We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic setting and close to bars and restaurants”
Review of Koh Chang Sea Hut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koh Chang Sea Hut
Ranked #32 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
West Mids UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting and close to bars and restaurants”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here over Christmas, a really good setting perched above the water. Breakfast was good as was the service. My wife and i are a bit squeamish and detest any kind of creepy crawlies, we found quite a few roaches hanging out in our hut so it was operation ' mossie net ' at night to keep the bed sterile. If you can cope with a few squatters it's a top place to stay.
This was a couple years back hence date discrepancy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edncharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This place is quite difficult to get to, but it is incredibly unique and, in general, a great place to stay.

Good Things:
-The sunsets are outstanding
-The bungalo was very clean and the a/c was a welcome treat
- The southwestern part of the Island is a bit more off-the-beaten-path and is beautiful and quieter than the areas farther north closer to the ferry terminal
- The breakfasts at your bungalo were simple but good with great fruits
- mosquito nets - we did have a few nights when we saw a couple of cockroaches or similar bugs climbing on the wall of our bungalo. This isnt to say that the place was infested, I think it is just what one must expect when living on a pier, over the water, near the end of a long, city pier with food, etc. we just closed up the mosquito nets and fell asleep.
- the service was very good
-there is free internet access (but it only reaches the deck of the main building)

Bad Things:
- We thought that the Hotel would be situated on its own pier. In fact, it is located on a smal side pier which forks from the end of the long city pier. The city pier is not a wide city pier that one is used to seeing on the costal cities of the US or Europe, but is, instead, a narrow, concrete pier that is packed with vendors, shops, and a few homes and restaurants. At the very end of the pier is where the dive and fishing boats depart from (we liked this part because it was fun to watch) but the long, stinky pier with dirty water below was just not what we were expecting and so we had a rough first impression. I would like to add that after we got used to the "ruggedness" of the location and the pier, our opinions changed and, in the end, we found it quite charming. Finally, I think that it is important to note that the small side pier that leads to the hotel is very neat, well lit and, when one finally reaches the hotel, it is definitly separate enough from the husstle and busstle of the city pier to unwind, relax and enjoy the simple comfort of the lobby and the individual bungalos.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bungalo 3. This was the middle of the three bungalos that face directly west. These t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here for 11 nights. The place has a great location on the pier in Bang Bao. Everything is clean and they bring your breakfast to your hut every morning. There is no pool here, but the owner will take by boat for free to the nearest beach (not crowded at all). You can eat in some of the many restaurants on the pier. The place is quiet at night. Make sure to get a hut the outer rim, which have the best views and privacy

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel is located at the very tip of Bang Bao pier, which is bustling with souvenir shops and expensive fish restaurants. It is also the place where all day trips to islands kick off, so tourists from other parts of the island come here in huge crowds every morning around 9 am and leave around 5 pm.

Staying here gives you many advantages over other tourists.

1) you get private hut and terrasse where the breakfast is served at the time convenient for you.
2) if you go for fishing or island trip, you do not have to wake up too early as other tourists, as the tip of the pier where the boats start is just 1 minutes walk away.
3) you have all the shops and restaurants and 7-11 just next to you, but you do not trade taxi and moto traffic for it as on Kai Bai or Lonely beach.
4) the most amazing restaurant of the island is just next to the hotel - Buddha View
5) if you want to eat regular cheap thai food, just walk off the pier
6) kayaks are free of charge, so every morning we were sailing to nearest Bang Bao beach, which made it a very nice alternative to motobike or walking in heat.

Hosts are very welcoming and huts are very nicely decorated.

Great place to stay in Koh Chang - absolutely recommend! Thumbs up!!

Room Tip: Take the huts that overlook the bay - they catch wi-fi from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lelya_RU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The Koh Chang Seat Hut ‘complex’ is the last accommodation you will find at the end of Bang Bao pier. It may also be the most expensive – but if you can afford the 2,500B per night then go for it, you won’t be disappointed.

[See our video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQD67ol3Pfc]

Just before the tourist shops and restaurants run out and the speed boats, tour boats and dive boats start, turn right onto one of the pier’s several side-arms and you’ll find the Sea Huts at the far end.

Painted in a distinctive deep turquoise blue, there are about eight huts set off the wooden pier decking, with a number of other rooms up on the first floor of the main building.

Expect a friendly (if not particularly English-speaking) welcome, and don’t worry which room you get as they each have their advantages.

Essentially it is all about when you want to catch the sun on your private ‘balcony’ – taking advantage of some of the most comfortable sun-loungers we have encountered anywhere! You get a mattress supplied daily with a couple of fresh towels.

The first few bungalows are better for the morning sun, but the ones at the end are better for the afternoon and sunset. Take your pick.

There is a large sun-deck/bar area outside the main building that also has steps to the water and a slide that will deposit you into the somewhat murky water of Bang Bao bay. It’s worth noting that at half-tide the water at the bottom of the slide is only waist-deep…so go in with a big splash, not an Olympic-type dive.

Should you want to paddle to any of the nearby beaches then there are free kayaks, which need to be slid down the steps to the water.

The views from the rooms are actually quite lovely – either looking towards the west of the bay and the sunset or towards the south-east to catch the sunrise behind the moored dive boats and the ornamental lighthouse at the end of the pier.

And to ensure that the views are one-way only, all of the windows in the octagonal bungalows are heavily tinted, meaning you can look out, but others can’t peer in.

Inside the bungalows you will find good air conditioning, a fridge/minibar and table, a spacious wardrobe and – perhaps most importantly – the most comfortable beds and luxurious pillows you will be likely to find anywhere in Thailand.

[Tip: check the contents of the minibar and note anything that may be missing on the list you’ll find on the desk.]

You’ll also get a nice bathroom that is partially open to the sky, making it a fresh and comfortable space to wash under a nice hot shower.

Breakfast is served on a tray to the table outside your room at the time of your choosing. Fresh coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, plates of fruit and excellent pancakes are on offer. As is an American breakfast with truly delicious scrambled eggs and the tastiest crispy bacon you could ever wish for. Or ask for anything else you fancy!

Rooms are cleaned well and quite early in the day when the mini-bar is restocked.

If you want to sample some of the local Koh Chang wine you can buy a bottle from one of the mini-marts on the pier (last one on the left before the shore). It is made from a local fruit (mangosteen) and is akin to your aunt’s home-made damson wine. But not all that bad if you ignore the slightly brown, murky colour. The hotel will be happy to supply you with a corkscrew and glasses.

We booked two nights, but wished we had opted for longer as it would be easy to spend four or five happy days at the Sea Huts even if you are determined to travel around the islands and see as much as you can.

[TIP: if you are going on any of the island’s tours then speak to the guy at ‘Friendly Tours’ about half way down the pier on the right (heading towards the shore) – he’s the guy with the lovely ginger and white cat on a string, and he really is very helpful!]

[Food TIP: try the Buddha View restaurant…exceptionally good cooking!]

Room Tip: the rooms next to the main building face the sunrise, the ones at the far end face the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnBownas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We'd promised ourselves to visit Koh Chang Sea Huts on our return to Koh Chang, and they lived up to our expectations. Great rooms, with fantastic harbour & sunset views.

Breakfast was delivered to the patio area outside our hut at the time of our choosing. In fact the service was excellent throughout, with friendly & helpful staff.

Free kayaks are available, as well as a free longtail trip to the nearby and secluded Bang Bao Beach.

With plenty of restaurants to choose from in the evening, with fresh fish & seafood a speciality, this is a great hotel which makes a change from the typical beach resort in Koh Chang. I would recommend it and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We only stayed here for one night, just for a change, and because we enjoy visiting the pier and wanted to see what it was like at night. The hut was lovely, clean and comfortable, with everything we needed and we loved the location. Apart from the busy periods in the morning and evenings we found it quite peaceful and relaxing, and enjoyed our breakfast, delivered at a prearranged time, to the decking outside our hut.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne_parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.6 mi away
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
0.6 mi away
Bangbao Beach Resort
Bangbao Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Chang Tai
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Chang Boat Chalet
Koh Chang Boat Chalet
#78 of 115 in Ko Chang
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chaipura Resort
Chaipura Resort
#5 of 115 in Ko Chang
117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buddha View
Buddha View
#16 of 73 in Ko Chang
165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cliff Cottage
Cliff Cottage
#9 of 115 in Ko Chang
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Chang Sea Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Chang Sea Hut

Property: Koh Chang Sea Hut
Address: 53 Bang Bao Village, Ko Chang, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You don’t have to be in the Caribbean to experience a Maldives-like vacation. The bungalows at Koh Chang Sea Hut stand on wooden stilts directly above the water, giving you that feeling of a seaside lifestyle. Feel the soothing breeze with a rustic ambiance while enjoying the occasional sights of fishes under your feet. Keep yourself occupied with a wide range of activities such as kayaking, fishing and mountain biking. The resort is located at the southern tip of the island, giving it the advantage of being the jump-off point to snorkeling and diving trips at nearby islands. The sea under your feet, the charming mountain watching over, a cool gentle wind, and the most spectacular sunset view on the island – the right combination for a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Koh Chang Sea Hut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Sea Hut Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing