We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fire show. Average food. ”
Review of Sabay Bar

Sabay Bar
Ranked #99 of 233 Restaurants in Ko Chang
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great fire show. Average food. ”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The ambiance was good. The fire show was phenominal. The music was also good. But the food was to average. The squid was a little to tough.

Helpful?
1 Thank Zubin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    64
    27
    13
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Chang, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fire show was awesome !”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I love fire show here, the best one in Koh Chang. Food and drink is average. Love the live band also. Wanna comeback every Friday night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winnie De P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vang Vieng, Laos
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“table on the sand”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Sabay Bar has perhaps the best location on White sand Beach with a variety of fresh seafood presented on shaved ice for the customer to choose from, prepared to your liking, and at a very reasonable price.
What more can I say........

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
673 reviews
424 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,164 helpful votes
“Good food and fire show”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

There are several seafood restaurants on the White Sand beach after dusk and this is one of the biggest of them. We began with two gin-and-tonics, which were not exactly given away at 160 baht each. My wife ordered tiger prawns with glass noodles (350B), while I chose a smallish whole barracuda (250B) from the chilled seafood display (requested to be grilled). Both dishes were good, the former one containing three huge tiger prawns initially concealed under the ball of glass noodles.

An enjoyable feature of the restaurant is its fire show, presented at 20.30 and 22.00. This is spectacular, particularly the climax where a guy spins fireballs on strings to present a magnificent Catherine wheel of fire. A live guitar group then appears on a stage behind the food tables. You can enjoy your meal with this extra entertainment (a video of a pop concert had been shown from 19.00 too). The only drawback for us was that there were too many smokers dining when we were there, but I suppose it would be unfair to blame the restaurant for that.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petach Tikva
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Right on the beach, nice fire show.”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The best thing about Sabay is that it's right on the beach. You can chose your own fish. We told the cook how we wanted our fish grilled, the result was very tasty. There is a fire show and good live music. The prices are a little bit higher than other places (150 baht for a plate of french fries), but the atmosphere , music, sunset, fire show and salad bar included with entree make it worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NaomiPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabay Bar also viewed

Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 

Been to Sabay Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing