We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a social backpackers dream!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elephant Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is a social backpackers dream!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

When my friends and I came here, on a whim, we decided that we would only stay the night....but that turned into more than 2 weeks. With the most social people and a invitingly staff, we all became a great group of friends that spent all day and night together. I was picked up by one of our bartenders that drove by on his moped on my way home in the middle of the night....It was a while ago but i still follow all Gu's Bay's progress on instagram and facebook and am really looking forward to visit them soon again. Highly recommended!!

SINCERELY
Ted

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theodorcottell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    51
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
60
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I found Gu's Bay by accident while looking online. Glad I did. It was in the quieter area of Koh Chang, which I prefer to the busy end of White Sand Beach. You need to hire a scooter if staying here. The place was relaxed and very funky. I guess you could say it's flashpacker style.
The manager was very friendly. The food was pretty good, but there is also a couple of other bars and restaurants within walking distance. The beach is no good for swimming in this area, but the pool makes up for this. And if you want to go to a nice swimming beach then you just to to ride to the next beach along (only 3 mins up the road). The rooms were very funky, each has it's own unique style. Brightly painted rooms, each with there own theme too! I had a great stay here for 4 nights and did not have any problems at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cellypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Awesome place, I went with about 8 other people, all the basic fan rooms were lovely, right next to the sea, hammocks and huts everywhere, absolutely beautiful, such nice vibes, and swimming pool. It's about a seven/ten minute walk down a dark road to the main bars, but if you have no issues with that it was definatley worth it, all the staff were lovely and helpful too. I would recommend trooping on with the walk to town as its not that far and the taxi there is 100bht which in my opinon isnt worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

i went to koh chang many times but this is my first time staying at Gu's Bay. it was on the far end of the island...quiet but close enough to a party/hangout place like lonely beach. Our room was an AC bungalow with a king size bed (thick comfy mattress...to be exact!) TV and open air bathroom...it was simple...a bit old but for the price...it's perfect for me :) the place is backpacker style but at beach front and i enjoy the easy and relax atmosphere a lot. the common area is good to hangout and talk to friendly stuffs and/or meet other people. food and drink was simple...good coffee!! ku's bay was great for me :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitnada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed at Gu's Bay for three nights. We had a basic fan room with bathroom. There was only bed and table with tv. The room was so hot that we can not sleep there. The location was poor,and the hostel area too. If you like to drink everyday and party with the staff, this will be your place!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trawellerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weissenburg in Bayern, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

All that you would expect from some relaxed place on the beach. The audience is mainly young Europeans looking for some relaxed daytime and some beers in the evening, but also some families. It mixes quite well here. If you don't mind a sandy beach, you get good value for your money here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed at Gu's Bay with our 2 children of 8 and 13 and had a great time. We had a basic room with a fan but this was good enough to cool off the room at night. The rooms are basic but clean and showers work with warm water. Min was the bed which was very hard and you could feel the springs coming through. There was only a small silk blanket to cover us up. The location is really good with a big open grass area giving you the best views all day. The pool is clean and the food is good at a fair price. The big plus here is the staff. Really easy and helpful. Trust them on their trips. They are cheap and good. If they are going somewhere you can jump in with them for free. This is not a luxury hotel but you get nice clean rooms with pool and the best atmosphere around! Beach you do not need as besides Nature Beach is all rocks here. Great for swimming but nothing else. Bailan is only 1,5km from lonely beach but road is so small and curvy that it is not safe to walk, espicially at night. Taxi should not charge more then 50bht pp or hire a motorbike for 150bht per day. With the cheap room at Gu Bay you can still afford a motorbike but our not in the noisy Lonely Beach. Best beach is Nature Beach.

Room Tip: Basic rooms is sufficient. Airco is only needed if you need to stay in the room during the day. At n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.6 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#7 of 73 in Ko Chang
290 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bungalows
Paradise Bungalows
#11 of 116 in Ko Chang
123 reviews
3.8 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
9.0 mi away
White Sand Beach Resort
White Sand Beach Resort
#61 of 116 in Ko Chang
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Bay Resort

Property: Elephant Bay Resort
Address: 6 17 Bailan Bay, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Bay Resort (EBR) is located south-west on the island of Koh Chang, in Bailan Bay. The resort has a big garden with lots of room to play sports such as volleyball and badminton, hang-out in one of the several hammocks or just enjoy the sun by the pool. It is both a place to be by yourself and to meet people. Moreover, the resort is surrounded by walls and with only one entrance and exit, will make your stay as relaxed and private as possible. All rooms are decorated in the same style, yet none are the same and they each have their own personality. The restaurant and bar area has a funky, colorful look and invites you to mingle with other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Elephant Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gu`s Bay Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing