We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort on a very quiet beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort on a very quiet beach”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We needed a place to stay for one night on Ko Chang prior to taking the boat to Ko Wai. We got off the ferry and having looked at the map decided to just walk to Amber Sands and hope they had a room. The resort is beautiful and very well cared for. The garden is full of palms and brightly coloured flowers that surround the pool and line the beach giving a really tropical feel.

Fortunately they had just one room available and when we saw it we decided we just had to stay a second night to really enjoy what Amber Sands had to offer. The room was large and beautifully decorated, as well as being private as most rooms are separate bungalows. We could see the sea from our french windows, which was wonderful to wake up to.

The restaurant was lovely, mostly wooden furniture and overlooking the sea. Not cheap but good food and cocktails, and the service was excellent. All the staff seemed very happy to be working there.

The beach is lovely although quite a lot of clay underfoot when in the water. We tried to snorkel but couldn't see a thing at the time due to visibility. It looked like the reef was much further out but difficult to tell.

All in all a wonderful place to stay and the owners were incredibly helpful. The rates were way higher than those quoted in the Lonely Planet, I expect from significant upgrades to the property which I can understand. This was our 'treat' of the holiday, having planned on staying in fairly budget accommodation in Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicfish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your very thorough and informative review magicfish79.

We have many guests who extend their stay once they get here which is always pleasing for us as hosts because it usually means we're doing something right. We're glad that you enjoyed your "treat".

Sorry about the higher room prices than in Lonely Planet. It's a wonderful guide that we use ourselves as travelers, and which we're very proud to be included in. But the rates in LP are really only a guide. It can depend how up-to-date the guide is too. They don't have the space to include our 3 room types as well as the 5 seasonal rating bands. And one other possible reason is what you experienced, namely that our rates try to reflect the continual improvements that we make.

Regarding our restaurant prices, we do price ourselves in line with the market on Koh Chang, taking into account the size of our portions, and the generally better quality ingredients than many others. Most reviews, like one a few days after yours, say something along the lines of “the food is excellent and well-priced”. It’s always a balancing act depending on one’s budget though, we do understand the point you make because we will be more expensive than street food or the noodle bars.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    36
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
175
190
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We (a young couple) stayed at Amber Sands for 8 nights and would have loved to stay for weeks! We were picked up at the ferry terminal and directly felt relaxed after only 5 minutes in our lovely bungalow. The rooms are spacious and lovely decorated. The beds are amazing as well, especially for the standards in Thailand.
The location of the hotel is at the east coast, so quite a bit away from the busy west coast. But we saw that as an advantage and chose Amber Sands especially for this reason. As the hotel only has 8 bungalows and its own restaurant, it is quiet and really laid-back, exactly what we were looking for.
Talking about the service, we never experienced such a great hospitality in such a nice setting. The staff was helpful and nice and the owners, Cheryl and Julian, were always open for a little chat and tried to do everything possible to guarantee a great holiday.
Finally, the food at the restaurant was just amazing, some of the best curries we had in Thailand!
All in all, we were really sad to leave and will definitely try to come back. Just stay exactly as you are, Amber Sands team, we loved it :-)

Room Tip: The rooms are located around the little pool in the center of the garden, so it does not matter in w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you so much sfelgner for your kind review.

It's interesting that you comment on our beds because many of our guests tell us how comfortable they are. We've also found some really hard beds on our own travels around Thailand and that can really spoil one's stay. The thing is how does one know when you book? Unless one does the research through TripAdvisor of course.

We appreciate your views on our service and hospitality thank you. We do believe this is what makes us different from others, mainly because we are smaller and have the time to spend with our guests, but we also have a great team who understand that the customer always comes first.

We hope to see you back here one day when your travels allow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Julian and Cheryl make this a lovely and very easy place to stay, and a very hard place to leave. We (family of two adults and two children 7 & 9) stayed here for 11 nights in March and loved it.
Our objective was to have a really relaxing family holiday, inter spiced with a bit of adventure, eating great food and making some new friends along the way and we achieved all this and more at Amber Sands.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DonSyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you DonSyph for taking the time to share your experience at Amber Sands.

So it seems that you've cottoned onto our secret recipe? "Make it hard (for guests) to leave"! :) We always feel that we've succeeded when our guests feel that way. We're pleased that you found exactly what you wanted from your holiday.

We enjoyed your company and wish you a terrific holiday further. What an experience it's going to be for the children! Travel well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I just spent 10 days together with my wife and 2 sons (aged 9 months and 5 years) and we had the best time at Amber sands, it was just such a pleasent surprise to us, a true hidden pearl. The resort is small, cosy and well kept and set by the edge of a secluded and private beach (no one in sight trying to sell you wooden elefants). The owners Julian and Cheryl have truelly mastered the art of making their guests feel right at home, infact we settled in so well it was difficult to leave. My sons fith birthday was celebrated at the resort and Cheryl organised a breakfast to be sent our room, to my sons amazement he got a water mellon with 5 candles and lots of baloons together with his favorite coconut juice! Talk about service! We stayed on the bottom floor of the bungalow closest to the beach, in the morning we would simply open up the french doors, walk 10 meters and start the day with a dip in the ocean. The room was large with ac and fan and was cleaned everyday by the helpfull staff who we also befriended. All the bungalows are set around a small pool where we pretty much spent most of our time lazing around and longing for our next meal, the food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Thai prices. There was also another beach-side restaurant a little bit further down which also offered great food and a relaxed atmosphere. The resort is perfect for those who simply want to wind down, spend time with family or friends and get away from the beaten track. For those who want more action I would recommend the more commercial west coast or simply another island. All in all we are simply so pleased that we chose to stay at Amber Sands and we cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the bugalows are close to the beach but we stayed in room 2 which was the bungalow closest to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honkenholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience of Amber Sands Honkenholm, we do appreciate your comments. We find that these reviews help others looking for accommodation on the island to choose Amber Sands for the right reasons, mostly because we're on the quiet side of the island, but yet not too far away.

Regarding the room you stayed in, another guest recently said that when they opened the curtains in the morning it was as if there was a photographed wallpaper print stuck over the windows; the view just didn't seem real! We wish we had space for more of those rooms right on the beach. They are special.

We're really pleased to hear that you and the family felt at home and enjoyed your holiday. We miss the little guys already! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have spent the last 10 days with my future wife in Amber Sands Beach Resort in Koh Chang, Thailand and we don't want to leave....

It is a small, peaceful, calm and lovely resort and the owners and the staff are phenomenal.

We arrived with a BIG smile in our faces and we will leave in the same mood, but with a tear in the eye as well, because we will miss this wonderful place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoolRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words PoolRob.

We are so pleased that you and your fiancee have enjoyed your holiday with us. We try to be different, and being small is probably one of our biggest strengths which enables us to offer a more personal service and experience.

Best wishes for your future together. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titchfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We could not fault Julian and Cheryl for their superlative hospitality. The hotel was the highlight of our 8 hotel stay in Koh Chang. From the beautiful rooms to the relaxed ambiance of the hotel to the beautiful views at sunset to the excellent food it was a delightful stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We're so pleased to hear that Amber Sands was the highlight of your stay in 8 hotels in Koh Chang Richard. I think we're all slightly competitive by nature, so it's rewarding to hear that you preferred us over some of our competitors, thank you.

A number of guests have commented on the relaxed style at Amber Sands.

To complement our peaceful environment we consciously adopt a chilled attitude to the whole experience at Amber Sands: from the informality of the check in, to not asking you to sign off the bill after meals or drinks, to our honesty bar after hours, and the adding of any extra activities or services to your bill, for payment at the end. Our philosophy is for our guests to leave everything to us while they chill.

We appreciate your comments, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Suddenly realised that I had not written a much deserved positive review for the lovely Amber Sands after we stayed there last November. Most unfair as Juliana and Cheryl work really hard to attend to all the many little details that make a stay worthwhile and definitely gave us a lovely, relaxing time there with plenty of good food, decent wines and cold beers. We arrived tired after travelling and sightseeing elsewhere and could easily have stayed longer than our 4 nights and spent a bit more time looking round the island rather than flopping on a sunbed! As it was they arranged a car hire for us and we did a bit of walking but beyond that our biggest adventure was a massage which they also booked for us.
All in all this is great value and my only wish would be for a slightly bigger/better shower room but you get what you pay for and Amber Sands is certainly good value for money.
Thanks for a great stay and sorry this is so late!!

Room Tip: More expensive rooms are the most recently updated and decorated but all are clean and well maintain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumbo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you Gumbo44 for your very kind review. Better late than never!

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a relaxing holiday.

You make a good point about the shower rooms in the Superior Bungalows, which we are aware of. While they serve their purpose, they're not very large. We have our hands tied a little on this matter because we only have a lease on the land, so we have to consider capital expenditure carefully. But the next time we undertake any capital expenditure on the resort, we'll certainly consider this upgrade.

What we have recently done as an interim step, prompted by your review, is to install new rain showers in all the rooms and Bungalows. The Beach House rooms by the way do have large shower rooms, but as you say, those rooms are slightly more expensive.

We appreciate your review and comments, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.5 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
975 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
9.6 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 73 in Ko Chang
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#3 of 73 in Ko Chang
415 reviews
5.9 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
8.3 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Sands Beach Resort

Property: Amber Sands Beach Resort
Address: 51/3 Moo 2, Baan Dan Kao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience peace on Koh Chang's tranquil east coast in our small, family run resort metres from a quiet, almost deserted beach where we bring you a personal, individual experience. Only eight spacious air-conditioned bungalows, set in a tropical garden, all with views of the beach. Our fresh water pool provides an alternative. The thatch roof open-sided restaurant is steps from the beach and offers both traditional Thai dishes and a range of Western foods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amber Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Sands Beach Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing