2019

The Chantara is located on the premises of the very beautiful Sanitha Tree Resort which is a bit tucked away from the main road around the island but can be easily reached with a car or taxi.

The Chantara and the By The Sea Restaurant share the same menu, they are only a few steps apart and the Saaitara Restaurant is as well located on the Sanitha premises (at the other end) but I cannot tell if they do as well share the same kitchen.

The Chantara is not strictly a Sea Food Restaurant as I first thought but the selection is along the line of all the most famous Thai dishes like Tom Yam Koong and Curries etc. There are not to many surprizes here. But the menu features as well some international cuisine. There is a large selection of good cocktails and a short selective wine list.

There are tables outside overlooking the sea where you can enjoy a beautiful sunset.

The service is attentive and very friendly altough it would have been more appropriate to not patrol up and down in front of our table all the time - but I suspect that was done with the pure intention to serve us best.

The main and important observation is that the food is really very good, one of the best we had on the island. It is this quality that makes us recommend the Chantara and we will visit the restaurant again because of that and even stay at the resort.

The setting is definitely very nice. Minor flaws include the live music from near the pool (which is as always a matter of taste, we believe that selected recorded music might be advantageous) and the annoying fact that the printed prices on the menu are excluding tax and service charge. It is beyond my imagination why so many believe that this will serve any useful purpose.

But most important: for food quality and location we definitely recommend the Chantara.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank K_M_Moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OnlineTeam, Customer Service Center at Chantara Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2019

Dear Khun K_M_Moo,

Greetings from Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort – An oasis of serenity amidst the charming beach.

Thank you for this kind wonderful review, that is very generosity of you.

Santhiya had our own concept and standard which are combined for both Thai & Santhiya hospitality to offer to all of our guests by ensuring that all need to be a great memory and value for money.

We have been striven very hard to meet our guest satisfaction and this is our reward to hear that you had a wonderful time with our Chantara Restaurant. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our beautiful location, delicious foods, great services and stuning view.

We always try our best to serve you the best services.

Hopefully we could have a chance to welcoming and servicing you again soon on your next holiday.

With our honor,

Graiphat Prommusik
Customer Service Center
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2019 via mobile

Chantara is a must eat restaurant on your trip. Food is yum and the staff is very professional. Our waiter Diamond was super friendly. So was the rest of the team, Phoan and Zin. Diamond suggested to stay and try the accommodation as it’s one of the best in Thailand.
Am here now and it‘s absolutely amazing! The service is great and everyone so mega friendly.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank stefanbader2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OnlineTeam, Customer Service Center at Chantara Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2019

Dear Khun Stefanbader2018,

Greetings from Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort – An oasis of serenity amidst the charming beach.

Thank you for this kind wonderful review, that's very generosity of you.

Santhiya had our own concept and standard which are combined for both Thai & Santhiya hospitality to offer to all of our guests by ensuring that all need to be a great memory and value for money.

We have been striven very hard to meet our guest satisfaction and this is our reward to hear that you had a wonderful time with our Chantara Restaurant. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our delicious foods and professional staff services, especially from Diamond, Phoan and Zin.

Hopefully we could have a chance to welcoming and servicing you again soon on your next holiday.

With our honor,

Graiphat Prommusik
Customer Service Center
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and it was a wonderful experience. We were so content we really had no reason to venture off of the hotel grounds. The beach, swimming pools, breakfast, villa, restaurants.....everything was great. A special shout out to Roshan for such helpful and kind service in the restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank sw606
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thamanoon B, General Manager at Chantara Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

Dear Khun sw606,

Greetings from SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT – An oasis of serenity amidst the charming beach.

Thank you for your kind constructive feed back, that's very generosity of you.

We've been strive very hard to meet our guest satisfaction and this is our reward to hear that you had a wonderful time with our Chantara Restaurant.

Regarding to your mention our team member "Roshan"(Busboy) I'll passing your compliment to him and also letting our team member to know as well.

Hopefully we could have a chance to welcoming and servicing you again soon on your next holiday.

Have a fabulous day,

With our honor,

Thamanoon Busabong

General Manager
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2019

Celebration was a birthday , so a special occasion dinner . This restaurant is located on the beach & part of a large Thai style hotel with large grounds to walk around on your way to the beach . The entrance to this Hotel & it's grounds are worth a good look at night maybe before dinner or after as the Old Style Thai wooden buildings are lit up with LED lighting . Chanatara restaurant , setting , staff , food , Band live music all excellent . Go there during the day & book the table you like , we did & had a great night & if the weather dosen't work out there is lots of undercover dining . I would go back to here every time i am on Koh Chang , great island & great restaurant . cheers Pete Australia

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank PETER J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thamanoon B, General Manager at Chantara Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2019

Dear Khun PETER J,

Greetings from SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT – An oasis of serenity amidst the charming beach.

Thank you for your kind constructive feed back, that's very generosity of you.

We've been strive very hard to meet our guest satisfaction and this is our reward to hear that you had a wonderful time with our Chantara Restaurant.

Hopefully we could have a chance to welcoming and servicing you again soon on your next holiday.

Have a fabulous day,

With our honor,

Thamanoon Busabong

General Manager
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2019 via mobile

Every night we had some drinks at the restaurant next to the beach and Asim treated us great! We had a great time!

Date of visit: May 2019
3  Thank Benjithorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thamanoon B, General Manager at Chantara Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2019

Dear Khun Benjithorpe,

Greetings from SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT – An oasis of serenity amidst the charming beach.

Thank you for your kind constructive feed back, that's very generosity of you.

We've been strive very hard to meet our guest satisfaction and this is our reward to hear that you had a wonderful time with our Chantara Restaurant.

Regarding to your mention our team member "Asim"(Busboy) I'll passing your compliment to him and also letting our team member to know as well.

Hopefully we could have a chance to welcoming and servicing you again soon on your next holiday.

Have a fabulous day,

With our honor,

Thamanoon Busabong

General Manager
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chantara Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chantara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.