We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Souk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Souk
Ranked #8 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have stayed at The Souk three years running now, my partner and seven year old daughter just LOVE it. The owners Eddie and his wife are so frendly and accomodating they will go out of there way to help and you and so instantly you feel at home. From the moment you walk through the beautiful gardens in to the retro, relaxed restaraunt overlooking the sea you feel your in paradise and if your lucky you will catch the fishing boat bringing fresh in tonights special. I find that we spend 90% of our evenings there as why would we want to go anywhere else. Of course we do venture out and even then Eddie is happy to give us a ride over in to white sands if he isnt too busy. We have found that every year we meet people from previous years and have made some good friends, everyone seems to want to come back which speaks volumes. The food is excellent, the setting tranquil and the service damn right outstanding. The Souk is a little piece of paradise within paradise and I find that when I return its like a second home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizgemmaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    22
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
59
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Neuchatel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have spent a fantastic week at the Souk ! Located far away from the noise of hotels and restaurants of the East coast, The Souk offers an ideal location from which to explore Koh Tchang island. The rooms located on the beach are clean and pretty. The restaurants we have experimented outside of the Souk were a disapointment to us compared to Eddy’s sophisticated and delicious cuisine ! The reputation of Eddy’s cuisine goes well beyond Thailand’s borders as he is regularly invited by customers to come to Europe in order to give cooking lessons ! To us, The Souk is by far the best restaurant of the island. The restaurant and bar offers a relaxing and cozy atmosphere. The choice of music, the decoration, everything contributes to make this place feel like paradise. The great sense of hospitality of the Souk’s personnel made us feel at home. Being a family we had specific requests and The Souk’s team did everything they could to meet our demands. We can only recommend The Souk to anyone willing to visit Koh Tchang island for a short or long term trip. The place is well suited for families, couples, globe-trotters, etc…The Briancourt / Stauffer family (France/Switzerland)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

A very charming and heavenly place in Ko Chang, "outside the box" on the East Coast of the island
Food, drinks, ice cream, accommodation, sea and sun, everything is so perfect...
We would like to keep it secret..!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

A lovely resort on a very quiet beach which serves great food. The Souk is run by a lovely family Ed and Oh along with their daughter Angie. The bungalows are very comfortable and funky and have great views. Ed has just taken delivery of a small boat that he is going to use to take customers out fishing or on snorkelling trips. They also have kayaks that you can take out in the very safe bay. We have been a number of times and it never disappoints.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Lovely beachfront resort with a great restaurant, a funky vibe and fantastic service, a perfect place and hard to get away from. Stayed here for a week, could easily have stayed longer. Bungalow 1 was spacious, clean and funky. Good powerful shower, nice firm huge matrass and I loved the disco lights beneath my bed :-).

With a scooter you can explore the east coast which is completely different from the hussle and bustle of the west. So green, quiet and still authentic. Absolutely beautiful vistas. Take a plunge in the Klong Nonsi waterfall, you will love it. But you can also simply remain at the Souk, it has everything you need to be completely lazy and happy. Great cocktails too!

Thank you so much Ed and Oh for your sweet and continuous hospitality, you did all to make your guests feel comfortable and relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble for you. I felt very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeesD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Very nice resort with totally 7 rooms, of which 3 have air conditioning. We slept in one of the fan rooms. Very funky rooms with an open air shower (the walls are high enough to prevent the neighbors from watching you while taking a shower :-)). All bungalows have views towards the beach. The restaurant serves great food against reasonable prices. Very nice terrace for having your dinner or just to drink something. If you want to explore the island it's best to rent a scooter at the centre point pier. The owner, Eddy, can tell you the best place to rent over there.
We had no negative experiences.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We were recommended by a family friend to stay with Eddy at the Souk. It was perfect. We stayed for 7 nights and we could have stayed longer. We hired a moped and explored the island, which was hair-raising (moutains + winding roads + unrestricted moped) found some beautiful beaches. The food was excellent and the company was amazing, we preferred to stay at the Souk eating delicious food listening to chilled out songs with Eddy and his family. We really hope to go back one day! We stayed in one of the original bungalows, if you wanted more luxury, go for the air-conditioned.

Room Tip: if you want authentic go for an original hut, if you need more luxury go for air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.5 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amber Sands Beach Resort
Amber Sands Beach Resort
#1 of 107 in Ko Chang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
7.7 mi away
K.B. Resort
K.B. Resort
#5 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Little Sunshine Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
#25 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#1 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Souk

Property: The Souk
Address: 51 / 4 Moo 2, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing