We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extreme hospitality!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stage Koh Chang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stage Koh Chang
Ranked #14 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Extreme hospitality!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The good - Spacious room with good design taste. Overall style of the hotel is quite modern and comfortable. Extremely friendly front desks who are very welcoming and respectful; especially one smily girl who was super nice and showed us about 10 different rooms as we asked for, and let us moved to (3 different rooms) which ever room we preferred without a frawn. Rented a scooter from them, 200 baht per day which wasnt the cheapest but acceptable; we returned the scooter half day earlier on our last night cause we were leaving the island early next morning, the receptionist(man) even battled with the rental-shop for us to pay half price(only 100 baht), not because we asked him to do so(which we did not), just only he thought it was the right thing to do. We were very suprised and pleased even it was just a very small money!!!

The bad - The site of the hotel feels smaller than the picture, it is right next to the the main road and the layout is not very well-considered: some rooms are sunny with big front yard and greens, some are dark and face a wall ; some rooms are with strong wifi, some got no signal at all; no room has a private balcony, there are only lounge chairs in front of the room, which is fine, but due to the lack of space(or problematic floor planning), some rooms with spacious front yard are more enjoyable. But some other rooms ( such as by the pool) have very little space to the chairs plus it is basically situated on the walkway, so you have to cramped yourself on thoses chairs when people try to walk pass by you.

Our room at the first night is right by the entrance behind the reception, which, is nearly out on the main road with no view of the pool; from early morning it gets pretty noisy from all the trucks and traffic, so we changed to the second room the following day in the middle, which was better, but darker with less wifi connection. Moved to the third room by the pool, great light but the poorest wifi+ construction noises from both sides of the hotel.

Due to the small site and they tried to fit in as many rooms as possible, if you are lucky, you might get a inner(more quiet) room, next to the pool with a spacious front yard(almost like your private pool when the place is not busy), and great wifi connection( router right under your roof). But if the place is nearly full, its possible you will be assigned to the room right by the main street, lacks of wifi+small front yard or faces a plain wall.

The main swimming pool is quite deep and too warm. If you are a girl, its basically impossible to just stand still in the pool and relax without clining onto the stairs or the edges. Water circulation was not good, so it gets really hot during the day, hardly feeling fresh.

For some reasons there are no lounge chairs by the pool even there are enouvh space for it. You either have to bring the chair from you room, or lay on the floor.

CONCLUSION - Regardless of some flaws to the space, this hotel is still quite enjoyable. There are constructions going on on both sides of the hotel at the moment, so it does get a bit nosiy during the day, which isnt really the fault of the hotel. Maybe ask for the room nears the rear end will help a bit!

Room Tip: Rear end is less nosiy. Rooms near the two routers under the roof have better wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    72
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
70
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was spending my holidays withh my wife and our two kids and I was first suspicious about this hotel because of it`s location in the middle of traffic but when we moved to there the kids liked it very much and even I changed my opinion because we didn`t heard any traffic noises and it was really easy to go from ther to anywhere- we had our rented motorbikes.

Room Tip: We had our rooms right near by the secondary pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. The pool was the hightlight. Overall was good but just one thing is you got woken up in the morning by the other guests running along the corridor. This place is not far from the beach. Kai bae beach is pretty small but it is nice, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here for a week ..staff very friendly and helpful..the accommodation is basic and compared to other hotels in Thailand a bit over priced would describe as Backpacker de luxe no breakfast included and price in dining room very expensive . Motor cycle rental similar rip off offered to me at 250 baht and i rented one yards from the hotel at 150 baht. The place is incredibly noisy on every night of the week there was a party by the poolside with various groups of drunks..the poolside is outside your front door and the construction of the rooms is basic flimsy..i slept only twice throughout 7 nights ..i complained and was told initially that dont worry "they" are leaving tomorrow lol! i complained on the second night and was advised as they have no on site security so i was to dial 0 and ask for security in the Gajapura hotel opposite and they would assist. which i did several times and had no response on the third night a staff member actually arrived and asked people to get out of the pool which they eventually did. There were others who were also fed up with the noise and encouraged me to do the complaints...the noise from the building site was solitude in comparison to the night time antics ..The disturbing thing is that there is no on site security /patrols ..no assistance with noise, drunkedness let alone potential thefts,violence and worse, which is probably why staff advised us on arrival to put all our personals in the safe! They are pushing the Tripadviser rating to sell the property which makes one wonder who is writing the reviews? MY own experience was dreadful and having lived in thailand for the past ten years i can sadly say this is the noisiest and least secure place i have ever stayed ..avoid there are better ,cheaper and safer places to have a holiday on Koh Chang and if the owners are reading this dont bother with a sorry blah blah response just concentrate on sorting out the lack of safety and security for your customers

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikesamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights from 7 to 14 April 2014. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice 2 swimming pools kept clean on a daily basis. Loved the cottage room with high ceiling. Had a fan as well as an ac. Would recommend as good value for money. Would stay here again. Nice seating areas Deck chairs outside the rooms. Hot and cold water but difficult to control temperature. It's either cold or cold in between. No kettles or hairdryer in rooms. However, there is a boiling flask where one can get hot water from in the laundry cupboard/room if you buy your own coffee and tea. Mugs and glasses supplied in rooms. Would recommend that you check what is in room on arrival and that it matches on departure, otherwise they charge. Downfall charges are 500 baht deposit for room key. Room and fridge mini bar checked on departure. Mini fridge on a daily basis which is chargeable for usage. Not much difference between room and Tesco lotus local store prices. Overall good value for money. Restaurant next door Moo4 caters for breakfast and evening meals. Slow service prices ok. Good value for money for the price charged.

Room Tip: Stayed in cottage room 17 loved it. Check rooms on arrivals to see what is on the list is provided t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights in March and was really pleased with the standard of the room. Admittedly the room was looking a little ‘tired’ in places but was large, very comfortable and clean. This is quite a small site but despite this still has two very good pools which were never too busy. The staff are lovely and really helpful, in fact when I asked if they had an ice tray for the fridge, they were so upset and apologetic when they couldn’t find one I wish I hadn’t asked.
There is building work going on, not only next door, but over the road as well, but at no time were we disturbed so don’t let that put you off. You are more likely to be woken up by birdsong (in fact I would bank on it).
As other reviewers have pointed out the hotel does not have a restaurant, but there is a really nice one next door called Moo 4, and there are easily a dozen eating place within a ten minute walk.
The hotel is well located being right in the middle of Kai Bae. If you turn left as you come out of the hotel and walk about 150 yards you will come to a local restaurant, can’t remember the name but you will recognise it by the barbeque at the front with rows of chickens and fish going round over the coals. You must eat here. My wife and I picked a tuna and they cooked half with garlic and herbs and the other half sweet and sour, add to that a small salad and small bowl of rice, and there was absolutely no way we could eat it all, well worth a try. Next door to the Gajapuri resort is a row of bungalows which you can walk through to get to the beach, whilst this is probably not the sort of place I would stay, it looks a bit run down, we used their beach restaurant several times and had some lovely lunches, also worth trying.
All in all, The Stage and Kai Bae are lovely and I wouldn’t hesitate to stop here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Our second and third visit this march. Spotless bungalows all right by the pool. Staff could not be more charming and helpful.
No breakfast on site but is connected to next doors restaurant that will look after you in the morning.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.4 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
3.8 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.0 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#21 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
K.B. Resort
K.B. Resort
#7 of 109 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#1 of 109 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stage Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stage Koh Chang

Property: The Stage Koh Chang
Address: 19/19/1 Moo 4 | Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Stage Koh Chang 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Stage Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing