We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place with construction sites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bailan Beach Resort
Ranked #30 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Iwiny, Poland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic place with construction sites”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in the hotel a few days on a family vacation.

The place is run directly by owners which results in great service. They are very friendly people.
Food is also great, as are rooms. Everything was clean and in order.

The cons:
- the pool is very small
- the beach is non existent; even making a single photo with a good beach pictures was a miracle

The biggest disadvantage were construction sites next door - all day horrible noise! This made us leave this place after 4 days. Beware of this and check our for construction sites before going there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grzegorz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    69
    33
    15
    10
See reviews for
48
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

The service aint the best because of the language barrier but they were always friendly and tried to help us. If you go there ask for Bee, you can speak almost freely in english with her.

The bungalows were placed right near the sea 20-30 meters. The aircondition worked great and could cool off the room in 20-30 minutes. The bungalows were cosy and except for the gekkos and a couple of ants we didnt see any insects or creeps inside in our stay.

We stayed there for 4 days and that was enough. The beach aint good at the resort so go to lonely beach as others also recommended. The location were really good, quiet and a bit aside from the citylife as we prefer. It took 20-30 min on scooter into the largest city and there were 2 others on the way in there. After the 4 days we had tried almost everything except for the city night life, so we were glad we left the island for another.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThorDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

advised stay here is max 3 days. It is quiet but not very pretty. Why?
- staff is VERY young and not too experienced. Most of them try hard, but are not trained.
- management seems to be absent at all times, so decisions can't be made by staff
- when paying with credit card they wanted to charge us extra 3% upon they agreed amount
- breakfast is the same every day, sometimes fruit isn't fresh, coffee is instant coffee
- there is a beach, but you can't use it. Water is shallow and very sharp rocks, so no swimming here. What do you mean BEACH resort?
- beds are ROCK hard, and chairs at restaurant do not have cushions and pool chairs too!
- restaurant food is good, but has the look and feel of a highway stop

so...just stay here to sleep and eat&drink elsewhere. Pool can be fun but is very small and if you're lucky you can use it. We couldn't use it for 3 days because chemicals were not used properly so the water was green...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mvm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel with a lot of luxury, pleasant atmosphere and facillities. The staff was friendly and helpfull and with almost every day a massage the vacation was complete.
We booked a sea view bungalow, and it was nice to wake up with the see view (but not necessary), and after that the breakfast to enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankevv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon for 10 nights. We loved our stay and would definitely recommend Bailan Beach Resort.

We stayed in one of the Sea Front Bungalows (we had the first one which was fantastic because we were close to the pool, sea, reception and restaurant). The bungalow is one room with all the basics included and a toilet which doubles up as a shower room. The bathroom is a little basic and tired now but adequate for what you need. The aircon worked well, as did the TV and mini bar. The water in the minibar is free but you have to pay for the other drinks. You also have a little balcony at the front of the bungalow which is perfect for looking out at the sea.

The pool is quite small but lovely to cool off in and there are a few loungers around it with umbrellas. There aren't lots by the pool (there are more by the beachfront as well as hammocks) so if it is busy you may not get a seat by the pool. Next to the pool you can have a variety of massages which are reasonably priced and very relaxing.

The restaurant is very good, clean and well air-conditioned. The food is good, a little more expensive than the restaurants around but still reasonable. The breakfast isn't bad, not the best I have had in Thailand but its pretty good. They have freshly cooked omelettes, fried eggs and pancakes and a small variety of other things.

There is free Wi Fi available which has good signal in the restaurant but wasn't great in the room. I'm not sure what the coverage is like in the other rooms in the resort. They also have a pc and printer that you can use if you need it. We needed to print off our flight details and used it for about 10 minutes and it cost us 30B. You can probably get cheaper internet access in one of the internet cafes around but this was useful as it was onsite.

As has been said many times the beach is small and the sea is rocky. If you love the beach you will need to go to Lonely Beach or White Sands for better beaches. However this would be a nice quiet place for families if you don't want to be at the busier beaches. You can also use the kayaks they have on offer and ride out to one of the Islands or take a trip down the bay to Lonely beach. You don't have to pay for them and we had one for pretty much the whole day.

The staff at Bailan are lovely, very helpful, all speak English well and if they don't they will ask one of the others to help. In particular the young girl at the main desk was very helpful when I was ill. My husband tried to go and get me some Imodium and couldn't find any so she gave him some for free and generally took an interest in how I was, which was lovely.

We liked the location of Bailan. It is at the South West end of the Island which means it is quieter than Lonely Beach and White Sands. There are a few restaurants to choose from. We enjoyed the one right to the left of the hotel for reasonably priced food. There are only a couple of shops in Bailan which don't have a lot of choice and are a bit expensive so if you need anything you will need to go to the 7 Eleven in Lonely Beach.

In terms of getting to Lonely Beach, during the day you can walk it. Its about 15 mins walk along the main road, which is safe for adults but be careful with kids because these roads are winding. I wouldn't walk it at night because the road isn't lit at all. Otherwise you will need to get a taxi (50B per person to Lonely Beach and 100B per person to White Sands) or you can hire Motorbikes for about 180B per day. I was a bit reluctant to hire a bike because of the review in Rough Guide (which is like my travel Bible) saying that it can be quite dangerous and there are a lot of accidents. However we did hire the bike and as long as you are sensible its fine (we pretty much rode around the whole island in the end!) Also personally I think you should wear the helmet - its common sense, but not compulsory and most people don't. Therefore you may struggle to find one that fits, but worth trying.

We didn't mind being further away from where everything else is going on, but if you want to be near all the bars, shops and restaurants then you may want to consider whether Bailan is right for you or be prepared to pay for taxis and motorbikes.

You can book various trips from the hotel. We booked an elephant trek with Ban Kwan Chang (which I have reviewed and is amazing!) there are other trips available as well but we didn't book any so can't comment on those.

The only slight criticism I have is that they don't do anything special for honeymooners. Not that I'm asking for much but something would have been nice, like free fruit or drink or something. But that is just a small criticism and very specific (maybe they don't get a lot of honeymooners.)

Otherwise this is a lovely place in a good location if you want it to be quiet. The staff are great, food was good and the room was clean and comfortable. All in all pretty great!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigbird1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

The renovations mentioned in early 2013 seem to all be done. There was still a pile of leftover construction rubbish not very well hidden behind the restaurant/lobby building.

As other reviews have said, the beach is ok from the sand but you can't swim in the water - shallow and filled with sharp coral and rocks. But the atmosphere is nice for kids, staff are very helpful, and they can arrange tours for you at about the same price you would find outside the hotel.

Restaurant is passable, about equal to the other places in Bai Lan (the worst and most overpriced food we had on the island was at Tarzan Restaurant in Bai Lan, although the live music there was very nice). One thing to keep in mind is that Bai Lan is almost the bottom of the island - I would recommend renting a motorbike as the bus is not as often passing by this area at night and it's expensive. We got bikes at 150 Baht for 24 hours, where as you pay 50 baht at least per person per ride on the songtaew bus.

Pool is smaller than what the photos give you the impression of, fine for younger kids but nothing amazing.

The one problem with our room was the A/C was not cold in the middle of the day, but this was on one of the hottest days of the year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiaExpatIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Very nice resort! Yes,the beach isnt the best,but the pool is RIGHT on the beach so you can still enjoy the beach,its also swimmable,just rocky.
Staff is very very friendly, late night when we arrived they helped us resolve a issue with transport we got from Bangkok,they are always smiling and speak good english.
The rooms are very private,not brand new,but nice rooms.Nice balconies to sit and enjoy the peacefulness.
You can also get massages near the pool,very nice atmosphere! And they are the same price as anywhere on the streets so it was superb just to get it outside under the palmtrees instead of aircon room.
The best thing about this resort is definately the breakfast,there is so much food and so many choices:fruit,thai food,pancakes,eggs-everything you can possibly want! and you can sit right by the beach. Every day we just sat there for hours during breakfast because it was so good!
100% recommend this accomodation!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauriita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.5 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#3 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bailan Hut Resort
Bailan Hut Resort
#77 of 107 in Ko Chang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Cottage
Paradise Cottage
#12 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elephant Bay Resort
Elephant Bay Resort
#4 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.5 mi away
K.B. Resort
K.B. Resort
#5 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
White House Bailan Resort
White House Bailan Resort
#63 of 72 in Ko Chang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailan Beach Resort

Property: Bailan Beach Resort
Address: 37 Moo 1 | Bailan, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bailan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bailan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailan Beach Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing