We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Stage Koh Chang
Ranked #12 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This place is a real gem for people looking for a quiet place to stay.There are 21 rooms all with air con and ensuite bathrooms. Two lovely Pools which are often empty, Noprobelem with chairs as each room has two deck chairs outside them. The two ladies on reception are very helpful and friendly.We stayed in room number 5 which was detached. The area nearby has plenty of restaurant s and quiet bars, which is ideal for couples of all ages.

Room Tip: Room 5 is detached
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shotsblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for The Stage Koh Chang
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We had booked five nights. Fortunately we stayed at the garden resort prior and had a chance to view the accommodation.
A huge building project is taking place next door and across the street with construction noise early till late. There is also a noisy bar next to the entrance.
We spoke to the general manager who was dismissive and unhelpful.
The accommodation is basic and does not include breakfast.
Better value accommodation elsewhere and certainly avoid during 2014 if you don't like noise.
There should be a warning on the website.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NorwichHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhans, General Manager at The Stage Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear guest

I believe to remember our chat and that you told me about your concerns, but after talking to guests, staying in the room you should get the next day, you decided to keep the reservation.
The construction by the way, is not directly adjecting as another plot of land is between The Stage and the building site.
You than cancelled the booking on arrival day and following our policy we charged you 1 night.
So, you did not stay at all with us.
Our rooms have shower, toilet, cieling fan, air condition, safety box, mini bar, flat sreen TV with 60 cable channels in 9 different laguages and provide free WIFI. The Stage is also offering 2 Swimming pools and sufficient sun chairs.
I would not call this basic.

With best regards
Hansjoerg Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in The Stage Hotel only for one night cause they did not had availability for more days. High season. Very clean room, the pool was in front of our room. The hotel is near by to the restaurants,pubs and the beach is 5 mins walking. The receptionist was very smiley and helpful. She tried to find us an another hotel to stay in. I would stay again. Recommended!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank JohnN_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the stage for two nights and for the price we were extremely impressed. Rooms were large, clean and bathrooms nice with walk in shower! Pools gorgeous and just generally a very attractive place to stay...looked like its online pictures. The staff were friendly and although we didn't eat at the joining restaurant, it looked very pleasant. I would highly recommend the stage as a place to stay if you are happy with room only accomodation. Very very good. Had extra bed in our room for 5 year old son but still lots of space. Well stocked mini bar at supermarket prices, wifi in rooms and round the pool and good working tv with lots of English speaking channels!

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank sclements1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a standard room which was really lovely. The rooms are spacious, clean & have good wifi.
The Stage is really good value, very stylish & well worth a visit.
Be patient with the reception staff, they are a bit clueless but it's a new hotel & I don't think they've had much training!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Really loved our room at The Stage. It was huge! The bathroom was great too, with a really strong hot shower. The two pools are nice if you cant be bothered to go to the beach. One of the pools is quite long and deep, perfect for swimming laps. The resort is well located too, in the middle of several bars and restaurants, and walking distance to Kai Bae beach. You cant really beat the price either. A couple of annoying things were that the water was off for maybe half an hour at a time around three times while we were there, but honestly this was fixed quickly and wasnt really a problem.

Room Tip: The cottage rooms are more expensive, but the standard rooms are bigger. Get a standard room, as the...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N_poz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This is without doubt one of my favourite places to stay in Thailand. It's great value for money and in a brilliant location.

First the hotel then the location...

We arrived and walked into the hotel reception. No door or walls, just a desk in a hut which is testament to the great weather on the island. The stage is opposite a resort called the chill, but don't worry that you haven't the short straw with the stage, it's a GREAT budget option.

The rooms are portioned up into little cottages around two swimming pools. Both big blue, clean pools which have steps in and out (contrary to some reviews!!) there are NO LOUNGERS by the pool just deck chairs so either walk across the road (and through a resort) to the beach or buy a lilo to lie on.

The cottages are huge! Enormous rooms that are so clean!! A big king size bed, flat screen tv (with lots of Russian centric viewing - but also a movie channel for rainy afternoons). The bathrooms are tiled in what looks like obtuse bright colours but are actually graphic design Pantone colours of cyan, yellow and magenta. There are great showers with lots of hot water and the bathrooms are huge. There are safes in all the rooms and the doors can be locked from the inside too.

The location in Kai bae is great as you have lots of bars, restaurants and 7/11s around for chilled evenings out or drinks on the decking outside your cottage. To get to white sands beach or lonely beach (Kai bae is right in the middle of the two) just wait at the side of the road for one of the MANY taxis. Tell them where you want to go and agree a price and hop on. They will stop to pick up other people on your journey too as they drive from one side of the island to the other picking up and dropping off people on the way. They're 24 hours too - if you see one parked up, the driver is probably snoozing in a hammock and is sure to be happy to take you for the extra cash!

During the day Kai bae is the ideal location. A lovely beach, nice bars and restaurants for lunch and afternoon drinks and not too many people (though mainly a Russian contingent at night - hope you like euro dance music!) but at night jump in a taxi to either white sand beach (bars and fire shows on the beach) or lonely beach (amazing roadside food and live music bars down one of the streets - hugely recommend ting tong for great music). Both are only 100b away and such nice nights out (note price will increase after midnight but not by much). But not areas I'd want to stay in. You get much better beaches and value for money in Kai bae and it's so easy to get to them at night don't worry!!

I'd hugely recommend the stage and koh Chang and am already planning my next trip back!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank LauraJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
0.1 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
1.0 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
0.3 mi away
K.B. Resort
K.B. Resort
#5 of 121 in Ko Chang
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stage Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stage Koh Chang

Address: 19/19/1 Moo 4 | Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range: £19 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Stage Koh Chang 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Stage Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing