We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort”
Review of Chai Chet Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chai Chet Resort
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We have stayed at one of the grand villas.
The bungalow itself is more than enough. Bathroom size is more than half of the room size.
In front of the bungalow, you have your personal sea beds. Room is very comfortable with a king bed.
We ate all three nights at their restaurant. The food was good, staff friendly. It was a bit expensive. There are lots of private dining tables with sea view.
Jungle tracking is worth visiting. Viewpoints are also good chance to see the whole beach.
You can not swim at sea anywhere in the resort. All around is rocks.
Actually for us it was not a big deal. Just crossing the bridge, there is beautiful sand beach hundreds of meters long. Beach is for all and there is no restriction at all.
There is no phone in the room, where you can communicate with reception. Under monsoon rains, it was not very convenient to walk to reception.
One last thing, to reach the reception, you have to carry bags about 20 stairs. There is no escalator or ramp.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eyrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed in one of the beach villas and the rooms were beautiful. We had our own private decking outside our room, with sun beds, overlooking the sea - it was idyllic. The only things that let it down were the food and the service. Everything seemed like such an effort for the staff and we felt really uncomfortable even asking for an extra towel. The food was also really average and I was really surprised considering the amount we paid for our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HSWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We stayed here four nights and enjoyed every one. The rooms were huge and they dropped 200 baht off the price for each night when they discovered we were still looking at other places. The pool was enormous and the included breakfast buffet every morning was very nice (some days with an omelette chef!). We had no problems at all with the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BuckeyeStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Me and my family (2 adults and 2 children) stayed at the resort februari 2011in a Grand Villa (with extra madress). The view from the Villa was fantastic! The resort is not on the beach, but it is only a short way to walk. The beach is pretty clean and very nice, not so many tourists. The service on the resort was OK, not more. The breakfast was OK. The pool was very nice-looking, but they had problems to keep the pool clean. The Villa we stayed in was clean and modern.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perholsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed at Chai Chet because it was in a quiet area of the island. It turned out to be a very bad choice. There was no beach at it; one has to walk a little bit to find a small one. The swimming pool was popular. The reception staff, as well as the restaurant staff, were not friendly. It seemed like everyone was unhappy, especially the young kids who worked in the restaurant. Most of them only spoke Thai despite the tourists from around the world and they were not trained very well. Service was below average. Our 1st room, a Hill View was very depressing. We asked for and got a Villa Suite for a lot more money, around US $113. a night. It was big and beautiful although there were some problems with the room. Lighting was poor and the deck was dangerous as it has no rails and just drops off to about a 10 foot or more fall onto rocks below. But the worst, was the sewer odor that seeped into the room. We complained. They would do something but the odor kept coming back. On our last day we were told there was no odor despite the fact that we were gagging from it. The sewer odor was unlike anything we have every experienced in Thailand in over seven years of travel throughout the country. We've been in the north, south, on islands and in Bangkok and never have we smelled anything like that. It was a glaring thing they should never subject people to. They did not seem to care about it and lied about it. The buffet breakfast was also quite poor compared to other buffet breakfasts we've had in Thailand. We'd have to rate it as the worst we have ever had. There was a lot of food but it was poor quality; loads of noodle dishes. They did make eggs to order but the woman making them seemed to always get the orders wrong. They also charged a lot for wireless internet too. Overall, it was a bad experience for the price. For that kind of money we expected a lot more.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Buddahtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

At first glance, your thoughts are "Wow!" The hotel is set beautifully on the curve of the beach. We had rooms overlooking the water. They were beautiful and for the most part comfortable. My wife and I had a bungalow with twin beds. After a restless first night's sleep, we discovered that our beds consisted of 1 top mattress (hers) and 1 box spring (mine). They had taken a twin set and made 2 twin beds. After much hassle, we managed to get mattress cushions put under the sheets so that I couldn't feel the springs. The rooms had a sewage smell in the mornings. The window in the bathroom needed to be kept open all the time.

The hotel looks beautiful. The grounds, however, have been neglected, gardens having promise but needing much TLC. The staff is neither helpful or friendly. The food in the restaurant is the worst Thai food we have ever eaten. The breakfast was awful, serving instant coffee, white bread, and poor Thai food. If you are looking for breakfast breads, find the bakery on the main road. There are very good, and reasonably priced restaurants nearby.

The hotel was overpriced.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCTedUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

The villas overlooking the water are beautiful. Simply decorated, beautiful bathroom (loved the shower) and with the simple touch of folded towels in the shape of elephants and more. The property is well maintained with a beautiful swimming pool, a downfall being that people put towels on sunbeds early in the morning and show up much later. Management doesn't do anything to stop this while other resorts remove towels after a certain period of inactivity. Food at the resort leaves a lot to be desired. Breakfast leaves the most to be desired. It consists of all Thai dishes with one western dish per day. The thai food is some of the worst I've had and the western fare is not any better (when there was any left that is). Considering the restaurant is set amongst beautiful scenery it fails at delivering good food. The staff at check in were not helpful and downright rude. Luckily there are lovely restaurants to choose from near by. If I could take the beautiful villas and put them on a different resort...I would go back then. This place has potential with a little bit of love put into it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trvlbug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.1 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#21 of 73 in Ko Chang
184 reviews
4.9 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
#13 of 73 in Ko Chang
572 reviews
7.2 mi away
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
#26 of 73 in Ko Chang
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chai Chet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chai Chet Resort

Address: 6/2 Moo 4, Cape Chai Chet | Klong Pram Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range: £40 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chai Chet Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chai Chet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chai Chet Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing