We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreasonably expensive place”
Review of The Souk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Souk
Ranked #11 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This resort have a nice beach without any stones. It was a little bit woundering to see nobody here. Soon I understand the reason: since The Souk became TripAdvisor winner, they raised their prices up to unreasonable level (a small dish of pad thai kai, that usually costs not more than 60 baht here you will get only for 140!).

The place is near main road and all passing cars noizes you will hear from your well-priced bungalow. My honest advice is do not support this unreasonable high prices and to choose some cheaper or more qualitaty place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sergei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for The Souk
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at The Souk for 4 nights in November 2013. We loved this out of the way guesthouse. The beach is a beautiful small crescent of amber sand with views of the mainland in the distance. We rented one of the bungalows without air and the fan was good enough because all of the rooms are right on the water. The circular bungalows are very unique, we loved them. The dining area is so relaxing and inviting, eating overlooking the beach is wonderful. The owners are very friendly and helpful and we found all of the food we tasted to be fabulous! Don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celina910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

From the very first moment upon entering The Souk Resort, i knew that we were going to have a wonderful time. The location is quiet and on a nice red sandy beach. Very different and for me preferable to the busyness of White Sand Beach on the West Coast. There's only 7 Bungalows. so it never gets crowded and the huts are just super cute and very spacious. And the view.....perfect! The terrace overlooking the sea is also lovely with nice decorations, comfy chairs and great music. The food....omg, it's so good, you will want to eat all day long! Edi, the owner is a fantastic cook and a really nice and welcoming guy, so is his wife. We were made to feel so welcome by the family and the other guests, some of which keep coming back for years. I think we will too :), especially now that we´ve made such nice new friends.
Ps. I cannot get over the two negative reviews for this resort. What do people expect when they travel in Asia and pay very little for accommodation and food? 5-star luxury and comfort? It´s ridiculous...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadine12342345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I travelled a lot in Thailand since 2007 but the Souk is the best place I ever Visited in Thailand.
First of all is the place Quiet and lovely. Not Busy like White sand Beach or the West Cost. The food is great food, the best I ever had and the price is quiet low. The Staff is very friendly and helpful. The Resort is a bit far from the Shops and Main Beach but the Owner is helpful and give a ride to the "city". I recommend to rent a Shooter to explore the Island since Ko Chang is quiet big and a lot of Spots beside the main beaches. The costumers are like a big family and it's easy to find company. If you look for a lovely Budget Bungalow (Fan or Air con) in a nice atmosphere with a lovely Staff, good food to relax, the Souk is the right place.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kuya1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at the Souk in one of the air conditioned rooms for 4 days in December. We booked it because of the reviews on trip advisor. If you want lots of noise and crowds then this is not the place for you. If though like myself and my family want a beautiful resort on the unspoilt Eastern side of the island set in a tranquil surrounding with great food then come to the Souk. The sea is gently shelving and very safe for the children and although the owner was absent due to a family bereavement for a couple of days during our visit we were happy. Thank you Ed and Oh for a wonderful family holiday.

Room Tip: I would go for one of the air conditioned rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheena633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at The Souk for 3 nights in December 2013. If I hadn't prepaid through Agoda, we would have left after the first night. My experience doesn't match that of the other reviewers and that was partly because the owner was gone during our stay.

The Souk is pretty isolated on the quieter, east side of Koh Chang. That was the reason we booked the hotel. We thought it would be great to just relax at the resort. The first problem was that, aside from breakfast, the hotel didn't have any food (just fried rice and tempura). It looked like they had an extensive menu, but nothing was available because the owner was gone. This is a problem when your resort is isolated. There's only one other restaurant within easy walking distance and that is at Amber Sands resort. Fortunately for us, it is an excellent restaurant. We ate there everyday and regretted that we weren't staying at Amber Sands.

The second issue was the ridiculously hard bed. It was a box springs with a thin mattress pad placed on top. It was not an actual mattress. If someone told the owner that this was an inner coil mattress, then he got taken. Inner coil mattresses have foam or padding on the top to make it comfortable. You can feel the springs right at the top of this one--very unpleasant to sleep on.

The final issue was that we didn't love the location of The Souk. We expected isolation and quiet, but we also thought we could go for walks along the beach. There isn't much of a beach here at all. You can't walk more than about 100 meters when the tide is out, and it isn't great for swimming either due to all the "flotsam" that washes ashore. Other than Amber Sands, there isn't anything nearby. You really have to have a scooter if you want to stay at The Souk. We didn't know this and felt stuck there.

One thing we liked was the free kayaks; we took advantage of this each day. We also liked the size of the bungalow and the look of the restaurant. The breakfast was decent, the staff were friendly, and the wifi worked most of the time we were there.

But overall, I don't recommend The Souk. Instead, stay next door at Amber Sands. Although you have the same isolated location and crummy beach, you also have a nice pool area, beautiful grounds, and an excellent restaurant. You would be quite happy not having a scooter and could enjoy your holiday just relaxing at the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BopperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

If you like superb food, great drinks, service with genuine warmth and care, all in a seductively beautiful environment, then the Souk is for you. Owner's Ed and O have created a true haven for the discerning traveler who appreciates all the right amenities, but likes to feel at home. They are gracious hosts who know how to serve a wonderful meal, day in, day out. Their unique artistic vision is present everywhere - little gems of detail for you to discover in the tiles of the pathway, the plants, and the tasteful bungalows. A cold drink at dusk on their restaurant deck overlooking the beach is pure bliss. We'll be back again very soon for sure

Room Tip: A/C bungalows right on the beach are best
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.5 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#10 of 73 in Ko Chang
992 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#7 of 73 in Ko Chang
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serenity Resort Koh Chang
Serenity Resort Koh Chang
#3 of 121 in Ko Chang
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amber Sands Beach Resort
Amber Sands Beach Resort
#1 of 107 in Ko Chang
475 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
#12 of 73 in Ko Chang
558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Garden of Joy
Garden of Joy
#3 of 7 in Ko Chang Tai
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Souk

Address: 51 / 4 Moo 2, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range: £13 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing