We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely littele place with lovely owners”
Review of Jungle Garden

Jungle Garden
Ranked #151 of 233 Restaurants in Ko Chang
Price range: US$1 - US$13
Cuisines: International, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Description: If you're looking for a quiet and relaxing place close to the night life of infamous Lonely Beach, Jungle Garden is the perfect spot for you to stay.Located in the still less developed area of Bailan Bay, just 5 minutes away from Lonely Beach. We have 6 bungalows, all with fan, private bathroom, hot shower and a big balcony.In our restaurant we offer all kinds of original (not "westernized") Thai food and a big selection of the most popular western dishes.Come to relax in our chill out bar where we serve beers and cocktails until late night in a friendly atmosphere with great music.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely littele place with lovely owners”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Nice people there and great cocktails, a tiny place in a lovely jungle garden setting, yes a place with a good vibe... listening to chilling tunes...have a chat with the lovely owners, it is NOT a restaurant, its a cocktail bar, so go there for a great chilling time and having fun. Don' t expect a huge menu, they have one dish a day.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Martina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place to chill in Bailan!”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stopped by for a drink after seeing the previous reviews - and ended up visiting three times during our week in Koh Chang. This is a wonderfully relaxing place to hang out - with Tom and Melanie being the perfect hosts. The drinks menu is extensive but it is more fun telling Tom either your mood or your tastes and letting him invent a special cocktail on the spot! Not good for our sobriety mind!
We had one meal while here and it was lovely fresh food - I had the Chili con Carne and Jo had the bolognese - followed by scrumptious Nutella toasties. This was a change from our normal eating out on fab Thai food - but a lovely change it was too :)
Tom and Melanie make you feel so welcome and we enjoyed their company so much that instead of retiring to one of the many jungle garden seating/chillout areas we stayed at the bar and chatted all night. An added bonus is the wonderful selection of chillout music to while the hours away. We look forward to visiting again!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colm_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent hosts, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I was staying at a nearby bungalow waiting for my room to be cleaned and stopped in for a drink, i think i left about 8 hours later.... Tom and Melanie are great hosts, very friendly, lots of info on the island.... great place to just hang out and chat with whoever stops by.

Their cat also just had some kittens, so lots of entertainment there as well. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great environment for a bite to eat, or just a drink and to hang out...

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best cocktails on Koh Chang!”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My girlfriend and I popped into lots of funky little bars with lots of friendly proprieters while staying for five days on Koh Chang... this was the best, hands down. Great atmosphere to the place; every detail including lighting has clearly been carefully thought out. The drinks are generous, reasonably priced and very very well made. As for the proprieters Tom and Melanie, they were genuine, friendly and interesting. If you ever get over to Bailan or Lonely Beach, make an effort to stop by. Oh, and ask Tom about the centipede in a bottle!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LiberatedShmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
1 review
“Great place to chill, relax...to "jungle" in the garden!!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Ein wunderschöner Platz mitten im Dschungel, fernab vom Massentourismus!!! Wir haben die Zeit hier absolut genoßen. Die wertvollen Tipps für Ausflüge, Sightseeing-points von Insidern, die leckern Drinks und Cocktails, sowie auch das super-gute Essen! Und natürlich nicht zu vergessen die süßen und einladenden Doggies und die coole Bar-Katze... :-)Danke nochmals für die wunderbare chillige Zeit in eurer tollen Bar! Macht weiter so! :-))))

An absolutely georgeous place, in the middle of the jungle...a garden of relaxation, inspiring, chilly, individual...with kind and very nice people - thx a lot to Tom & Melanie for the time in your homeplace and your unique bar!!!!
Good and cold drinks, excellent cocktails and the yummy homemade food!
The next time we are in ko chang we'll see us again in the "jungle garden"!!!
And at last but not least, not to be forgotten the lovely doggies and the cool cat!!!
They invided us to this absolutely nice place in the jungle!!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jungle Garden also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing