We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay and friendly staff ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Souk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Souk
Ranked #8 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay and friendly staff ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The staff are superbly friendly and accommodating. The bungalows are fairly basic and could be a bit cleaner but it's fine considering this is a budget accommodation. Beach is super close, breakfast is great, and the lounge area is nice. It was quite peaceful despite being fully booked.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Diego S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    22
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
59
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Branch, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

All I can saw is........."WOW"! Ed and O are amazing and have a real pearl in Koh Chang. Stayed numerous nights on the quiet side of the island with Ed and O and their family run business. Absolutely the best meal I've ever had in all my travels around the world. Had fresh cooked Barracuda and Papaya Salad on two different occasions. The Best! Would recommend The Souk to anyone for their travels. Such a nice family and so helpful and warm. Such a pleasant experience. Mark and Shannon (US)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great Location, excellent Service, delicious food, nice and friendly People and an awesome view from the terrace of the restaurant.
Everything is fine at the souk resort Koh chang. You will Love it!
***************************************************************************

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here for a week and had an absolutely fantastic time.

It's about 1 km from the centerpoint ferry pier, Eddy (the owner) came to pick us up, which he offered to do when I called to make a reservation. When we arrived we could not have been happier. The place is on the eastside of the island which is very quiet, and it's right on the beach. Essentially it has a private beach, which is cleaned every morning I believe. Since it's on the quiet part of the island, if you want to shop or do something other than lounge around on the beach or in/around your bungalow (which is still a fine way to spend your time) you will need to rent a scooter at the pier.

The bungalows are very nice. Don't expect endless luxury but it's got everything you need. Good bed, fridge, AC and/or fan (we had both, though you can get a bungalow with just a fan), bathroom. The colored lights under the bed are a nice touch. Definately good value for money.

After dropping our stuff in the room we headed over to the restaurant. The food is fenomenal as well. There is ample choice and since we've had dinner there every night, and a couple lunches, I can honestly say there isn't a bad choice on the menu. The cocktails are very good also.

The staff is also very friendly, even though most of them don't speak that much English. Isn't that much of a problem really since Eddy and his wife will always be around if you need anything. They are both very helpful and accomodating. Our AC broke down during our stay and Eddy was straight in there to sort it out. We had to do without the AC for one night, which was very kindly compensated in the price. Eddy is also great to chat with and has some good info on the things to do on the island.

If there was one point of criticism I'd say that the bungalows could have been cleaned slightly more regularly during our stay. Though, not really a big problem since it was spotless when we came in.

Overall I can strongly recommend the Souk. We were looking for a quiet, romantic place away from the crowds and have definately found what we were looking for at the Souk. The bungalow, the restaurant and the staff made sure that if we ever return to Koh Chang, we will stay at the Souk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HF K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed at the charming Souk as a couple for only two nights which really wasn't long enough. The owner Ed was there when we arrived to greet us and made us feel instantly welcome. Ed and his family are all extremely friendly and helpful.

The Souk is situated right upon the beach which offers stunning views. You can watch the fisherman catching fresh fish that is brought into the Souk to be put on the menu for lunch or evening meal. Ed is an excellent cook and will recommend meals and make suggestions if you are feeling adventurous. Every meal we ate at the Souk was stunning, the red wine and cocktails were amazing too.

Ed has a lot of stories to share and a strong knowledge the local nature and animals which was really interesting.

Overall we had an excellent stay and enjoyed the company of Ed and his lovely family. We would strongly recommended the Souk for your stay in Kho Chang.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littleun25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The place is well managed.
Very kind owners and staff.
They helped me with transportation in several occasions when they could.
The location is very good if you want to be in a quiet romantic environment.
The restaurant is clean with nice food.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had no reservation when we arrived in Koh Chang and spontaneously we decided to have a look at The Souk. As soon as we arrived there we understood we had been very lucky! At The Souk, the mix of nature and comfort is simply charming. The beach could not be closer, the bungalows are lovely and, differently from other places of Koh Chang, the place is surrounded by a peaceful atmosphere. And this is not even the best part of it: Eddie and everyone working at The Souk have been incredibly kind and helpful to us, to a level we have not experienced anywhere else on our trip. If you are traveling to Koh Chang I warmly recommend The Souk.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank GoAnnaGo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.5 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amber Sands Beach Resort
Amber Sands Beach Resort
#1 of 107 in Ko Chang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
7.7 mi away
K.B. Resort
K.B. Resort
#5 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Little Sunshine Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
#25 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#1 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Souk

Property: The Souk
Address: 51 / 4 Moo 2, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing