We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to like cats!”
Review of Resolution Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Resolution Resort
Ranked #67 of 115 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 February 2013

There are 12 cats on this property so be prepared to meet them everywhere. This is a new small resort built on a steep hill (so you will be required to climb a lot of steps). The rooms are great. Modern interior with a nice balcony overlooking the Bang Bao pier in south Koh Chang. There is no beach as the bay comes up to the garden. Nice swimming pool (salty water). The resort is very remotely located at the end of a dirt road but the owner is prepared to drive (and collect) you to and from Bang Bao pier twice a day. As Bang Bao pier has quite a lot of restaurants and bars there is unfortunately some noise at night.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed at Resolution Resort for 4 nights before New Year's Eve and were upon arrival looking forward to a relaxing evening after an exhausting trip from Koh Samet. However, we were kept awake the first night by booming dance music from the other side of the bay until 3 AM. The room itself was very clean and spacious with a beautiful balcony and a view of the bay. As other reviewers have noted, the location is a bit off the beaten path and one needs to plan their travel when heading to the marina or anywhere else on the island. In summary then, the positives and the negatives:
+ Nice rooms with balconies with bay views
+ Beautiful garden
+ Large, cool pool
+ Friendly, helpful staff
- Mediocre restaurant with both of us becoming sick from the breakfast at one point
- Very far from any other amenities (restaurants)
- Reception staff should work on their English skills
- Noisy hotel on other side of the bay might keep you awake some nights
- No English language or European TV channels available
- No hotel or local information available in the rooms or distributed to guests upon arrival

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fabian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My husband and i stayed here for 10 nights over Christmas and New Year 2012/2013. We hired a motor bike which we thought was essential if you want to tour the island. It took 10 minutes on a bike to get off the track leading to the main road. 60 minutes to get to White Sand beach.Its a family run hotel, Jenny, Mr Norang and all off their staff will do absolutely anything for you to ensure you have the best stay possible. The view from our room was beautiful, lovely pool overlooking the bay.The food was gorgeous, and at breakfast time Jenny would make anything for you. They are so flexible, and layed back, it was fantastic. Thank you for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room...all rooms overlook the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divvydora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

You feel like in home, it's very quite and beautiful place.
The staff is very helpfull and nice and massages are amazing.
Big swimming pool with sea water.
You must like cats to go there because there are lot in the garden!
Just little bit far from the center but the boss can drive you to the center one time per day for free.
Very good for the value!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marla102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Visited Resolution Resort in January 2012.
Resort if off the beaten track but if you want peace and quiet this is the place. The pool area is great and with a fantastic view of the bay opposite. The Rooms are well furnished but you do not get any shampoo etc so make sure you take your own! The TV has no English channels but that didn't worry us. The rooms do not get cleaned unless you give your key in. The resort was very clean and tidy and in the evenings there is a small bar by the pool for drinks and we also had some music. One night there was a bbq by the pool with great food and a good atmosphere. You can hire a scooter at the Hotel which you will need as its quite far away from anything else. If you have never ridden a scooter before be very careful on the track to this hotel is it quite dangerous! no lights and quite rough! We ate in the restaurant one night and it was very good Thai food they also serve beer wine etc. Our only moan is about the cats in the restaurant! At breakfast time they are often trying to get on the tables! Breakfast was OK but this is a small friendly resort not a big Hotel so is all quite relaxed. Overall a great place to say in Koh Chang.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saskianozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

After visit Koh Chang several I fancied a change of scenery from White Sands Beach. Myself & friends who have never been to Thailand stayed @ Resolution Resort for 5 nights before returning to Bangkok. Even though it is slighty off the beaten track please do not let this put you off as it is easy to hire a bike or the staff are more than happy to arrange transport. The resort itself is very clean, modern but still with that authentic touch & a view that is breath taking!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DSTHAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Very good standard property, the rooms, layout, fittings and cleanliness all very good. The staff, a family operation, very friendly and helpful. The property looks over the bay to Bang Bao but is probably about 30 minute walk round the bay to get there. It's remoteness is a real benefit!
The food was excellent, breakfast was included in the price and seemed to be available whenever we wanted. Evening meals were good value.
We had a standard room, slightly smaller than the "de lux" but the standard rooms opened out into the garden rather than a balcony which we preferred. At about 1700 baht (standard) certainly not the cheapest but good value.
There was free wifi which worked best when outside the room. They have kyaks available for hire and with these we were able to go round the headland and spot the wildlife!
One thing we noticed was that there was a good mix of guests and ALL of those we spoke to, like us, re-arranged their itineraries in order to stay longer at Resolution - that probably says it all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterMGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1 mi away
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
8.5 mi away
Na Tara Resort
Na Tara Resort
#34 of 73 in Ko Chang
44 reviews
7.3 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#2 of 135 in Ko Chang
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Little Sunshine Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Elephant Bay Resort
Elephant Bay Resort
#4 of 135 in Ko Chang
174 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kaibae Beach Resort
Kaibae Beach Resort
#9 of 115 in Ko Chang
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Resort

Address: 50/5 Moo 1, Bang Bao Bay, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range: £43 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resolution Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise of Relaxation along the supreme nature scenario. Our outdoor Swimming Pool overlooking the beach and mountain views. All rooms are Beachfront Room and we love to serve the guest like they are staying in their holiday's home. Families and couples friendly. You are all welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Resolution Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing