We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hip place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elephant Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hip place”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed in an awful place for one night upon our arrival to Koh Chang, but we found this- by accident, and how lucky accident that was :) its a perfect lovely little hip place, staff is friendly (and speaks great english), food lovely, view beautiful, rooms are spacious and clean, whit hot showers, and quirky decorations :) Bai Lan Bay beach is rocky, but 3 min up (or down the main road) on the motorbike (they are cheap to rent) or 20 min by foot) are beautiful secluded sandy beaches, the best thing is that they are not full of people, so very serene. Koh Chang has so much to offer, and Gu`s Bay is a perfect quirky base to explore!

Room Tip: Room are lovely and colorful, rooms on the left side of the main reception are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    51
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
59
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Gu's Bay is in Bai Lan Bay, with a rocky beach. The main road is a 3-minute walk away, with a few shops, massage places, and restaurants. It's a 30-minute walk or a 3-minute 50-baht songtaew ride from party-central Lonely Beach. It takes 8 minutes to walk to Bai Lan Beach. It's fairly quiet most nights except for Saturday, when you might hear parties in the distance with loud music playing until 4 am.

There are air-conditioned bungalows as well as bigger rooms, but we stayed a week in the 500-baht small fan room. There are no screens on any of the windows, but there is a mosquito net over the bed. Aside from many bugs that are commonplace in the tropics, we had 4 cockroaches in our bathroom during our week-long stay. It's quite hot inside the room but not too bad if you sit directly in front of the wall fan. On the ceiling, there are some black spots (mold?). The shower is not amazing but it's okay temperature/water pressure-wise. No wifi in the room.

Internet quite frequently gets cut off then comes back on shortly after. Wifi is not the fastest and can only be used in the restaurant/bar area where there is a pool table (20 baht) and a TV playing movies occasionally. Food and drinks range from 50-100+ baht. The rooms may look a bit dated on the inside but are decorated with an artsy vibe.

To be honest, I am not a fan of the very basic room, but outside the room, it's absolutely gorgeous! Being right by the ocean, gentle sea breezes cool you down even during the day. You can literally just hang out here all day, swimming in the 24-hour pool, swaying in the hammock, watching the sunset, hanging out in the restaurant cooled by ceiling fans (they play good music at night!)...

Room Tip: If you have the budge for it, pay more for a room with air-conditioning. It's so hot inside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redeyeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Chang Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Have start with the great food served everyday with friendly staff, initially booked for 3 days but we extended our stay to six our two daughter had lots of fun playing around the garden and the swimming pool. We stayed in the pink room which was clean zircon hot shower all a plus in this hip rustic resort.

Room Tip: I believe there are themes for each room if you chose the bungalows you have more privacy and good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FGHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect quiet hang out on Bailan Bay. With a beautiful view, a nice swimming pool, good food and clean rooms this place is almost perfect. Don't let the "rules" on the wall next to the reception put you down. In reality staff is helpful and friendly. Great value for money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rogier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poortugaal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Clean rooms, good matras, hot water and a very very friendly staff. we want to stay for 3 nights but we make 8. Perfect view over the sea and no rumor from the street for a good price. Fitness for the mind is perfect, we will come back.

Room Tip: look before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronweggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend booked to stay here for 3nyts which turned into nearly 2weeks!
Its an amazing place !!!
The staff are great and very friendly!!
Rooms are good/basic but you get what you pay for plus your hardly ever in your room anyway!!!
Lonely beach is a short distance away where all the action is! Also in lonely beach there is a gu bay shop/bar sellin gu bay clothing and good cocktails!!
Overall we had an amazing stay and met some great people!! Will definitely be going back!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

When my friends and I came here, on a whim, we decided that we would only stay the night....but that turned into more than 2 weeks. With the most social people and a invitingly staff, we all became a great group of friends that spent all day and night together. I was picked up by one of our bartenders that drove by on his moped on my way home in the middle of the night....It was a while ago but i still follow all Gu's Bay's progress on instagram and facebook and am really looking forward to visit them soon again. Highly recommended!!

SINCERELY
Ted

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theodorcottell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.6 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
287 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bungalows
Paradise Bungalows
#11 of 115 in Ko Chang
123 reviews
4.9 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
White Sand Beach Resort
White Sand Beach Resort
#57 of 115 in Ko Chang
200 reviews
3.8 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
0.2 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Bay Resort

Property: Elephant Bay Resort
Address: 6 17 Bailan Bay, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Bay Resort (EBR) is located south-west on the island of Koh Chang, in Bailan Bay. The resort has a big garden with lots of room to play sports such as volleyball and badminton, hang-out in one of the several hammocks or just enjoy the sun by the pool. It is both a place to be by yourself and to meet people. Moreover, the resort is surrounded by walls and with only one entrance and exit, will make your stay as relaxed and private as possible. All rooms are decorated in the same style, yet none are the same and they each have their own personality. The restaurant and bar area has a funky, colorful look and invites you to mingle with other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Elephant Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gu`s Bay Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing