We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bungalows on the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alina Grande Hotel & Resort
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed 30 January 2012

A nice & affordable place to stay on White Sands Beach. Centrally located...Good restaurants abound.

Room Tip: The beach bungalows are very nice, just a few short steps to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoongTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

big nice rooms, very clean and safe. fridge and balcony. nice big bed. wifi available. nice bars and restaurants all around. nice stretch of beach all in front. pool is big and lots of lounging room around it with sun beds. I'm gonna go back sometime, just not sure when. great people there

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vancouverluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed in a hotel double room. The room was spacious with a large balcony and comfortable bed. There was no safe in the room but they hotel offered a free safe deposit box. The pool was large with plenty of sun beds available. The hotel was in a good location close to the beach and nightlife. What was a bit strange was that you had to ask for the room to be cleaned on a daily basis.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lechou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed in de Alina Hotel (new building) oct. 2011 Its a quit new building with for hotel standard verry big rooms 50m2 +- . We enjoyed our stay here verry much and slept wel. Note: wifi is not free.
Swimmingpool on the back of the hotel is great and looks nice but we didn`t used because of the nearby beach. Hotel staff is friendly and they got a indoor mini mart wich isn`t expensive as 7/11.

location is verry good on White Sand and to the right on the you have got good thai restaurant especially the one with the grilled chicken.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right looksmore noise through the nearby restaurant but after 11 pm there was no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michielstroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed at Alina Grande a couple of weeks in February in their hillside hotel building. Our so called single room was surprisingly large with a good size dbl bed, big cabinet, drawers, wifi (not free), TV, AC, and a huge fridge with two free water bottles daily. And the roofed balcony was a welcome outdoor area when we had to stay inside during rainy hours. Wish there was a rack for wet swim wear though. I also missed a shower wall, even if I am kind of getting use to the wet bathrooms in Thailand. Except from a small piece of soap, there were no toiletries either, but we didn`t mind as we always bring our own shampoo etc anyway. We could get extra towels at the front desk if we wanted to, also for the pool and the beach.

Upon check in we were told just to ask from day to day whether we wanted the room to be cleaned or not. But as we didn`t understand if this also included toilet paper, water and clean towels, we just asked them to clean everyday, which they did.

The pool was great, a really huge lap pool with a safe kid section. Thumbs up! Taking the reasonable rate into consideration, I think the room and the pool is worth a top score . We paid about 1200 bath a night incl breakfast. The breakfast was ordered from a menu with limited choice, and served on plastic plates. But what can you except for such a low rate?
Well, I wish there had been individual safety boxes in the rooms or at least at the front desk. Instead we had to leave our valuables at the front desk where we wrote a list with every single item and amount of money, for them and us to sign for. It is understandable why they wanted us to register it this way, but we prefer to keep that kind of information to ourselves. Especially it was uncomfortable doing it at the reception in front of other guests.

The breakfast area as well as the rest of the public inside area were extraordinary simple and could really need a makeover. As could the worn out sunbeds, the kids playground which was full of fungus and the rusty fence with a big hole open to the jungle. Another example: The sun shade/curtain at the massage hut was just a green plastic net with plastic bottles filled with water hanging under to prevent it from moving in the wind. Not exactly delicate to look at. There was a ping pong table in the garden where the grass was cut around it, but not under. Pipelines on the ground were not hidden etc.

In general all the staff was friendly, kind and service minded except from the negative experience when they (by mistake I will guess) tried to charge us 1500 baht a night when we paid the balance upon departure. Luckily we had the email reservation by hand with their agreed rate and deposit confirmation in writing.

All in all, for travellers on a budget not looking for more than a proper room, this is a good choice. And even more if you are looking for both a proper room and a good pool. The location is also convenient near the beach, shopping street and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Margana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Alina Resort is right on White sand beach but is run down and needs renovation.
The bungalow is old inside and outside. The stuff seems do not like to clean very much, so there are always hordes of ants.
The beach is small and rocky, so not so nice to swim. Actually we can not call it a beach. There were no sun beds around except two old that we did not bother to use, instead we went to close hotel and used their sun beds.

The word White sand beach is misleading.
It becomes white only much further down the island.

We paid this resort in Bkk through the agent for two weeks for 1200 baht per day (even so Alina resort charges only 800 baht),
and were very disappointed because there are lots of hotels around with much nicer conditions and about 1000 baht deal.
We needed to rent the motorbike and go down the island to get some beach and sea where you can swim without danger to cut the leg by rock.

The stuff seem is completely unhappy and it is very difficult to get their attention.
So, we were cleaning our room ourselves.
There were only few customers, seemed like the same as us cheated by agents.
So, we will never book and pay anything in advance in Koh Change.
First, go and see for yourself. And the prices are usually smaller.
At this time, Alina Hotel that is just across the street offered rooms for 1000 baht and they do have swimming pool and large rooms.

The only nice thing was the restaurant inside Alina resort that is run by two smiley guys who looked much happier and nicer than other inhabitants in Koh Chang.
The food they offered was very delicious.
Somehow locals looked like in constant depression, may be it is because the life in the island is hard, there were some electricy break downs due to storms.

Also, the hotel is close to the disco and all nightlife on the island.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PopperMopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed as a party of four adults and two young men over Christmas and the New Year in the Alina Grande. The two boys had a double aircon room with two beds and it was very large. My brother and sister in-law had a single room with a double room and my partner and I had a pool view room. We were all very satisfied with the rooms we had.
We negotiated approximately nine months in advance and manage to secure the “Off Season” rates for the 19 night stay. The hotel is no frills, for example when we checked in we had to find our own rooms and carry our own bags, but that was no hardship. There is a notice in reception about room cleaning which is slightly confusing, but essentially you have to make a point of telling reception each morning that you require the room to be made up. We did this when we left the key each day and the bed was always made and fresh towels left.
There is not a safe in the room, but you can leave valuables, passports, money etc in a sealed bag in the safe in reception after filling in a form itemising everything signed by both parties. The rooms are simple, but more than adequate, a slightly hard bed, a big fridge, electric shower (no running out of hot water), good lighting and plenty of plug points and efficient air-conditioning and satellite TV. My room and my brother’s room were both on the ground floor, and both had an outside sitting area.
The breakfast was included, a voucher was collected from reception each morning, the two women serving were really friendly, and included unlimited self-service coffee or tea, fresh fruit, fruit juice, toast and jam, and a choice of eggs, ham, bacon, muesli, in various combinations.
I used the pool for half an hour every morning to swim lengths and it was clean and well maintained.
Laundry could be left for the same rates as the commercial laundries, and was often back by the same evening, the next day at the latest.
My only possible grumbles would be that the WiFi was very expensive, but as we used Monkey’s bar next door where it was free so that was not a problem, and that the long bare corridor could be very noisy, and the door to the pool slammed very loudly day and night.
The location was good; everything you want is on your doorstop. We all enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone wanting a mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne_parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.3 mi away
Keeree ele' Hotel
Keeree ele' Hotel
#56 of 73 in Ko Chang
105 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#20 of 73 in Ko Chang
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
#59 of 73 in Ko Chang
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#33 of 73 in Ko Chang
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Top Resort
Top Resort
#23 of 73 in Ko Chang
189 reviews
7.9 mi away
Kwaimaipar Orchid Resort Spa & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alina Grande Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alina Grande Hotel & Resort

Address: 9/2 Moo 4 White Sand Beach, Ko Chang, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: £26 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alina Grande Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Alina Grande Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alina Grande Hotel And Resort
Alina Grande Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing