We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”
Review of Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Lodge
Ranked #28 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I must say, first I was very glad to find Island Lodge. The price was reasonable, the room seemed to be clean and quiet and I really like that it was up in the forest, though the beach was a bit far as a result. However, at night I woke up that there were rats in the bathroom. I couldn't sleep the whole night. In the morning I wanted to move out immediately, however, they wouldn't give my money back, even for the second night. Of course I had to pay in advance. They said they would do something about it. I don't know what they actually did, but the unwanted visitors were there again, louder than ever. It ruined my whole experience of the otherwise beautiful Koh Chang.

Room Tip: Bring a mousetrap if you decide to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    15
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

For the price - very good choice. We stayed 2 days in low season and a few days in high season - the owner let us pay the price of low season. Not far from the beach and boutiques. In high season you can normally get something to eat at island lodge itself, as we were there till 5th of Nov, we didn't experience that. The rooms for 4 people are great, with a stunning view and balcony just for the guests, a big refrigerator and a cupboard. Our friends were very satisfied. We had a double room and it wasn't so great but still ok. No cupboard and a very small refrigerator, and a balcony which could be crossed by other guests. The bathroom ok, water pressure could be better. In the reception you could borrow some books in different languages (for a long-stayers). All in all, we liked it very much and recommend this place to all!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalM878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We love this place; we've been there twice and are going back again. It's just enough removed from the hustle and bustle of the beach area for laid-back privacy and an awesome view of the rain forest, yet it's just a few minutes' walk to the beach, restaurants, etc. (though you'll find it something of a tough climb if you have mobility issues). Rooms are basic but comfy, hot water, a/c if you want it, cable TV, small fridge, drying racks for your beach stuff, everything you need. Extremely friendly and helpful owners and staff. Wifi was a bit shaky but there are nearby internet cafes if the wifi is down and you need to get on line. You get the best of both worlds: an isolated paradise with all the conveniences. Excellent value!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDS3287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Title says it all. My companion & I took a cabin with 2 single beds. The cabin is quite small, but that’s pretty much the only reasonable grievance with the facility. The bathroom is clean, functional and includes soap. The room includes bottled water, in-room wi-fi and a change of sheets/bed linens after two nights. The latter is essential given the tropical climate.

Do not book this property with the expectation that you will get service beyond the room and maintenance of the room. The staff present has a minimal command of English, which is only a surprise because basically everyone in town speaks decent English. Staff is friendly and does their job, but don’t expect help with booking activities or transportation.

Property is walking distance to beach.

Room Tip: All rooms appear uniform - I selected the most economical tier and thought it was fine for the money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akarchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Island Lodge has some of the best budget rooms I came accross in Thailand, and is one of the best deals on Koh Chang! The Island Lodge complex is located in a very quite and nice enviroment - jungle setting, yet in the town of White Sand Beach. At Island lodge, there is a restuarant with some tasty dishes, shakes etc. There is a small store where you can get water, beer and other neccessities.
I would definitely recomend Island Lodge for an accomodation on Koh Chang!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomash226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.2 mi away
Elephant and Castle Bungalows
0.6 mi away
The White Elephant Resort
The White Elephant Resort
#25 of 116 in Ko Chang
8 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macura Resort
Macura Resort
#18 of 116 in Ko Chang
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Erawan Koh Chang
The Erawan Koh Chang
#2 of 107 in Ko Chang
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koh Chang Hut Hotel
Koh Chang Hut Hotel
#20 of 116 in Ko Chang
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buffalo Bill Steak House
Buffalo Bill Steak House
#57 of 107 in Ko Chang
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Lodge

Property: Island Lodge
Address: 8/17 Moo 4, White Sand beach | Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and charming resort and only 200m to the beautiful white sandy beach. Close to all entertainments and restaurants.Rainforest and some sea/island views. Motorcycle and car rentals, popular excursions and super restaurant featuring healthy breakfasts, Euro/Thai foods, great house wines and cold beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing