We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to relax”
Review of The Souk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Souk
Ranked #9 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place to relax”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I travelled a lot in Thailand since 2007 but the Souk is the best place I ever Visited in Thailand.
First of all is the place Quiet and lovely. Not Busy like White sand Beach or the West Cost. The food is great food, the best I ever had and the price is quiet low. The Staff is very friendly and helpful. The Resort is a bit far from the Shops and Main Beach but the Owner is helpful and give a ride to the "city". I recommend to rent a Shooter to explore the Island since Ko Chang is quiet big and a lot of Spots beside the main beaches. The costumers are like a big family and it's easy to find company. If you look for a lovely Budget Bungalow (Fan or Air con) in a nice atmosphere with a lovely Staff, good food to relax, the Souk is the right place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kuya1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    22
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
59
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at the Souk in one of the air conditioned rooms for 4 days in December. We booked it because of the reviews on trip advisor. If you want lots of noise and crowds then this is not the place for you. If though like myself and my family want a beautiful resort on the unspoilt Eastern side of the island set in a tranquil surrounding with great food then come to the Souk. The sea is gently shelving and very safe for the children and although the owner was absent due to a family bereavement for a couple of days during our visit we were happy. Thank you Ed and Oh for a wonderful family holiday.

Room Tip: I would go for one of the air conditioned rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheena633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at The Souk for 3 nights in December 2013. If I hadn't prepaid through Agoda, we would have left after the first night. My experience doesn't match that of the other reviewers and that was partly because the owner was gone during our stay.

The Souk is pretty isolated on the quieter, east side of Koh Chang. That was the reason we booked the hotel. We thought it would be great to just relax at the resort. The first problem was that, aside from breakfast, the hotel didn't have any food (just fried rice and tempura). It looked like they had an extensive menu, but nothing was available because the owner was gone. This is a problem when your resort is isolated. There's only one other restaurant within easy walking distance and that is at Amber Sands resort. Fortunately for us, it is an excellent restaurant. We ate there everyday and regretted that we weren't staying at Amber Sands.

The second issue was the ridiculously hard bed. It was a box springs with a thin mattress pad placed on top. It was not an actual mattress. If someone told the owner that this was an inner coil mattress, then he got taken. Inner coil mattresses have foam or padding on the top to make it comfortable. You can feel the springs right at the top of this one--very unpleasant to sleep on.

The final issue was that we didn't love the location of The Souk. We expected isolation and quiet, but we also thought we could go for walks along the beach. There isn't much of a beach here at all. You can't walk more than about 100 meters when the tide is out, and it isn't great for swimming either due to all the "flotsam" that washes ashore. Other than Amber Sands, there isn't anything nearby. You really have to have a scooter if you want to stay at The Souk. We didn't know this and felt stuck there.

One thing we liked was the free kayaks; we took advantage of this each day. We also liked the size of the bungalow and the look of the restaurant. The breakfast was decent, the staff were friendly, and the wifi worked most of the time we were there.

But overall, I don't recommend The Souk. Instead, stay next door at Amber Sands. Although you have the same isolated location and crummy beach, you also have a nice pool area, beautiful grounds, and an excellent restaurant. You would be quite happy not having a scooter and could enjoy your holiday just relaxing at the resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BopperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

If you like superb food, great drinks, service with genuine warmth and care, all in a seductively beautiful environment, then the Souk is for you. Owner's Ed and O have created a true haven for the discerning traveler who appreciates all the right amenities, but likes to feel at home. They are gracious hosts who know how to serve a wonderful meal, day in, day out. Their unique artistic vision is present everywhere - little gems of detail for you to discover in the tiles of the pathway, the plants, and the tasteful bungalows. A cold drink at dusk on their restaurant deck overlooking the beach is pure bliss. We'll be back again very soon for sure

Room Tip: A/C bungalows right on the beach are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The staff are superbly friendly and accommodating. The bungalows are fairly basic and could be a bit cleaner but it's fine considering this is a budget accommodation. Beach is super close, breakfast is great, and the lounge area is nice. It was quite peaceful despite being fully booked.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Diego S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branch, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

All I can saw is........."WOW"! Ed and O are amazing and have a real pearl in Koh Chang. Stayed numerous nights on the quiet side of the island with Ed and O and their family run business. Absolutely the best meal I've ever had in all my travels around the world. Had fresh cooked Barracuda and Papaya Salad on two different occasions. The Best! Would recommend The Souk to anyone for their travels. Such a nice family and so helpful and warm. Such a pleasant experience. Mark and Shannon (US)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great Location, excellent Service, delicious food, nice and friendly People and an awesome view from the terrace of the restaurant.
Everything is fine at the souk resort Koh chang. You will Love it!
***************************************************************************

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.5 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
975 reviews
9.5 mi away
Warapura Resort
Warapura Resort
#8 of 107 in Ko Chang
206 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Serenity Resort Koh Chang
Serenity Resort Koh Chang
#3 of 116 in Ko Chang
77 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Erawan Koh Chang
The Erawan Koh Chang
#2 of 107 in Ko Chang
109 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Souk

Property: The Souk
Address: 51 / 4 Moo 2, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing