We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautifull Resort in an extraordinary Surrounding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island View Resort & Spa
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Last Weekend, I visited this Resort and made many very positive Experiences:

you live 100 Meter in the Sea, surrounded by Water, Islands and a very beautifull Landscape!
The Owner will brief you about all possible Activities can be done - from Canooing to hiking the Mountains. Excellent Food, very nice and friendly People, as well very unique Customers .
Excellent Value for your Money

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brasilieiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed for a week in December and loved it. It is not a 5 star chain hotel where the staff have been on courses and all behave in exactly the same way, and when you have been home for 6 months, the stay mulches into all those other corporate type experiences you had in hotels around the world, and you could not pick one member of staff out from an ID parade. Island view is different and memorable. The owner Dieter is a bit forgetful and I did have to ask twice on a few occasions for a coffee but as I was sitting in the sun with the sea lapping and the metal masts gently pinging in the background, I really didn't care. He strikes me as a slightly shy man but once you make the effort to know him you will realise he is a man of great principle and possesses a wonderful dry humour. We had the room at the very end of the jetty and furthest out to sea. Late afternoons were spent sitting in our private area reading and fishing. The sea bass I caught was hook to plate within an hour and expertly cooked by the young cook, who incidentally makes the best Lad Nar I have ever tasted. The staff are so natural and it is obvious that Dieter treats them so well and they have great respect for him. I am sure you can find a slightly cheaper breakfast or Pad Thai but is that why we go on holiday? Corporate - No. Individual and memorable - Yes.

Room Tip: If you want to fish, choose the end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The hotel rate does not include breakfast, that could be bought for 150 Bt, which is not quite inexpensive for Thailand. For the same 1000 Bt per room we could get ABF in the hotel next door. The hotel is above the water, so make sure you can sleep while it gurgles underneath and as you hear the showers going down into the sea. The metal sound of the mast of the yacht will also keep you from sleeping. Besides, a hard pillow will make your night unforgettable. In the morning you will be wide awake with the sounds of cups and plates from the kitchen that is just opposite the rooms and won't wonder if you find an oriental сockroach under your bed. The wardrobe smells of mold and the safe is out-of-order. Don't hope to getr it fixed - even to change a bulb was a problem for the owner, who told me at 8pm that his workshop was alrezdy closed and peacefully forgotten about my request the next day. Indeed, he's just too old to remember everything. If you like European style rooms and bathrooms, like to chat with other Europeans and never be by yourself then it is a plcae for you. By the way, there is no wi-fi, even though it was advertised. Maybe you are lucvky and could get one of the three free kayaks to get to the nexty island to a dirty beach. There is no beach on this side and you can hardly jump into the sea as it is boiled by many ships passing by.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evgenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PawelSalakPhet, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

The Russian lady asked for an extension of her stay by 2 weeks, which was refused by the Island View Resort management because of the strange behavior of the Russian lady. This review is therefore considered a very obvious revenge act.
The facts:
1. The hotel rate does not include breakfast, that could be bought for 150 Bt, which is not quite inexpensive for Thailand. For the same 1000 Bt per room we could get ABF in the hotel next door.
Reply:
Considering the quality and location, our room prices, are comparably very low, and the menu is very large, so it is our policy to order a la cart.
This comparison is nonsense! How can somebody compare prices for services and food for 3 and 2 star hotels.
Thai resorts around us can by far not offer our quality and large range of dishes, especially if western food and breakfast is concerned. (Example high quality coffee machine with fresh grinded coffee and imported muesli)

2. The hotel is above the water, so make sure you can sleep while it gurgles underneath and as you hear the showers going down into the sea. The metal sound of the mast of the yacht will also keep you from sleeping. Besides, a hard pillow will make your night unforgettable. In the morning you will be wide awake with the sounds of cups and plates from the kitchen that is just opposite the rooms and won't wonder if you find an oriental сockroach under your bed. The wardrobe smells of mold and the safe is out-of-order. Don't hope to getr it fixed - even to change a bulb was a problem for the owner, who told me at 8pm that his workshop was alrezdy closed and peacefully forgotten about my request the next day. Indeed, he's just too old to remember everything.
Reply:
The quality and insulation of our rooms are anbeaten.
For example: Imported PVC doors and windows from Germany, a double very thick curtain, 10 cm of Fiber insulation over the ceiling are a guarantee that no noices disturb our guests. We have many guests from other places coming here to enjoy the quiet and peaceful resort.
The safe is for some people difficult to operate because they can not read the English
Operation manuel. We are always happy to assist if necessary.
As far as maintenance is concerned, of course late in the evening there might not be anybody available to change a bulb, As there are plenty of lights it is not an emergency.
Nevertheless we try to satisfy our customers requests.
The statement: “Indeed, he's just too old to remember everything” is very rude and speaks for the person who make such a statement itself!
3. If you like European style rooms and bathrooms, like to chat with other Europeans and never be by yourself then it is a plcae for you.
Reply:
We are very proud of our modern and clean rooms, so if somebody prefers old fashioned rooms we might indeed not be the right place. We don` t know what standard Russian people require!
As we are a small family resort all our guests know and speak to each other so we do not understand this complaint. If somebody needs 100 % privacy we can offer our holiday homes near the swimming pool.

4. By the way, there is no wi-fi, even though it was advertised
Reply:
Indeed the internet (wifi) was some time out of service because of a broken cable to be fixed by the local telefon company. (This is Thailand it takes time)
We offer to our guests a PC with free internet access via the Mobil telefon network instead.



5. Maybe you are lucvky and could get one of the three free kayaks to get to the nexty island to a dirty beach. There is no beach on this side and you can hardly jump into the sea as it is boiled by many ships
Reply:
We have four kayaks free of charge for our guests. So far we have never experienced any shortage. In case it would happen we could borrow more of them the Gulf Charter company on our pier.
We have many nice beaches around our resort which are not yet spoiled by resorts or people. You can experience nature as it is. There is nobody to to clean any debris on remote beaches until it is swept away by the next high tide.
Regarding swimming around our resort the statement of the Russian lady is real nonsense. It is absolutely impossible that any boat disturbes our guests.

Island View Resort considers this review as a revanche posting because we did not agree to the requested extension by 2 weeks of the stay of this “Russian” lady because of her strange behavior.
Our comment is the same: “never again”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I and our daughter, her husband and two boys spent 10 days over Christmas at this resort and absolutely loved it. If you're looking for over crowded beaches and night life this is not the place for you. We're here from Canada and our daughter teaches here in Thailand so we were looking for some rest, relaxation and family time together. The owners Dieter and Su made sure we had everything we needed and then some. And their daughter (11 yrs) Manau was a delight. The staff were great. They all even took the time to wish me a happy birthday. We stayed up on the hill. The rooms were huge - some with kitchenttes - with big balconies overlooking the bay. It was beautiful. Loved waking up to the sun rising off on the horizon, and boats bobbing in the bay. The pool was lovely and we usually had it to ourselves as most guests were likely sailing or kayaking or touring. The food was incredible. Su is a great chef!! The garlic and pepper prawns were the best and my husband loved his prawn soup for breakfast. We would definitely go back although having been there once, maybe for a shorter period of time.

Room Tip: The view from the pier rooms was amazing but we preferred being up on the hill. On the pier it could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happyretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

My wife and I arrived in late October for a 1 night stay. We left after staying 6 nights and loved it. Dieter was a great host and organised everything we needed without fuss.
The food was sensational, staff excellent and the scenery breath taking and we met some lovely travellers as a bonus.
We needed to stay somewhere away from the tourist areas and found the perfect place to relax and just chill here at Dieter's slice of heaven.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Auey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We, my wife, my doughter (15) and me spend two lovely weeks here.
Everything we want to do, was organised by Dieter, who gave us good advisises for our time right at the beginning and who managed good prices for the scooters, fishermans-trip and so on....
When something in our Rooms was to repair, it was made as fast as possible, after he knew. We sure will come back and enjoy this lovely quiet place.
Thanks to Dieter and his team.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed at Island View for three days at the end of may (rainseason).
We were the only guests stying there at the time and the whole eastcoast of Koh Chang is struggeling during rainseason.
The place is locaded on poles in the water and has a pool on land but we diden't use it or see it because we prefer the ocean.
The staff is friendly and the manager, a swiss man named Roland, are happy to help you with stuff to do and see when you are on the east coast.

The Positives:
Big and comfortable beds.
Aircon and fan in all rooms.
Hot water in the shower, nice bathrooms.
WIFI (even though it's to weak and slow).
Pool.
Free kayak.
Quiet.
Friendly staff.
They have a "help yourself"-policy with the beers and softdrinks in the fridge. Take one and write one up on your bill, pay when checkout.

The negatives:
A bit pricy for being the rainseason (900 baht/night) but then again we diden't bother to bargain with them.
The WIFI-connection is way to weak and slow. Tried to send an email with a 7mb attatchment but I had to give that up. But I think you might get a better speed and strengh if you stay close to the office.
There is no beach close to the place. But you can borrow a kayak for free and go to a small beach on an island only 20 minutes away. Or you can take your motorbike and drive to a beach a little bit further away.

Like most places in Thailand there are a hard competition for the customers so there are small groups of mafia trying to control the hotels, taxis, restaurants etc. Island View has some problem with their signs wich magicly gets torn down every now and then. But trust your map when going there. Yes you are supposed to go on a small walkway by the shore to get there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JBoqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
6.2 mi away
Na Tara Resort
Na Tara Resort
#32 of 73 in Ko Chang
45 reviews
8.9 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#22 of 73 in Ko Chang
192 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
#30 of 73 in Ko Chang
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Buddha View
Buddha View
#18 of 73 in Ko Chang
181 reviews
4.7 mi away
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
#26 of 73 in Ko Chang
94 reviews
10.6 mi away
Chang Cliff Resort
Chang Cliff Resort
#41 of 73 in Ko Chang
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort & Spa

Address: Salak Phet / Rong Than, Ko Chang, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range: £23 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please check our photos as there is one with a big building, which ist totally wrong and misleading as we have only one storage buildings. We do not know whot put this photo in. The photo we have attached shows part of our resort with some explanation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Island View Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing