We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amber Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 106 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My husband and I with our 8 year old daughter had a lovely 2 week stay. The downstairs beach hut was wonderful and enough room for all three of us. The food was yummy and the pool and the sea were lovely. We took sea shoes as the sea is a bit rocky but fine for kids to play in the shallows. Our daughter loved the swing, jumping in to the sea..whilst we looked on from the restaurant. Wifi in the rooms and restaurant was great. Yep we had a really lovely holiday and nothing was too much trouble for Julian and Chyrl. We went snorkling for the day.........which was a long day. and we went on the Elephant trek and wash in the river. A Great memory for all of us. Julian also arranged pick up and drop off from Bangkok airport....all went very smoothly. I would recommend this place if you want a quiet holiday, with no place to walk to for other meals or wandering. We loved it.

Room Tip: The beach house is close to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you wagwam for taking the time to let others know about your stay at Amber Sands. We are sure that your comments will be helpful to other travellers doing their research.

We are often a little anxious when guests book for a long stay of 2 weeks, only because we are worried that they may get bored with the peace and quiet. But it does all depend on what people are looking for on their holiday, and we're pleased to hear that this recipe worked well for your family.

You are right that there are a few stones in certain places in the sea off our beach, but as you say, not in the shallows where the children play, or in many other places. At high tide, or when you're swimming, you will hardly notice them at all, but sea shoes are always a good idea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    36
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
173
189
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Usingen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I did not read reviews on Tripadvisor before choosing the Amber Sand Resort. I made my choice based on a lunch I had here in February 2011. But I did read the reviews during my stay there.

Some of the (very few) negative reviewers complain that the Amber Sand Resort is on the wrong side of the island. True! If you like party From 9am to 2am, don’t mind boat noise all day long, don’t mind to have to have to fight for 2 sqm of sand, don’t mind to be asked every 2 min. if you want to buy some crap…. then go to White Sand Beach. Then you are on the right side of the island.

But if you want calm, peace, friendliness, if you like to be understood when you ask something. Then choose the Amber Sand.

I read a complaint, that the ferry port is just near the resort. Near? It is 1 Kilometer away! On White Sand Beach they drive with a jet ski into your bungalow!

I read two complaints about the main road being just nearby. One night I was in my bed and concentrated myself on the noise of cars. I heard one. But I fell asleep before being able to hear the next one. Remember: the Amber Sand is “on the wrong side of the island”… no thousands of incapable tourists motorbike drivers here, taxis, minibuses etc… Just few tourists that want to discover the island and very little local traffic. In the evening a car every 5 minutes. Not more.

I very strongly recommend this place to everybody that wants perfect service, relax, good food and calm.

Don’t come here, if you want an Olympic size pool, party time all time and a TV in your room (I cannot remember to ever have even switched on a TV in rooms where I had one… And who needs a TV with such a view from his bed. See my pics attached).Thanks to Julian & Cheryl for a perfect stay. We will come back.

Room Tip: Every single room is a good room, since every single one (with one exception that is directly on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Casellini, we can't thank you enough for your review. It is easy for us as the owners to respond to the few negative reviews that we have had, but anybody reading an owner's response is likely to say "well of course, they would say that, wouldn't they?". It is so much better when a guest comments on previous negative reviews and puts them in the right perspective.

You are so right, our side of the island is far more peaceful and quiet. And yes, the ferry is not close to the resort as some guets imply, but around the corner, hidden from sight and sound one kilometre away. We and many other guests we've spoken to also agree with you about the sound from the road not being any significant nuisance, and way less than the hotels on the road at Whitesands beach anyway.

99% of our guests have also been so happy not to have television in the rooms which they feel is so unnecessary these days. We offer great wifi where our guests can keep up to date with the world on their tablets and laptops if necessary.

The vast majority of our guests would agree 100% with what you say, so we are very fortunate to have like minded people such as you come and stay who enjoy the peace and quiet, the good service and warm hospitality that Amber Sands offers. And we will go all out to make sure that we maintain, and where possible, improve on those standards.

We look forward to seeing you again when you do get back to Koh Chang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Amber Sands Beach Resort is an excellent place to kick back, relax and enjoy some excellent Thai food! My wife and I were impressed with the lovely huts, which were tastefully decorated, comfortable and clean.The bedding and towels were of an excellent quality. The air-conditioning units were also powerful and kept the rooms cool. Our hut was cleaned everyday by the staff and it is clear that the owners take cleanliness very seriously; something we appreciated.
We also loved the gardens, which have beautiful plants and trees, which adds to the resort's sense of being at one with nature. There is a lovely pool as well, which is excellent to cool off in.
The restaurant is relaxed with lovely wooden furnishings, creating a wonderful and unique ambience. It's beautifully positioned and overlooks the sea and beach. The menu is varied and delicious. I loved the fact that the dishes are cooked by a local in-house chef, making the flavours authentically Thai. All the ingredients were fresh. The chicken and cashew nut dish was my favourite and the sweet rice pudding is to die for! Best of all, the prices are GOOD VALUE and the staff speak good English and are fvery riendly.
Another plus is that the resort is just a 5 minute drive from the ferry port, which makes it easy to get to.

I would highly recommend you stay there on your visit to Koh Chang.

A big thanks to hosts, Julian and Cheryl Cowburn, who were very welcoming, engaging and helpful. They know so much about local attractions and local tourist services and made sure we had interesting things to see and do every day.

We loved Amber Sands Beach Resort and will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreggQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you Gregg Q for the time and trouble you took to submit a review of Amber Sands. We sincerely appreciate your comments, and are so glad to hear that you'll be back!

When we were looking to buy the resort, it was the restaurant setting right on the water's edge that really appealed to us, and surprisingly, is not something you see very much of on Koh Chang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guernsey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

with only eight rooms you are gong to feel more like a house guest. a beautiful tropical setting with immaculately tended gardens and comfortable accomodation. i stayed in the Beach house, literally a few yards from the sea, and waking up each morning to the gentle lapping of the waves was such a relaxing experience. The owners, Julian and Cheryl, make sure the emphasis is on informality and friendly service. its very good value too. o k, there are better beaches on the other side of the island, but if your priority is relaxation in a perfect setting look no further.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice, beach house is best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
We appreciate your comments michael w, thank you. We think you're right about a house guest kind of atmosphere, which probably comes from being smaller and having time for our guests, either just to chat, or to offer advice. We do strive to offer value for money, so we're very pleased to hear that was your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

It's hard to add anything that has not been said in the positive reviews about Amber Sands before! We absolutely loved the peace and quiet and the informality of this place. Julian and Cheryl hold the recipe for making their guests wind down, and they cook it every day ;-)

Room Tip: The Beach House is worth the extra money - sound of waves 24/7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankaplanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you ankaplanka for your kind words. We do try and maintain a quite and peaceful environment, with the minimum amount of formality, to enhance your relaxed experience. We're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Our family stayed at Amber Sands for 5 nights in July 2011 (this review is long overdue!) and it truly is a "a little piece of heaven on earth".
Would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to recharge their batteries. Julian and Cheryl are perfect hosts and you immediately feel at home. That's the joy of staying in a small resort rather than a large, impersonal one. They make you feel very special and go out of their way to make your stay on Koh Chang a memorable one.
From the time we made our booking, Julian went out of his way with regard to recommendations on travel to Koh Chang as well as suggestions on an itinerary for our stay which was really helpful.
We stayed in the Beach House and found it extremely comfortable & stylish, with the added attraction of being 10 metres away from the water. You literally open your front door and take a couple of paces to reach the water for your early morning swim.
The location of Amber Sands is perfect - you have got the peace and tranquility as well as the option of a 15 min drive to the "busy" part of the island so you have the best of both worlds. Hiring a car to get around was inexpensive.
Restaurant was excellent and had a great choice of Thai & Western food. The head chef, Debbie, and her staff were always wanting to please.
We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Beach House would be my first choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you Alayne M for taking the time to submit a review of your family's experience at Amber Sands. Better late than never, so yours is still much appreciated.

We think that you are so right in that while we are on the quiet side of the island, we are also pretty close to all the "action" and lovely beach of Whitesands, only 15 to 20 minutes away. In our view this does give our guests the best of both worlds. We are not too far down the east coast at all.

Happy to hear that you'll be back! We look forward to it. Book early for the Beach House though, that is the best room choice, either upstairs or downstairs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Our experience in this little paradise was the best, which is why I am motivated to take the effort to write this down.

We found the best description for this well managed resort, surrounded by nature and palm trees, a 'sanctuary'. Amber Sands only has about 8 houses which are all overlooking the very beautiful, well kept garden with swimmingpool in the middle and the beach behind it. The rooms are spacious and offer the comfort one needs. Don't expect mega slick designed interiours. The rooms are simple but stylish enough with only genuine local materials used.

This intimate resort is run in a very personal way by a South African couple. The atmosphere is casual and easy but with an european standard (which all resorts we visited that week lacked!). Some of the staff in the resort speak good english and all staff were very dedicated to giving good service.

Their restaurant/lobby/bar is a really nice, easy going place, situated right on the sea. Their 'honesty bar' works well, the food is of good quality and the service is fast. I asked to look in the kitchen to see how they made stir fried vegetables and the kitchen looked professional and very clean. We really liked the fact that the restaurant is open almost all day, except for some hours in the late afternoon, but there is a good little thai place only 30 meters further on the beach open all day.

We really enjoyed relaxing in the very well layd out garden, which has very tastefull local wooden/bamboo furniture in it. The sand on the beach is indeed Amber colored. The beaches on White Sands are bigger and fit in more with the postcard image one thinks of with the perfect white beaches, however the Amber Sands Beach is a 100% private and all we wanted was to enjoy the rest and peace, which the very private Amber beach guarantees.

The quiet side of the Island is very local and truely worth exploring. We were overwhelmed by the beauty, tropical forrests, views and wonderfull food!!

Koh Chang is a truely wonderful Island and well worth visiting. It has a busy side and a quiet (local) side. Amber Sands is on the quiet side, about 20 minutes by scooter to White Sands.
We came to Koh Chang for a wedding. Our intention for the week was to recharge our batteries, check out the island, and if we felt like it do some shopping or beaching in White Sands. THANK GOD we booked at Amber Sands, we got exactly what we were needing. Some of our family were staying in White Sands (a long stripp of busy road full of tourists, thai shops, bars etc) in the KC Grande resort. We were astonished on how run down this place was and how unappealing the little houses 'on the beach' were (€150 a night!!!), as well as the apalling quality of the (Thai!!) cooking they served. This made us realise even more how good value Amber Sands is.

p.s. Their Pina Colada is really good!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SannevdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Wow! Thank you so much SannevdH for such a comprehensive review of Amber Sands. You have touched on so many points that it is difficult to know how to write a response that would do justice to your kind words.

As you experienced, we try to create an environment where our guests can relax and chill, so your whole experience is geared to that, from a lack of formality of not having to sign in and pay when you've just arrived, to not asking you to sign each and every order. Being small and personal also means that we have time for you and the ability to accommodate our guests' wishes - well, as many as we can that is!

We are so glad that you managed to compare our resort to others because that is the real test. It is not only about price.

Thank you again for the time and trouble you took to submit this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
7.4 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
3.5 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#3 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
8.3 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
6.7 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Sands Beach Resort

Property: Amber Sands Beach Resort
Address: 51/3 Moo 2, Baan Dan Kao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience peace on Koh Chang's tranquil east coast in our small, family run resort metres from a quiet, almost deserted beach where we bring you a personal, individual experience. Only eight spacious air-conditioned bungalows, set in a tropical garden, all with views of the beach. Our fresh water pool provides an alternative. The thatch roof open-sided restaurant is steps from the beach and offers both traditional Thai dishes and a range of Western foods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Amber Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Sands Beach Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing