We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploration, but not if you want a beach on the doorstep”
Review of Banphu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Banphu Resort
Ranked #71 of 110 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights in Feb 2013. The property is located in the North West of the island and is a pleasant series of two tier chalets. If you're not keen on the resort scene a la White Sands beach and aren't bothered about being on a beach generally, but are more in Koh Chang to explore the island, then this would be a suitable base. Our room was spacious and included a double bed, en suite with hot shower, WiFi in room, television, fridge with complimentary water and fan (air-con was available for a higher price). The room was clean but had no mosquito nets on windows and a large gap below the door which we had to plug ourselves. Also, the television didn't work (finally found some English language channels after 4 weeks outside Bangkok but it wouldn't tune with a snowy picture) and when we told the manager he said someone would fix it but they never did. We were told they had "called someone" to fix it but got the impression they couldn't care less about it (disappointing to not get something you pay for). The property has a restaurant - we only ate there once though because the breakfast was distinctly average (compared to what we found along the places on northern White Sands beach). There isn't a huge amount to do around the property, but Klong Son village is a 10 minute walk away and has a 7 Eleven, a small amount of street food, internet cafe etc. The property does provide a private taxi service in the owners battered up old car - prices seem to be the same rates as waiting on the street for a two bencher so was worthwhile and a useful service.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldolara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

I love this hotel, the room is big compared to other hotels at the white sands beach area. Bed is good, quite and clean. The location is not the best but you can get the taxi to white sands beach for 50baht each person(night time they charge more for sure)or ask the manager see if he is free or not. I do ask him to drive us few times and he never said no. That's why we decided to stay longer.
Tips: call to book and pay directly to the hotel you can get better price.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esbella20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We found Banphu Resort to be a charming, relaxed, friendly place to stay. The owners were lovely and really couldn't do enough to help. It is just off the main road as you go out of Klong Son on the right hand side, before you go up the really steep hill towards Whitesands. There are around 18 rooms in two-storey chalets arranged up a small incline from the restaurant.

We stayed for two nights in a double with fan and bathroom. The room was really nice, with twin beds which were pushed together. There was a TV and fridge with complimentary water. It was spotlessly clean and well decorated. The bathroom was a good size with a warm shower.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and very reasonably priced, as was the beer.

We also rented a scooter for a day from them - 250 baht. The scooter was in excellent condition and drove really well, unlike some of the others you see on the island.

We were sad to move on but wanted to be closer to the beach and other facilities - the only downside is that there's not more to do in the area but if you want a base to explore the delightful island of Koh Chang from and don't want to be in the resorts, then this is a really good option. Great value too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomeetsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel just one night, but I’m offering to everybody to short stay, or longer stay to the budget tourists.
The building is close to the main road, around forest and hillside view. Possible to parking in front of your door. The whole property is little bit outdated, but if you comparing with the price, this place is very competitive. We rented 2 aircon room. The room simple but comfortable and huge, bathroom is also simple but clean. Front side have a hillside view terrace, the other side one extra balcony. And behind the balcony one monk living under the trees (:
The owner family is friendly, meal is fine and cheep.

Room Tip: First level aircon rooms providing nice hillside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tojas8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Review concerning the restaurant:
We are staying at one of Koh Chang's larger resorts down the road, and were looking for a nice place to eat nearby. So glad we stopped by Banphu yesterday to check out their menu! I noticed they have massaman curry and said we would be back tonight for dinner.
Well, the massaman curry was delicious :-)
Before the meal we were given a sample of the curry so we could check if if was not too spicy (I mentioned I can't handle too much chili) which was very attentive of the owner. The other items ordered were also a treat, best fried rice we have had yet.
Staff are friendly and welcoming, and after the meal the chef herself came to check if we had enjoyed it.
Good value for money, quiet setting with just a few tables and easy listening background music - we hope to go back again this week before we leave!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 2013_Dutch_Family_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Before reading, please not there are two Banphu's in Koh Chang, this is the Small Banphu in the village of Klongson.

I have been to Thailand six time, this was my first time in Koh Chang, and I must say this resort is one of the friendliest, laid-back places I have ever stayed in my life.

On arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink, and shown to our room promptly. I booked a fan room. It was Basic and a bit dated, but clean and had a fridge, TV and comfortable bed, and an area with table and chairs outside. For €11 a night you cannot go wrong!! They have Air-Con rooms for €22 per night.

The Owners (Family run resort) helped us book Elephant Trekking and a Jeep that was delivered to the resort. They offered us use of their own car when the Jeep was returned, and drove us into the main White Sand Beach area when I was planning on drinking and didn't fancy driving. They were very friendly, and I enjoyed conversations in both English and Thai with staff, they helped me out with my Thai a lot :-) They even went as far as getting me "kaoo Lam" rice cooked in a bamboo when I enquired about its availability on Koh Chang. They said it may be hard to find, but the next morning I was gifted a bamboo filled with delicious burnt rice at breakfast.

Breakfast, and a small menu is served from 8am-8pm, if the kitchen is closed don't worry, they will order in some food for you in typical Thai fashion.

Bear in mind you will need transport if you are staying here, they rent motorbikes, or arrange car/jeep rental. Personally I went with a Toyota Forturner, for piece of mind on the roads.

I could go on and on about Banphu, I could not recommend it enough. Leaving we were gifted with Elephant Keychains. I felt like we were leaving friends. Stay here if you visit Koh Chang.

Room Tip: Drive very carefully on the road from Klongson to White Sand Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZenStarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gaby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.0 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#1 of 130 in Ko Chang
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.0 mi away
Kwaimaipar Orchid Resort Spa & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
0.0 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
1,018 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banphu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banphu Resort

Address: 13/8 Moo 3 Klongson Village, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range: £20 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Banphu Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Banphu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing