We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amber Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amber Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 98 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We decided to stay at Amber Sands after recommendations from friends who stayed there previously and we are so glad we did! Julian & Cheryl truly are the perfect hosts.
Our emails to Julian regarding accommodation, transfers and general questions about the area were answered promptly and comprehensively.
We got there quite late and Julian showed us to our room - top floor of the beach house, which was large and beautifully decorated, but nothing prepared us for the stunning view we awoke to the next morning! (See attached photo)
The resort itself is so beautiful and has a chilled and relaxing ambience about it.
The gardens and beach are immaculate and all around the resort you will find quirky little touches!
The restaurant is right on the beach and the food is varied and delicious, catering for both Thai and western tastes.
We spent many days around the pool and usually had it to ourselves! We did hire a scooter one day, which Julian organised for us, and also a taxi to White sands one evening.
We went out on the free kayak early one morning, which was brilliant as the sea is so calm and not scary at all.
All of the staff are a credit to Julian & Cheryl, so friendly and smiley, so a big thank you to them also!
As you can tell, we really loved it here, so much so that we ended up staying 2 extra nights and even then we did not want to leave! Julian got up early to see us off and to make sure our transfer arrived. Where else would you receive a service such as that?
Julian & Cheryl it was an absolute pleasure meeting you and your team and thank you for letting us share your bit of paradise with you! Hope we can come back one day.
Linda & Mark Beardsley

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    35
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
167
179
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed a total of 8 nights at Amber Sands in Mid-April.

First and most importantly, the owners. They went out of there way to help and organize our trips in any way they could. By far the most friendliest customer service we received on our whole trip!
They organised our tours and moped hired for us and always gave us honest information when we needed it.
FOOD: The food was just amazing!!! AMAZING!!!! Did I say amazing?! We tried pretty much everything on the menu. Our favorites were the pineapple fruit shake, thai omelets, pork mince ball soup, pad thai and red curry with prawns and pineapple.
Our room was large enough and the grounds were kept immaculate.
The Resort: Small with only a few bungalows on the quiet side of the island. WIFI was never a problem. Pool was nice, beach was OK.

Things to consider:

The resort is a 20 minute moped ride to White Sands (the closest touristy area).

Whilst the beach is relaxing and beautiful, I would have preferred to swim at White Sands. Softer sand, less chance of stepping on coral etc.

Lots of kids whilst we were there. Now this may appeal to those who are traveling with kids but unfortunately we must have come when families were out on their holidays (and good on them for finding this gem). We always tried to be at breakfast/dinner first because once the other guests arrived with their children it became a little to loud for us. This was not too much of a hassle but we usually retired back to our room with our deserts quite early.

I can see why this is ranked so well, it is WELL DESERVED. Personally it was a bit too family orientated for us (or that time of the year was).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Many thanks for such a thorough review MatShell. We do appreciate the time you took to cover all the angles for other guests who may be looking at our wee spot.

Oh, and we're really happy that you mentioned enjoying our food. And so many mentions too!

As it happened there were a number of children when you stayed. We have thought about introducing an age limit, which we haven't ruled out altogether. If children get noisy we won't hesitate to step in and speak with the parents, as we'll do if adult guests disturb others too. The mix of guests does vary through the year but you'll see from the number of reviewers on this site that most of our guests are couples.

And lastly, thank you so much for your comments about our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

when we decided to come to koh chang for a long weekend away from bangkok, we were looking for just the right place. we wanted a hidden treasure, to be connected with nature, find a spot with character and run with a personal touch. what we found at amber sands was that, and so much more.

what cheryl and julian have created at amber sands is a very special gem. arriving feels like coming home. from our initial emails with julian, to our daily chats and recommendations, it is clear that they invest personally with each and every guest. their 9 staff are also wonderful: the gardeners keep the grounds impeccable, the kitchen and cleaning helpers learned our names and always greeted us with a smile. the food was incredible! healthy, fresh, and prepared with love. definitely high quality for almost street food prices! highly recommend the mango smoothies and healthy start for breakfast. we loved the south african white wine on offer and appreciated the honesty bar - open 24 hours a day! while the beach is not as inviting for swimming as the other side of the island, we never cared as we loved sitting by the pool, playing cards in the restaurant and enjoying a drink in one of their many covered sitting areas.

cheryl and julian took care of every detail of our transfers to and from the airport, called in a masseuse when it was raining (so pleasant to have a massage in the outdoor palapa hut!), rented motorbikes for us and gave us a recommended exploration route (while we definitely loved motorbiking we do not recommend the trek to long beach, the road is too treacherous!) and took the time to share stories about living in thailand.

do not come here if you are looking for crowds, or busy white sand beaches, or nightlife. but if you are looking for a place built on nurturing relationships, a corner of koh chang that is peaceful and rejuvenating and a comfortable place you'll want to come back to - then amber sands is definitely for you, too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Gosh globetrotter3636, how can we respond to your glowing thorough and comprehensive review, other than to thank you so much? We're so pleased that you enjoyed your short break.

We enjoy what we do and meeting the lovely guests who spend time in our little corner of the world. Most of them already have something in common because they've read the reviews and know what they're getting. And perhaps above all, this is why these TripAdvisor reviews are so valuable for us, and helpful to those who do their research. They let everybody know in our guests' own words, exactly what Amber Sands offers.

It is so important to manage our guests' expectations. We don't want to sell something super glossy and shiny only for guests to find something different when they arrive. For us, our resort should be "what you see is what you get". Or as you found, to exceed expectations is even better still.

Lastly we'd also like to thank you sincerely for noticing so many of our intangibles. The home from home, the character, our personal service, our emails during your booking process, the honesty bar, our staff, the chats, our recommendations, the food being prepared with love and many others. This is what we find travellers are looking for today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We love Amber Sands, which is why we have visited them twice this year already. On both occasions we took family with us and the resort was able to cater for all ages, including our ever-wandering 18 month old niece. Those of us who fancied a bit of adventure were able to go on island hopping snorkeling trips, whilst others could doze by the pool all day.

The staff are excellent and Julian and Cheryl really pay a lot of attention to detail.

We were wondering on our trip back to Bangkok if there was anything that could improve the resort and we can honestly say that we failed to think of anything. It's perfect, just as it is.

Room Tip: All the accommodation is excellent and has a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Difromyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Lovely to see you again Difromyorkshire. Thanks so much for sharing our little spot with some other members of your family this time. We hope you feel relaxed and chilled after your recent stay.

We do appreciate your kind comment that you couldn't think of anything to improve at Amber Sands. We are always finding the odd things to tweak and improve here and there, but the longer we stay. Our philosophy is to continually look for things to improve, often little aspects that our guests may not even notice but may nevertheless be important to us to do better.

Until the next time then?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Wow Julian and Cheryl what a perfect combination you have made: lovely hotel, fantastic host, amazing food and great location! We had a wonderful stay! All the best!

For absolutely white sand beach lovers, the beach is less than other places, but all above made it up.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SofieLeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words SofieLeen.

We think that we should use your comment in our future advertising! It says it all.

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I booked into Amber Sands for an April holiday based on reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. From the reservation process to the final drop off for the ferry, Julian and Cheryl did everything they could to accommodate our needs. The resort is small and immaculate. The restaurant food is delicious. The hosts have worked hard to make Amber Sands a home away from home. The resort is located on the quieter side of Koh Chang, which is exactly what my husband and I wanted. It is easy to rent a car or a motorbike to explore the area. We had great fun spending a day exploring beaches and sites that the hosts gave great directions for. Both my husband and I would highly recommend a stay at Amber Sands. Thank you Julian and Cheryl!

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs room with a wrap around balcony and beautiful views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
You’re very welcome Bangla D we’re so pleased that you feel relaxed and enjoyed our little spot. We do try to offer what Debbi (our Thai chef) would say is “time to recharge my battareee!”

Many of our guests enjoy exploring down the tranquil east coast, as you did. It’s amazing how on a fairly busy holiday island you can be all alone on a deserted beach, having a swim in a waterfall (except in the dry season of course) or enjoying a great view somewhere.

And if you look on our Facebook page, you’ll see some wonderful sunrise photos when all is still and calm before the day begins.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We needed a place to stay for one night on Ko Chang prior to taking the boat to Ko Wai. We got off the ferry and having looked at the map decided to just walk to Amber Sands and hope they had a room. The resort is beautiful and very well cared for. The garden is full of palms and brightly coloured flowers that surround the pool and line the beach giving a really tropical feel.

Fortunately they had just one room available and when we saw it we decided we just had to stay a second night to really enjoy what Amber Sands had to offer. The room was large and beautifully decorated, as well as being private as most rooms are separate bungalows. We could see the sea from our french windows, which was wonderful to wake up to.

The restaurant was lovely, mostly wooden furniture and overlooking the sea. Not cheap but good food and cocktails, and the service was excellent. All the staff seemed very happy to be working there.

The beach is lovely although quite a lot of clay underfoot when in the water. We tried to snorkel but couldn't see a thing at the time due to visibility. It looked like the reef was much further out but difficult to tell.

All in all a wonderful place to stay and the owners were incredibly helpful. The rates were way higher than those quoted in the Lonely Planet, I expect from significant upgrades to the property which I can understand. This was our 'treat' of the holiday, having planned on staying in fairly budget accommodation in Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magicfish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your very thorough and informative review magicfish79.

We have many guests who extend their stay once they get here which is always pleasing for us as hosts because it usually means we're doing something right. We're glad that you enjoyed your "treat".

Sorry about the higher room prices than in Lonely Planet. It's a wonderful guide that we use ourselves as travelers, and which we're very proud to be included in. But the rates in LP are really only a guide. It can depend how up-to-date the guide is too. They don't have the space to include our 3 room types as well as the 5 seasonal rating bands. And one other possible reason is what you experienced, namely that our rates try to reflect the continual improvements that we make.

Regarding our restaurant prices, we do price ourselves in line with the market on Koh Chang, taking into account the size of our portions, and the generally better quality ingredients than many others. Most reviews, like one a few days after yours, say something along the lines of “the food is excellent and well-priced”. It’s always a balancing act depending on one’s budget though, we do understand the point you make because we will be more expensive than street food or the noodle bars.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.6 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#4 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
3.1 mi away
Little Sunshine Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Sands Beach Resort

Property: Amber Sands Beach Resort
Address: 51/3 Moo 2, Baan Dan Kao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience peace on Koh Chang's tranquil east coast in our small, family run resort metres from a quiet, almost deserted beach where we bring you a personal, individual experience. Only eight spacious air-conditioned bungalows, set in a tropical garden, all with views of the beach. Our fresh water pool provides an alternative. The thatch roof open-sided restaurant is steps from the beach and offers both traditional Thai dishes and a range of Western foods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amber Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Sands Beach Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing