We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speed boat hire at Chokdee Resort Koh Chang”
Review of Chokdee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chokdee Resort
Ranked #91 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Don't hire a boat from this office based on beach.
We booked a private speed boat for 2 of us. We were told that the boat would be 3 years old and the driver would speak good English. When we finally saw this wooden boat it was disgusting and about 30 years old. Broken windscreen, torn seat cushions, most paint flaked off.
Driver was extremely young and spoke virtually no English. We were not offered any lifejackets although we could see some when they opened a cupboard. Felt very unsafe on this boat. We refused to go out on boat and got told they would change the boat. When we saw the other choice of boat it was no different. Eventually got 3/4 of money returned but was a spoilt disappointing day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Georgie021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Well, that isn't exactly the best place where you wish to sleep given that the rooms are literally inside the jungle with all kind of noises from god knows what animals, and a few late night parties on the beaches and the chance to find a huge gecko inside your bed on, most certainly, bathroom. But you know what, it's cheap, nice and most of the time you'd be around the island with ur scooter and the time spent the bungalow is really, really small. Furthermore they serve a great breakfast on a lovely restaurant on the water....c'on, if i made it, you can make it too :-) Be sure to have a few anti-mosquitos (or ant other species) on you and close the door...monkeys may ask you for some company...

Room Tip: Ask for the sea-front room as they are located a farther from the main road and the noise from bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alessandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed five nights following a sleepless night due to a full moon party at Lonely Beach. I also managed to negotiate a 100 Bhat discount on the room.
My room was a sea front, air conditioned concrete bungalow. It was clean and tidy with tv (only Thai, Germanand French channels) and fridge. Due to the location, there is not much you can do about the insects but the room is well sealed with mesh over all the windows. To counter this problem, just spray the room thoroughly, close the door and go for a beer...problem solved.
On the third evening, speakers, chairs and tables were being assembled outside my front door, this was for a private party and I was assured the music would stop bt 10 pm. That evening the boom boom of the speakers started at 6:00 so I went for a meal then a few beers, returning at 11:00. The music had stopped but the guests were playing games with one particular lady screaming like a banshee. This went on until after midnight. At 6:00am it all started again with the guests congregating outside and making a noise until their bus collected them at 8:00.
I mentioned this to my neighbours who had complained to the management and were fobbed off.
What should have been very pleasant stay has been soured by this episode and the uncooperative attitude of the staff.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Alikendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our travel agent booked us in here and the brochure made this place look tidy. It wasn't sadly and we left within an hour to another far superior hotel.

We arrived to our room to the sight of excrement still in the toilet which left a terrible smell throughout the room.

The rooms as expected were basic which wasn't really the issue. We immediately asked to change room which we did but again it proved basic and just nothing like advertised. I'm more than happy to 'slum it' but mentally we were prepared for a far nicer stay than what we got.

Very disappointing but thankfully our decision to upgrade to Amari Hotel 2 doors down was the best decision we made all trip and I'd much rather pay another £30 a night for luxury like that.

Poor

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

the room was horrible, rat or mice poo on bed and floor, ants crawling around everywhere and the toilet was actually full of water and overflowing slowly. i checked out after less than 20minutes after arriving!
staff did not speak much english either, and were rather unfriendly.
i walked about 20minutes southwards down the road and checked into a much nicer place called golden place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I slept in this hotel on two types of rooms, completely different from each other.
I slept at the beginning of my stay in the cabin with the air conditioning. The room looks bad, dirty sheets, bugs everywhere and the worst: no flash in the bathroom. The next day I asked the front desk if they had a room with flash services and they showed me a different side of the hotel i pay extra money. But still the new room was very dirty! Clean tools left in the bathroom . No hot water during my stay. Please note that because of the proximity to the sea has a lot of insects, especially ants in rooms. Eventually, despite all these things i stayed four days in this room only because the amazing view and Peace and serenity. the good stuff about this hotel is
A modern Building .Room well equipped, comfortable bed, the room very nicely decorated . The thing that I enjoyed the most in this hotel is its location, far enough away from everything. Only 10 minutes walk from the center. The sea is just across the room and amazing amazing sea view

Room Tip: lower floors are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebecca_davidov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

when i stayed in choc dee we stayed in the new block it was very cosy and
had a nice lovely setting To it. The food was not so good but in my opioin
its not about the food its the quaility of the hotel . The best thing about it was the view
i would recomend this to family who has childern byyyyye

Room Tip: the new block would be best good vaule for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.1 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#22 of 73 in Ko Chang
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boonya Resort
Boonya Resort
#15 of 135 in Ko Chang
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siam Cottage Bungalows
Siam Cottage Bungalows
#36 of 135 in Ko Chang
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coral Resort
Coral Resort
#21 of 115 in Ko Chang
91 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mam Kai Bae Beach Resort
Mam Kai Bae Beach Resort
#41 of 135 in Ko Chang
69 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#2 of 135 in Ko Chang
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chokdee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chokdee Resort

Address: 38 Moo 4 | Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range: £14 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chokdee Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chokdee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing