We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alina Grande Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alina Grande Hotel & Resort
Ranked #35 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Delta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. On the jungle side. Very clean hotel. Nice pool. Friendly staff. Short walk to beautiful beach! Reasonably priced and very helpful to answer any questions you have.
Scooter rental on site. Same price everywhere. Short walk back from the bars close to tattoo shops and the restaurants are all along the main road. We had a room up stairs very large. Out friends had a smaller room on main floor

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Honey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    64
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
35
40
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We read mixed reviews about this hotel.

We were picked up at the ferry port on time. We checked in within 5 minutes. The air con room was large and the bed comfy. The pool was great, a really nice temperature.

The hotel is clean and quiet. For the price its a steal. all the staff we re very friendly. It's placed right in the centre of white sands beach. White sands is very walkable from ohne end to the other.

Room Tip: All the rooms i saw looked the same. i had one facing the nightclub, but unles you sat on the large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leethomaswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

I booked this hotel via Booking.com, the online pictures seemed OK. However, it never said that the hotel is in 2 separate locations across the road from each other. The main part of the hotel is fairly nice, modern, clean, has a decent dining/breakfast room and pool. However, the other part of the hotel across the road is very dated and run down. The room I had was quite small, grubby and smelly, the bathroom was revolting. The 2 guys on reception spent most of their time asleep on the couch in reception, my room would not have been cleaned and towels not changed unless I made the effort to ask.
Although it is on the southern end of Whiite Sand Beach, there isn't actually a beach there when the tide comes in, the tide comes in all the way to the retaining wall/flood defence. This isn't a majot problem as it's only a 5 minute walk to a nice sandy ppart of the beach, and the beach itself is very good. The location for shops, restaurants and convenience stores is OK, but then again, every hotel in White Sand Beach is coneniently located along the main strip.
1300 THB a night ( with no breakfast) for this room is too expensive. I wouldn't stay again

Room Tip: Book another hotel, there are lots too choose from in Koh Chang
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

The Alina on Koh Chang Island is a family run Hotel.The staff and owners are very obliging and couldn't do more for you if they tried.Koh Chang is a peaceful place and wonderful to relax.It is what Thailand is all about and not the bustle and grab of the main cities.The fish food on the island is wonderful and fresh and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keithriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

This large room was excellent value at 1500 baht a night. Light spacious and airy a very big family room with 2 double beds, chairs and balcony with my desired sea view. Very large bathroom with 2 showers and bath - only complaint was very old TV. Location is excellent in the middle of White Sand resort everything a short walk away in the most modern resort on Koh Chang Island. There is a mini supermarket next to reception that sells all the essentials including hot coffee and an internet shop that worked fine. There is a 24 hour Tesco Lotus supermarket just a few minutes’ walk away that sells everything you may need. There is a music bar behind the hotel - the excellent live music finished at midnight. We found reception polite and helpful but these island resorts employ a lot of non-Thai staff so a bit of patience is required as they will often struggle to understand Thai or English. If you want your room cleaned you have to let reception know when you hand your key in otherwise your room will not be cleaned. We had a fantastic stay, loved the room and location!

Room Tip: Select a room opposite side to the Music Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkkmegabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Chang, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

PROS: Decent room but nothing extremely special. Room big enough for a family.

CONS: I must first congratulate the owner he/she must have travelled all of Thailand and Cambodia to find the laziest people in these two countries and then employed them. At first I thought they were just having dificulties understanding english. Typically the receptionist in a Thai hotel almost always should speak english ecspecially a hotel that charges 2200 baht per night. But then I found that my wife (Thai) had trouble communicating with the staff also. I decided that the communication gap was nothing more then not wanting to be bothered by hotel guests. I let the front desk know that I needed my room cleaned, something that should be automatic in any hotel, and they sent 6 people to clean it. One maybe 2 did the cleaning but you better believe all 6 of them not only had their hand out for a tip but actually asked for a tip. I am normally the first person to offer a tip for a job done. I always tip my hotel staff but when the reception sends 6 people that all ask for a tip its not going to happen. Morning breakfast is okay however be prepared to have to walk across the street to get it. The restaurant being across the street made no sense to me since on the first floor there is the "Alina Grande Restaurant" but it is never open. Later I was kind of gland this restaurant was not open being as I not only saw 2 cats walking through the middle of the restaurant area. The second cat had a large rat hanging out of its mouth. I had my wife ask the staff for additional towels since we booked a room for 4 people but only received 2 towels. They delivered the 2 additional towels promptly and both of them were wet. I am not a fan of busy work nor do I expect somebody to look busy. But the staff took a dislike of busy work to a whole new level. To the point that they can not even be broken away from there motionless, dumb, blank stares to even acknowledge your exsistance.

Conclusion: I know I should not expect 5 star service however a certain level of service is to be expected. The bottom line is for the same price there are much better places in Koh Chang to spend your money

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Chang hotels

Orimattila
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

At first glance we were very disappointed with the beach (rocks and seemengly no sandy beach) but it turned out to be one of the best beaches on our trip with the kids. Not the prettiest but safe, sandy, no jellyfish and plenty of room for the kids to play. We stayed at the hotel (beach side) for the first night (very big rooms, enjoyed them a lot) and then 4 nights at the bungalows. We only went to the pool once (there was a bad smell around) and preferred the beach. Quite a lot of snails and frogs in front of the bungalows. One of the best things about the stay was Thor's: very friendly staff, amazing curry and lovely service. Definitely would recommend having breakfast over there.

Room Tip: Rooms and bungalows on the older part (beach side) are located perfectly with a straight access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saaruli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
12.4 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#21 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
10.5 mi away
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
#42 of 72 in Ko Chang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
10.8 mi away
Keeree ele' Hotel
Keeree ele' Hotel
#49 of 72 in Ko Chang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
TOP Resort
TOP Resort
#24 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
10.4 mi away
Jinda Resort
Jinda Resort
#86 of 107 in Ko Chang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
12.8 mi away
Aana Resort & Spa
Aana Resort & Spa
#20 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alina Grande Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alina Grande Hotel & Resort

Property: Alina Grande Hotel & Resort
Address: 9/2 Moo 4 White Sand Beach, Ko Chang, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alina Grande Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alina Grande Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alina Grande Hotel Koh Chang
Alina Grande Hotel And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing