We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bailan Beach Resort
Ranked #29 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
hemel hempstead
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not to be recommended!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We are very experienced travelers and have stayed in Thailand many times and can honestly say this is one place I would not recommend! i wasn't expecting luxury but the state of the beach front rooms was a disgrace! Fortunately you don't stay in your room except to sleep but even the bed was torture! The staff were very sweet but hopeless! you can't call yourself a resort and not even have someone in the restaurant that speaks English. Do NOT expect any beach here. Jump in a taxi and go to Klong Koi beach which is lovely. in fact just find somewhere to stay there and forget Bailan!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    71
    34
    15
    10
See reviews for
49
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
totton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My girlfriend and i came to Bailan beach resort after a 3 night stay in Bangkok as the start of a 2 month tour of Thailand. We booked a 7 night stay in one of the beach view huts and to be perfectly honest felt a little let down. Initial impression of the resort is is well kept with a beautiful backdrop of the sea, it has a newly built resturant and apartment block and the pool area and gardens very well kept, however the huts though attractive from the outside are cramped, dark, very dated and not the romantic enviroment i had hoped for. The sliding doors did not close properly, the bathroom small and uninviting and our luke warm shower tripped out after a few minutes each time we used it and the matteress.....well im not sure it qualifies for that description as it was more like a hard solid mass. We decided to extend our stay by 3 days as we loved the island but opted to stay in one of the new apartments and what a total contrast, the rooms are large,clean and well appointed, beautifully decorated and the bed was sooo comfortable.The staff were on the whole helpful and polite and were quick to accomodate any requests, taxis and mopeds arranged by reception. The resturant and daytime/evening meals were well presented and good value for money though not so breakfast which was mediocre, often cold with very little choice though i put this down to there being no one overseeing the operation- a shame. The position of the resort is ideal with lonely beach and its numerous resturants/bars and chilled out vibes only 2 minutes drive away and numerous resturants situated at the entrance of the resort. The best beach by far is at the southern end of the island (10
Min drive from the resort) just past Ban Bang pier, exquistite beach, crystal clear water, a few small drinking spots, small number of people and not a jet ski in sight.......gorgeous!!! On the whole Bailan Resort is a nice peaceful place to relax and is well run and, if they sort out the breakfast issues and spend some money on the beach view huts, then it is worthy of its 3 star rating. Would we stay there again???......yes but not in the huts.

Room Tip: The new apartments are excellent but beach huts poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevDewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

nice location, good boungalows, amazing staff. the swimming pool is very good. the resort is quiet even in high seasson. staff very friendly and honest. many good options for outside activities. restaurant and bar have very good quality for good price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertoms13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

stayed nov 2013.on arrival taken to sea view room.sliding doors held together with external padlock.obviously the door had not closed and locked properly for some time!doors did not meet in middle,so allowing easy mosquito entrance.mosquito net over bed had big holes,thereby negating its use!room was o.k.--nothing special ,as it needed modernisation and repairs.nice view from porch,but so called beach was pretty non-existent.it could have looked better if the staff had cleaned the beach area,which, after all, was exclusive to this hotel.the sea front was a mess of rubbish.the staff cleaned the tree leaves every morning,but did not look just beyond to the visible mess.very few sunbeds with many beds broken.there was a wooded sun bed in front of our room that was totally rotten and dangerous,with nails sticking out.a wooden table had 3 legs ,with the other rotten leg a few feet away.this did not get thrown away,merely moved when the staff swept.it gave the place a look of neglect.the pool looked new or refurbished and was very adequate.the dining room was good,with adequate food.staff were all very young and were helpful.this is a very quiet location,but requires upgrading to an acceptable level!

Room Tip: sea view is nicest,but rooms not in very good condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I can say only positive thing about this resort that its located in the middle of green. Let me start the with the price. İts very expensive . Secondly room, you pay quite expensive and expect good service but may be only 1 star service. Everything in the room is low class. . If you need extra bed no need to request you can sleep on the floor because bed is like concrete. Breakfast was terrible. Anyway nothing positive to say about this resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

The resort is really in a poor quality.
When we came to our bungalow the door simply felt down, and we needed to wait for a guy to fix the door. Everything seemed dirty, and the bungalow smelled like mold.
Bad bathroom, we did'nt even wanted to shower there.
Ugly beach, and small pool.
Don't understand how it can look so nice on the pictures.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Schoelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roudnice nad Labem, Ustecky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed one week in the resort in the bungalow. Room was clean but their bedding would need to be renewed. The food in the restaurant was very good. The staff is very young as usually in Thailand, but they tried and were friendly.
Don´t visit Bailan beach if you expect beach resort - there is beach, half stone, half sandy, but it looks like there was a tornado on the beach:) There is terrible mess - not only remnants of trees but also sharp pieces of sheet etc. I don´t understand why owner does not make anything with the beach beacuase is loosing money like that - people go swim to other beaches where they spend their money for lunch etc. It would be enough to clean the beach, refubrish the beach bar - there is lot of stuff doing nothing during the day. Its probably result of bad management.

The swimming pool is very nice but we prefer beach, so we used it only two times..

If you are looking for the peacful romantic place for a good price this one is for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noucrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
5.3 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#22 of 73 in Ko Chang
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 73 in Ko Chang
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elephant Bay Resort
Elephant Bay Resort
#4 of 116 in Ko Chang
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sofia Garden Resort
Sofia Garden Resort
#58 of 107 in Ko Chang
62 reviews
4.8 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
3.7 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailan Beach Resort

Property: Bailan Beach Resort
Address: 37 Moo 1 | Bailan, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bailan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bailan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailan Beach Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing