We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elephant and Castle Bungalows
Ranked #15 of 115 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of December. a lovely quiet place with a very warm welcome. Small walk to the beach but worth it if your on a budget. DONT bother going to white sands beach stick to Chai Chet, much more tropical.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.
Amy and Jimmy

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed with John and Lan two years ago and had no hesitation in heading back there for the last two weeks of our trip.
It's in a great location, set back from the road by about 100m. It's away from all the late night bars but ideally placed for the great beach of Chi Chet about 1.5km away. There are a couple of very good restaurants just at the bottom of the lane and a new large Tesco directly opposite. Hiring a moped is the easiest way of getting about and this is made much easier now John has a few for hire.
The bungalows are very roomy and clean, with a large bathroom and decent hot shower, each one has it's own balcony where you can sit and enjoy the sunsets.
John and Lan are extremely friendly and very helpful. The whole place has a very relaxed and laid back atmosphere and we were made to feel very welcome.
The breakfasts were great and most nights John offers a home cooked meal, sometimes Thai and sometimes homely food such as sausage and mash, just the thing for when you fancy a break from rice and noodles!
We enjoyed Koh Chang so much that I'm sure we'll be back sometime in the future and will head straight for the Elephant and Castle, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrispypancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

i stayed for 1 week at elephant and castle, you cant beat the atmosphere here, totally relaxed, outstanding breakfast.(you wont get better on the island) john will help you with any advice you need, best beaches, best places to go etc. a lovely place to chill out, highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay on Koh Chang which is like home then The elephant and castle is definitely the resort for you . The owners John and Lan made our stay one of the best holidays we've ever had . From tips on the best beaches , help booking the various tours and not forgetting the delicious home cooked food . Everything was just perfect . We will 100% be coming back and would 100% recommend this resort to everyone . Thank you so much John and Lan

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goonerwinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Fantastic bungalows sea view the host with the most nothing is too much trouble and Johns knowledge of this beautiful country was awesome .you have to try it to believe it I will certainly return again next yearm

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Have just stayed at the Elephant and Castle for six nights and was not disappointed. I was greeted by John, the perfect host. He provides all the recommendations you need about beaches , places to eat, elephant trekking etc. and all where great. John and Lan make you feel at home and the place has a chilled and happy vibe. The off road location is great. John is a great character to sit and chat to and always up for banter. I hope to visit John, Lan , lipton, nina and claw in the near future. Great place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willaim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Without a doubt the only place I choose to stay in ko Chang. John and Lan make you feel so at home. Come and go as you please. Always available for a chat and advice about the island. Can't recommend the place enough. Their dogs add to the homely vibe. Does a mean feed on request. Arrived three weeks early and again, not a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
5.1 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.4 mi away
K.B. Resort
K.B. Resort
#6 of 138 in Ko Chang
282 reviews
4.2 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#2 of 138 in Ko Chang
293 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradise Palms Resort
Paradise Palms Resort
#5 of 115 in Ko Chang
281 reviews
8 mi away
Elephant Bay Resort
Elephant Bay Resort
#4 of 138 in Ko Chang
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant and Castle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant and Castle Bungalows

Address: 13/13 1 moo4, Pearl Beach | Trat, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range: £9 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a peaceful hillside, in beautiful gardens and backing onto the National Park of Koh Chang, which is virgin jungle. Bungalows have sea views, King size double bed, free Wi Fi, TV, shower/toilet/wet room, large wardrobe, fridge, tea/coffee making facility. 5 bungalows have Air con, 1 is fan only. The bungalows are kept spotlessly clean. Breakfast is available (extra charge). Situated just outside the busy main resort of White Sands & opposite Tesco Lotus which is handy for shopping but we are out of site. By taxi or motorbike we are with minutes of beaches, waterfalls, shops & restaurants. We can arrange other trips for you like elephant trekking, scuba diving, jungle trekking, Thai cookery or boat trips. The vibe on Koh Chang & at Elephant & Castle is one of relaxation. We can give you that as well as the personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elephant and Castle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing