We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel good, location bad”
Review of Salakphet Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Salakphet Resort
Ranked #41 of 106 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel good, location bad”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I Made the mistake to pre-book the Hotel for my stay on koh chang.
I arrived in the evening on the Island by ferry. Problem: All people headed to the eastcoast, only me to the westcoast.
So i had to Pay 1000 baht for the Taxi to get to the Hotel (normally 100).
My room was okay, but no linen for the blanket.
But there is nothing around, absolutely nothing. If you don't want to rent a motorcycle you are lost. Walking on the street is not recommended: many aggressive dogs and a lot of smelly trash.

I booked three nights, but left directly on the First morning. I got my money for the other nights back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    7
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I was here to do marine biology sampling in the surrounding regions. After a hard day in the field, this was a VERY nice place to rest and clean up. The rooms were very clean, the shower and bathroom spacious. The bed was a bit soft, so my back was less happy in the morning. The views are exceptional, without hordes of tourists. You did need transportation to see the rest of the island, but there seemed to be many options (we came with our own transportation via the ferry from the mainland).

The restaurant has exceptional food. Many of the local fishermen bring their food directly here, so it is fresh, fresh, fresh. Do worry about what is on the menu, just look out front to see what came it. Service was pretty bad, but it is hard to be in a hurry looking out over the tranquil bay. I would definitely recommend the restaurant, even if you don't stay at the resort. Worth the trip out here.

Room Tip: Look for a room with an ocean view. Not all of them have that. Corner rooms are best. There are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We were rather disaointed to find out that the nearest beach was a more than an hour scooter journey away. The owner is very friendly however, and makes it her mission to know your name, and they do offer boat trips to several beaches. Yet, if you come to ko chang for the beach, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlijn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This is the first resort that provide 2 king beds in each room, so one room can accompany 4-5 people in total. A basic set up but yet very new and clean, we got the corner room so a very nice view...the owner of the resort is the same owner of the famous restaurant, so in a way the resort is somewhat in the same area as the restaurant. The location where this resort is located is in the east side of the islands away from all busy life and popular beach from the west side, the food in the restaurant is the best seafood in Koh Chang, very fresh and nice cooking. Though the resort is beside the sea, however not a nice idea to swim in this area but we can have a choice taking the snorkeling trip which can be arrange from the resort. I love the stay here and would recommend this place to the people who love the quite relax life...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junya_and_gangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The deluxe bungalow costed 1140 Bt incl breakfast (on 29-30 December 2011). If you have a corner bungalow, you can see the sea. If you have a bungalow in the second row (not VIP), then you won't have any view from your window (only the bungalow opposite). Some bungalows face a bit ofthe sea and the restaurant. The windows don't open, so you have to sleep with the aircon (that operate pretty quietly) or without any fresh air. There is a fridge, no kettle or cups to make tea or coffee (as it is advertised on booking.com). Wi-fi is available in the resto, but it was quite whimsy and did not always work. The resto seemed to server good food, but for quite a price (in comparison with other places on the island). The breakfast that was included was nonsense (tiny cup of nescafe or black tea, a fatty omelette and toasts with jam), so we negotiated a cheaper rate without ABF. The staff was friendly and helpful. They organized a 4 hour boat trip to Koh Wai for 350 Bt per pax. Water and shower gel is provided in rooms. There is a cheaper bungalow for 700 Bt without ABF on the other side of the parking lot on the hill (a more secluded place than downstairs). The wardrobe was quite small and had no shelves. The shower was not powerful at all. There is no safe box in bungalow. Yes, there is no beach and you won't probably like to jump into the water from the pier as it is blurred by numerous boats. The view from the resto is lovely and we like this quiet part of the island. We had a motorbyke and could travel around in this non-tourist area. The place has a Thai air to it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evgenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.2 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#33 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cliff Cottage
Cliff Cottage
#9 of 114 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
5.6 mi away
Paradise Cottage
Paradise Cottage
#13 of 114 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#2 of 114 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.6 mi away
KLKL Hostel
KLKL Hostel
#81 of 106 in Ko Chang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salakphet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salakphet Resort

Property: Salakphet Resort
Address: 43 Moo 2 | T. Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salakphet Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Salakphet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing