We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£79
Priceline
£79
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
£79
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
625
45
8
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
625
45
8
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west side fantastic hosts car hire western dishes his wife beautiful garden simon ning island chang thailand massage sea ko ferry relaxation taxis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We (couple + baby of 9 months) had the best time ever in this resort. Super friendly owners and staff. Ideal for couples who like peace and tranquility (no noisy neighbours). We also tried other resorts on the island, but this is our favourite.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UtrechtNicolaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you UtrechtNicolaas for your kind comments, they are much appreciated.

We're fortunate to have some lovely staff, most of whom have been with us for many years so they know their roles very well.

It's always pleasing to hear when a guest preferred Amber Sands over our competition! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

My boyfriend and myself had both been extremely busy with work/study and were looking for a relaxing break away.

We sure found one.

It started with us being picked up from the ferry terminal. We arrived rather at an unexpected and unannounced time, but Cherryl picked us up, apologizing for the "long" wait 15 min. For a sudden arrival that is pretty fast. We are used to waiting 30 min or longer for taxi's.

When we stepped out Julian was there waiting to take us to our beach house. We were lucky enough to stay in the beach house. The place is furbished very nicely. Comfy bed with a cosy corner with a settee and small table. The bathroom is really spacious with a good shower. The best part is the view you have from your room. It was simply amazing waking up and drawing back the curtains and taking in the beautiful surroundings.

Some people have commented on the quality of the beach compared to those on the west coast of the island. They are just different, but in my opinion equally beautiful. One thing tho, is to do bring watershoes or if you don't have them buy them locally and you are golden. We loved going out for a swim and then just dry up in a comfy chair.

Julian and Cherryl never seem to be busy to have a chat and give any recommendations for things to go and do and see. Usually, we have our activities pretty scheduled, but the whole ambiance of the place was so laid back, that we just went with it. The other staff headed by Debbi were also just wonderfull.

Poor Debbi, had to make a couple of calls on our behalf to find out if there was any availability on our excursions. When we finally had decided when to do what, our choice moments were all booked. But in the end we got to go on the elephant ride and go on a snorkling trip. Thank you Debbi for all your work!

The food is delishious and one of the best things I think, is that they serve breakfast till 14:30 !!! So no rushing and getting up early for breakfast. Hurray! Also aside from the tasty thai dishes they serve try the porkburger. It's delishious!

If you are looking for all in resorts which have spas and loud bars then don't come here. AmberSands is a place to unwind and relax and just go with the flow.

We had an amazing time and when we have the opportunity, we will certainly be back.

Julian and Cheryl, thank you so much for one of our best holidays ever.

Room tip: Go for the beach house. The view when you wake up early in the morning is just amazing.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiftyBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Wow fiftyBentley, where do I begin! You've covered so many aspects of our resort and service.

The downstairs Beach House room is the nicest we have, with such a gorgeous view out over the bay towards the distant hills on the mainland. It does also have slightly upgraded furniture and fittings and a little more space.

Many people comment on the comfort of our beds, certainly after spending some nights on the firm mattresses often found in many local resorts and hotels. Some guests returned to Amber Sands from a resort on Koh Mak a few days ago, and the first thing they wanted was a good comfortable sleep! (Not the food?)

Beach shoes are quite a good idea and something we recommend on our web site. We also have a few that we can lend guests. The stones aren't everywhere, and the situation does vary with the seasons and shifting sands.

I will certainly thank Debbi for arranging the activities. Usually there is good availability at short notice, but over the busy seasons one may need to book a few days in advance at least.

We like your comment about our breakfast hours! That is exactly what we think when we go away on holiday. Who wants the pressure of having to get up or rush down to breakfast before closing when you're meant to be chilling on holiday? It's so easy to fix and be flexible, especially when you choose breakfast from a menu rather than having a buffet.

Thank you for your kind words. It's important to us that our guests enjoy their holiday so we're very pleased that you experienced one of your best holidays ever. That makes our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed on Koh Kood before coming to Koh Chang - we didnt have any accomodation booked so this was a bit of a last minute thing but how glad we were that we booked this idyllic little place.
Just perfect for us (a couple ) lovely gardens , rooms,food,service and all brought nicely together by Cheryl and Julian and the staff.
It is a quiet spot so if you want to explore the livelier west coast then you will need some form of transport - we used a scooter arranged by the hotel for 250 B a day - the road between the resort and the west coast does have some very steep hills and tight bends but ok if you drive cautiously.
Not much else within easy walking distance but the food here is delicious , very good quality and reasonably priced so we ate in the restaurant overlooking the sea every night.
Julian will arrange most trips the island has to offer.
So in summary if you like peace and quiet in a lovely garden/beach location then this place is perfect - if you want a lively night life then probably not .
We loved it.

Room tip: Only 8 bungalows - all with sea view.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigyozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you for sharing your views on Amber Sands Bigyozz. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Our resort won't be for everyone, but fortunately those coming here tend to do their research on TripAdvisor and know what to expect so we usually have like-minded guests looking for a more peaceful holiday with the personal service and hospitality we offer.

We enjoy the gardens ourselves and love to improve them a little all the time. We're pleased with what our gardeners have achieved, and will pass on your compliment, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I'm not sure there are enough Superlatives to describe this fantastic place on the East side of Koh Chang. It is completely the opposite of what you find in White Sands or some of the other towns on the other side of the island, and that is exactly what makes it so great!. Yes, some things have to be thought about....there is no 7 Eleven just around the corner and there are no noisy bars and the people who hang out in them, but that's a good thing. The level of service at Amber Sands is amazing, from attending to daily needs to most everything else. Julian and Cheryl will arrange for all kinds of excursions, from jungle trekking to diving (BB Divers is a great outfit in Bang Bao), and the people who operate those businesses will pick you up for a fun time.
The resort has an excellent restaurant that serves both Thai food and things that some people from Europe or the US may not be able to live without. In any case, the Thai food is fantastic!! Be sure to get the Healthy Start breakfast of yoghurt, fresh fruit, muesli and honey. It is some of the best I have ever had, probably the quality of the fruit is so outstanding.
There is no doubt that I will return to Amber Sands. It is simply amazing!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tomscv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words Tomscv.

You're quite right, we are a little "off the beaten track", but as you say, that is exactly what gives us the edge for those looking for that kind of peaceful holiday. As Lonely Planet puts it, the east coast is what Koh Chang must have been like a generation ago, and we certainly hope it stays that way.

We're glad that you enjoyed our restaurant, which really is gaining in reputation all the time. We've been battling to keep up with the demand over this busy peak season to be honest and have had to decline some bookings to try and maintain our service standards.

We look forward to seeing you again when you get back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

It is worth to consider going directly to the East Coast of Koh Chang. If you prefer peace and nature and can live without 7/11, do. And Amber Sands shall offer everything you need: comfy bungalows, garden, the view, peace and nice ambience. It is also perfect base to explore this part of island. And restaurant offers what you need. Highly recommended.

Room tip: take a first floor room in the beach house for fine sea view
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LukaszNowakowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you Lukasz for your review. We agree that the east coast of Koh Chang is really lovely. More natural, and of course way less developed, but yet not too far away from the bustle of White Sands for those guests who want it.

As I sit and write this response I'm looking out over our calm small bay, with a few local Thai wooden houses on stilts over the water, the bamboo fish farm at the end of the bay, the green hills of the mainland about 8kms away, and in the far distance, the blue mountains that form the border between Thailand and Cambodia. And tonight we have a full moon that will rise over those mountains, quite possibly red in colour if the sky is free of clouds and haze. In fact it is the Loy Krathong festival. Thailand at its best!

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews