We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Stage - Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Stage Koh Chang
Ranked #12 of 106 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights in March and was really pleased with the standard of the room. Admittedly the room was looking a little ‘tired’ in places but was large, very comfortable and clean. This is quite a small site but despite this still has two very good pools which were never too busy. The staff are lovely and really helpful, in fact when I asked if they had an ice tray for the fridge, they were so upset and apologetic when they couldn’t find one I wish I hadn’t asked.
There is building work going on, not only next door, but over the road as well, but at no time were we disturbed so don’t let that put you off. You are more likely to be woken up by birdsong (in fact I would bank on it).
As other reviewers have pointed out the hotel does not have a restaurant, but there is a really nice one next door called Moo 4, and there are easily a dozen eating place within a ten minute walk.
The hotel is well located being right in the middle of Kai Bae. If you turn left as you come out of the hotel and walk about 150 yards you will come to a local restaurant, can’t remember the name but you will recognise it by the barbeque at the front with rows of chickens and fish going round over the coals. You must eat here. My wife and I picked a tuna and they cooked half with garlic and herbs and the other half sweet and sour, add to that a small salad and small bowl of rice, and there was absolutely no way we could eat it all, well worth a try. Next door to the Gajapuri resort is a row of bungalows which you can walk through to get to the beach, whilst this is probably not the sort of place I would stay, it looks a bit run down, we used their beach restaurant several times and had some lovely lunches, also worth trying.
All in all, The Stage and Kai Bae are lovely and I wouldn’t hesitate to stop here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Our second and third visit this march. Spotless bungalows all right by the pool. Staff could not be more charming and helpful.
No breakfast on site but is connected to next doors restaurant that will look after you in the morning.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect..What a wonderful hotel. The rooms are large, clean and very cimfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again...ideal for familly..two nice swimming pools...perfect price

Stayed: February 2014
4  Thank Emanuelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This place is a real gem for people looking for a quiet place to stay.There are 21 rooms all with air con and ensuite bathrooms. Two lovely Pools which are often empty, Noprobelem with chairs as each room has two deck chairs outside them. The two ladies on reception are very helpful and friendly.We stayed in room number 5 which was detached. The area nearby has plenty of restaurant s and quiet bars, which is ideal for couples of all ages.

Room Tip: Room 5 is detached
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shotsblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We had booked five nights. Fortunately we stayed at the garden resort prior and had a chance to view the accommodation.
A huge building project is taking place next door and across the street with construction noise early till late. There is also a noisy bar next to the entrance.
We spoke to the general manager who was dismissive and unhelpful.
The accommodation is basic and does not include breakfast.
Better value accommodation elsewhere and certainly avoid during 2014 if you don't like noise.
There should be a warning on the website.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NorwichHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhans, General Manager at The Stage Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear guest

I believe to remember our chat and that you told me about your concerns, but after talking to guests, staying in the room you should get the next day, you decided to keep the reservation.
The construction by the way, is not directly adjecting as another plot of land is between The Stage and the building site.
You than cancelled the booking on arrival day and following our policy we charged you 1 night.
So, you did not stay at all with us.
Our rooms have shower, toilet, cieling fan, air condition, safety box, mini bar, flat sreen TV with 60 cable channels in 9 different laguages and provide free WIFI. The Stage is also offering 2 Swimming pools and sufficient sun chairs.
I would not call this basic.

With best regards
Hansjoerg Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in The Stage Hotel only for one night cause they did not had availability for more days. High season. Very clean room, the pool was in front of our room. The hotel is near by to the restaurants,pubs and the beach is 5 mins walking. The receptionist was very smiley and helpful. She tried to find us an another hotel to stay in. I would stay again. Recommended!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank JohnN_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the stage for two nights and for the price we were extremely impressed. Rooms were large, clean and bathrooms nice with walk in shower! Pools gorgeous and just generally a very attractive place to stay...looked like its online pictures. The staff were friendly and although we didn't eat at the joining restaurant, it looked very pleasant. I would highly recommend the stage as a place to stay if you are happy with room only accomodation. Very very good. Had extra bed in our room for 5 year old son but still lots of space. Well stocked mini bar at supermarket prices, wifi in rooms and round the pool and good working tv with lots of English speaking channels!

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank sclements1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
0.1 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
1.0 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
0.4 mi away
Kaibae Beach Resort
Kaibae Beach Resort
#10 of 106 in Ko Chang
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stage Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stage Koh Chang

Address: 19/19/1 Moo 4 | Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range: £23 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Stage Koh Chang 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Stage Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing